$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Days Inn Monterey Downtown

2 stars
View map of 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
46 reviews
Great Time

Great room for the price, comfortable and the staff was so curtious. Will definatley stay there again. See full review

  • Melissa B.
  • Jul 19, 2015
Fantastic Family Getaway

The staff was very friendly. The room had a wonderful view of Monterey and the bay. The breakfast... See full review

  • AGAG
  • Jul 23, 2014
The San Carlos Days Inn offers a convenient central location just a short walk from Montereys historic downtown with its many unique shops and restaurants. We are 3 blocks from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fishermans Wharf and Monterey Convention Center, 1 mile from Cannery Row, and 2 miles from Monterey Bay Aquarium.We offer clean comfortable rooms with a wide array of amenities which include coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, refrigerators, data port phones and 25 inch TV with remote control with HBO, ESPN and CNN. Air conditioning available except in Ocean View rooms. We also offer a recently renovated Spa area and the areas most deluxe continental breakfast offering an assortment of teas, assorted fresh rolls and bagels, English muffins, two different cereals, two different juices, fresh fruits and coffee or enjoy the convenience of in-room coffee. Come enjoy The San Carlos Days Inn where it is our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Monterey Downtown also booked these hotels.

★★
$69
3.2 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$70
3.5 / 5 47 reviews
★★
$109
3.6 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 72 reviews
★★
$85
3.7 / 5 45 reviews
★★★
$103
3.8 / 5 156 reviews
★★
$84
3.2 / 5 21 reviews
★★★
$105
3.6 / 5 124 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling energy saver
Business
Oakland CA
Oct 17, 2013

Great value

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. In my opinion was clean and comfortable. The location was great too. My coworker and I walked downtown for dinner and drinks. My only compliant was the noisy refrigerator in the room, but I fixed that by unplugging it. I'll definitely being staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa B.
Couples
Fresno
Jul 19, 2015

Great Time

Great room for the price, comfortable and the staff was so curtious. Will definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Naomi G.
Family
N/A
Jun 25, 2015

California road trip

Check in was easy, staff was helpful, room was clean, we enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tesoro
Single
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

Great get away

I had a very pleasant time. The manager was so nice, he let me in the room way before check in time. The people next to me were a little noisy, but it was not so bad. I liked to proximity to downtown. I would recommend this hotel and I will be staying there next time I go to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasanton Dad
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Great value

I need a room for a one night stay for a conference and found the hotel. A great location and a simple room and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sportsman
Family
Richmond
Dec 30, 2014

It's Okay

Good location and Acceptable breakfast for the price. The service is just okay, rigid in some way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wfhring
Single
Sausalito, CA
Nov 24, 2014

Good Price in Pricy Neigborhoood

It is a clean, well-mainained, and inexpensive place to stay. The walls are thin so that one can hear next hear TV next door. The parking spaces are insufficient for the number of rooms but local on-street parking is possible. The continental breakfast was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

One can walk to downtown and some convention centers, but the Acquarium would be too far for most people.

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Beast
Couples
Austin, TX
Nov 17, 2014

Roach in the bathroom in a SMOKING room

This was the worst experience I've had at a hotel...ever. Granted, I will say that we usually stay at 3-5 star hotels and in this case we were just rolling through the area so thought nothing of staying here for 2 nights. We were wrong. Be sure to read the print- all customers through this site are put in a SMOKING ROOM...in the back of the hotel in a dark hallway- creepy! It was so bad. Even if it's a smoking room they should have still bought a new comforter. We counted 20 cigarette burn marks in the sheets. Nasty! Between that, the roach in the bathroom, the smoke detector beeping the whole time, and the construction going on...we couldn't take it. We managed to stay the first night and then left- even without being able to get our money back! It was not worth it and I highly suggest not staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Fina on the Monterey Warf has amazing seafood and Italian! It was featured on the Food Network and we loved it.

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ritz14
Couples
Sydney, Australia
Oct 21, 2014

Perfect one day stopover

Room was clean and had adequate facilities. Very friendly staff. Close proximity to fisherman's wharf and 17 mile drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGAG
Family
Ridgecrest, CA
Jul 23, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

The staff was very friendly. The room had a wonderful view of Monterey and the bay. The breakfast room was clean and well stocked. A very good experience. I plan on going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel Restless Wanderer
Single
York, PA
Jul 8, 2014

Convenient for a visit

I was coming to town to visit a friend at the Defense Language Institute. This hotel proved a very convenient location, since I personally wanted to walk as much as I could rather than wait on/pay for cabs to get anywhere. Fisherman's Wharf is less than a mile North to walk to, and downtown Monterey is even closer. There is a Walgreens, a handful of coffee shops and bookstores, a few parks, and some nice bars and restaurants, all within about 15 minutes of walking time from the hotel. And Denny's is only a block away, if (like me) you find it convenient to have some decent food available 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's has a fair amount of parking, and is both right next to downtown and less than one-third of a mile from this hotel. If you are meeting someone with a car or just don't want the hassle of parking on the street (most of downtown's parking is on a 1 hour limit), we found Trader Joe's to be a great connection point.

Back to menu Return to top