$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Days Inn Monterey Downtown

2 stars
850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
37 reviews
Fantastic Family Getaway

The staff was very friendly. The room had a wonderful view of Monterey and the bay. The breakfast... See full review

  • AGAG
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great place!

Great place! It was walking distance to almost everything. The beach, the shopping center, and many... See full review

  • YesYesAndYes
  • Sep 2, 2013
The San Carlos Days Inn offers a convenient central location just a short walk from Montereys historic downtown with its many unique shops and restaurants. We are 3 blocks from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fishermans Wharf and Monterey Convention Center, 1 mile from Cannery Row, and 2 miles from Monterey Bay Aquarium.We offer clean comfortable rooms with a wide array of amenities which include coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, refrigerators, data port phones and 25 inch TV with remote control with HBO, ESPN and CNN. Air conditioning available except in Ocean View rooms. We also offer a recently renovated Spa area and the areas most deluxe continental breakfast offering an assortment of teas, assorted fresh rolls and bagels, English muffins, two different cereals, two different juices, fresh fruits and coffee or enjoy the convenience of in-room coffee. Come enjoy The San Carlos Days Inn where it is our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Hotel Map

36.5934 -121.8928
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Monterey Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YesYesAndYes
Daly City, California
Sep 2, 2013

Great place!

Great place! It was walking distance to almost everything. The beach, the shopping center, and many restaurants were just walking distance from the motel. It was perfect for our three day getaway. When the parking lot was full there was plenty of side street parking. The staff was very nice. The hot tub was very small. But it was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Beast
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 17, 2014

Roach in the bathroom in a SMOKING room

This was the worst experience I've had at a hotel...ever. Granted, I will say that we usually stay at 3-5 star hotels and in this case we were just rolling through the area so thought nothing of staying here for 2 nights. We were wrong. Be sure to read the print- all customers through this site are put in a SMOKING ROOM...in the back of the hotel in a dark hallway- creepy! It was so bad. Even if it's a smoking room they should have still bought a new comforter. We counted 20 cigarette burn marks in the sheets. Nasty! Between that, the roach in the bathroom, the smoke detector beeping the whole time, and the construction going on...we couldn't take it. We managed to stay the first night and then left- even without being able to get our money back! It was not worth it and I highly suggest not staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Fina on the Monterey Warf has amazing seafood and Italian! It was featured on the Food Network and we loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGAG
Business
Ridgecrest, CA
Jul 23, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

The staff was very friendly. The room had a wonderful view of Monterey and the bay. The breakfast room was clean and well stocked. A very good experience. I plan on going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel Restless Wanderer
Business
York, PA
Jul 8, 2014

Convenient for a visit

I was coming to town to visit a friend at the Defense Language Institute. This hotel proved a very convenient location, since I personally wanted to walk as much as I could rather than wait on/pay for cabs to get anywhere. Fisherman's Wharf is less than a mile North to walk to, and downtown Monterey is even closer. There is a Walgreens, a handful of coffee shops and bookstores, a few parks, and some nice bars and restaurants, all within about 15 minutes of walking time from the hotel. And Denny's is only a block away, if (like me) you find it convenient to have some decent food available 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's has a fair amount of parking, and is both right next to downtown and less than one-third of a mile from this hotel. If you are meeting someone with a car or just don't want the hassle of parking on the street (most of downtown's parking is on a 1 hour limit), we found Trader Joe's to be a great connection point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ansun
Business
oakland
Jun 6, 2014

easy to go

Nice staff. Small room, but cheap enough to have family to live .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
db111
Business
concord ca
May 21, 2014

failed equipment

bedside lights turn off after a few minutes and can't be switched on. if you got up in the middle of the night you would have no light and might trip and fall. have never seen this problem before in a motel. also coffee maker didn't work I will never stay at a Days Inn again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ski broad
Business
Sacramento, california
May 20, 2014

Good price

Limited parking. Room in noisy location. Good breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RosaC
Business
Redondo beach
Apr 16, 2014

Close to Cannery Row and Aquarium

Nice hotel. Within walking distance of Cannery Row, aquarium and mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JALouie
Business
Livermore , California
Apr 5, 2014

Great location

The location was perfectly located in Monterey. The drive to Carmel and Pacific Grove was under 10 mins. The room was spacious and clean. We look forward to returning to Monterey again and will use this Days Inn for a perfect short get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Younger Family
Business
Visalia, California
Mar 4, 2014

Great hotel for the price

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night while vistiting the aquarium. It was a nice hotel for a one night stay. We weren't looking for a fancy hotel, or to be in the room for long hours, so this hotel was perfect. It was close to Cannary Road and other restaurants. We were given a room accross the street from the main office, which were said to be more spacious, which seemed to be true. Overall, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slapshot1117
Business
santa rosa ,ca
Feb 11, 2014

nice place to crash

I was in town for the At&t Pro Am so I basically got to my room ordered pizza and whatced the Olympics. They did have a good selection of channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

pelican pizza good pizza good buffalo wings

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top