$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Days Inn Monterey Downtown

2 stars
View map of 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Fantastic Family Getaway

The staff was very friendly. The room had a wonderful view of Monterey and the bay. The breakfast... See full review

  • AGAG
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great value

I need a room for a one night stay for a conference and found the hotel. A great location and a... See full review

  • Pleasanton Dad
  • Jan 9, 2015
The San Carlos Days Inn offers a convenient central location just a short walk from Montereys historic downtown with its many unique shops and restaurants. We are 3 blocks from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fishermans Wharf and Monterey Convention Center, 1 mile from Cannery Row, and 2 miles from Monterey Bay Aquarium.We offer clean comfortable rooms with a wide array of amenities which include coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, refrigerators, data port phones and 25 inch TV with remote control with HBO, ESPN and CNN. Air conditioning available except in Ocean View rooms. We also offer a recently renovated Spa area and the areas most deluxe continental breakfast offering an assortment of teas, assorted fresh rolls and bagels, English muffins, two different cereals, two different juices, fresh fruits and coffee or enjoy the convenience of in-room coffee. Come enjoy The San Carlos Days Inn where it is our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abcd6785
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2013

Monterey

The Days Inn on Abrego is well-run. The rooms are surprisingly large and well-appointed for a mid-level chain hotel. The location is conveniient for walking in Monterey and for getting out on the highway. A good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasanton Dad
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Great value

I need a room for a one night stay for a conference and found the hotel. A great location and a simple room and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sportsman
Business
Richmond
Dec 30, 2014

It's Okay

Good location and Acceptable breakfast for the price. The service is just okay, rigid in some way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wfhring
Business
Sausalito, CA
Nov 24, 2014

Good Price in Pricy Neigborhoood

It is a clean, well-mainained, and inexpensive place to stay. The walls are thin so that one can hear next hear TV next door. The parking spaces are insufficient for the number of rooms but local on-street parking is possible. The continental breakfast was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

One can walk to downtown and some convention centers, but the Acquarium would be too far for most people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Beast
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 17, 2014

Roach in the bathroom in a SMOKING room

This was the worst experience I've had at a hotel...ever. Granted, I will say that we usually stay at 3-5 star hotels and in this case we were just rolling through the area so thought nothing of staying here for 2 nights. We were wrong. Be sure to read the print- all customers through this site are put in a SMOKING ROOM...in the back of the hotel in a dark hallway- creepy! It was so bad. Even if it's a smoking room they should have still bought a new comforter. We counted 20 cigarette burn marks in the sheets. Nasty! Between that, the roach in the bathroom, the smoke detector beeping the whole time, and the construction going on...we couldn't take it. We managed to stay the first night and then left- even without being able to get our money back! It was not worth it and I highly suggest not staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Fina on the Monterey Warf has amazing seafood and Italian! It was featured on the Food Network and we loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGAG
Business
Ridgecrest, CA
Jul 23, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

The staff was very friendly. The room had a wonderful view of Monterey and the bay. The breakfast room was clean and well stocked. A very good experience. I plan on going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel Restless Wanderer
Business
York, PA
Jul 8, 2014

Convenient for a visit

I was coming to town to visit a friend at the Defense Language Institute. This hotel proved a very convenient location, since I personally wanted to walk as much as I could rather than wait on/pay for cabs to get anywhere. Fisherman's Wharf is less than a mile North to walk to, and downtown Monterey is even closer. There is a Walgreens, a handful of coffee shops and bookstores, a few parks, and some nice bars and restaurants, all within about 15 minutes of walking time from the hotel. And Denny's is only a block away, if (like me) you find it convenient to have some decent food available 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's has a fair amount of parking, and is both right next to downtown and less than one-third of a mile from this hotel. If you are meeting someone with a car or just don't want the hassle of parking on the street (most of downtown's parking is on a 1 hour limit), we found Trader Joe's to be a great connection point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ansun
Business
oakland
Jun 6, 2014

easy to go

Nice staff. Small room, but cheap enough to have family to live .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
db111
Business
concord ca
May 21, 2014

failed equipment

bedside lights turn off after a few minutes and can't be switched on. if you got up in the middle of the night you would have no light and might trip and fall. have never seen this problem before in a motel. also coffee maker didn't work I will never stay at a Days Inn again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ski broad
Business
Sacramento, california
May 20, 2014

Good price

Limited parking. Room in noisy location. Good breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RosaC
Business
Redondo beach
Apr 16, 2014

Close to Cannery Row and Aquarium

Nice hotel. Within walking distance of Cannery Row, aquarium and mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top