$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Days Inn Monterey Downtown

2 stars
View map of 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cassey
Couples
Disneyland, Anaheim, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Weekend getaway

This place is ok if you are staying for one night only. It definitely needs to be upgraded. I would not recommend to woman travelers unless there are many of you or plan to drive everywhere. The front desk staff told me that it is 10 minutes walk to the Fisherman's Wharf, but it is actually 20 + minutes. I felt like it was overpriced overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cassey
Couples
Disneyland, Anaheim, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Weekend getaway

This place is ok if you are staying for one night only. It definitely needs to be upgraded. I would not recommend to woman travelers unless there are many of you or plan to drive everywhere. The front desk staff told me that it is 10 minutes walk to the Fisherman's Wharf, but it is actually 20 + minutes. I felt like it was overpriced overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OldDoc
Couples
Palo Alto, CA
Sep 19, 2011

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAD!

The motel was in an area we had stayed before, but listed as 2 star instead of the 3 star we had used. The difference was astounding. The manager was civil but not overly polite. The maids were OK but overworked. The toilet paper dissolved in your hand, we had to use the kleenex instead. We did not sample the continental breakfast, unwilling to take a chance. Fortunately only a long block away was a small bakery with a wide selection. We asked for a ground floor with handicapped amenities but the only available room was up a very steep, dark staircase. We are in our late 80's and everything was difficult, to say the least. Never again at that facility!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach comber
Family
Monterrey
Sep 6, 2011

Hotel tried to have every emenities but has no quality.

I arrived at the hotel with no greetings. The host was answering a phone call an had an unpleasant voice and attitude. I will never go back to this hotel, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany at the aquarium
Couples
Davis, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Clean, but hard beds

The hotel was very clean and in a good location. The parking in the main part of the hotel was slim, but the extra parking across the street was not a hassle. The only bad parts of the stay were the very hard bed and the fact that the staff at the front desk did not seem to be there very often. I slept okay, but my husband had a very hard time sleeping because of the hard bed. When we got there, the front desk staff were nowhere to be found, and the morning we left, they were not there either, even though it was at least 8AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach comber
Family
Monterrey
Sep 6, 2011

Hotel tried to have every emenities but has no quality.

I arrived at the hotel with no greetings. The host was answering a phone call an had an unpleasant voice and attitude. I will never go back to this hotel, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocahantas
Family
Sacramento, CA
Aug 7, 2011

Good stay small room

A sign was posted no check in before 3 pm. The room 202 was upstairs with one King and was very small but clean. The bathroom was remodeled with a shower only and granite in the shower and counter. The breakfast was toast, bagels, cereal, coffee, rolls and hot chocolate. We walked to dinner a few blocks away on the restaurant strip. The hotel was centrally located and fairly quiet. Good stay no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants a 10 min walk away.

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
sacramento ca
May 2, 2011

not good for the price

The room was poorly decorated,no counter space in the bathroom, the hairdryer and the showerhead were in disrepair. Huge gap under the entrance and bathroom doors. Didnt have foresight to turn on refridge, probably because it made noise when it ran. Breakfast was ok. Would not stay there again, not worth half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married28
Couples
Santa Rosa, CA
May 1, 2011

Good Location, Nice Staff & Clean

Really good location, walking distance to Monterey shopping/food etc. Staff was so accomodating and let us check in early. Room smelled clean and fresh. Furnishings are completely dated (not really a great place for romance). Terrible soap and cheap TP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Stockton, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Good location - Good price

The rooms were clean and the location was great. We enjoyed an easy check in and check out. Staff was very friendly. Surprised by the continental breakfast - more than a cellophane wraped danish and coffee which was what we expected for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top