$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

2 stars
1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
19 reviews
Good Value

I have stayed in other locations in Monterey at more expensive hotels and this compares pretty... See full review

  • well-travelled
  • Jun 6, 2014
A surprise package

We arrived later than anticipated on a coldish night but the receptionist was very welcoming and... See full review

  • Jonno Grey One
  • Oct 27, 2013
Affordable and inviting accommodation in a beautiful Seaside community. Breathtaking sunsets and white sandy beaches. Leisure traveler will enjoy close proximity to Monterey Bay Aquarium, Pebble Beach, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, downtown Monterey,Big Sur and Scenic Highway 1. Business traveller will enjoy the convenient location to business venues and conference center, Educational Institutes, Naval Post Graduate School, Laguna Seca Raceway. Award winning restaurants and golf courses within minutes to hotel. Whale watching and Aquarium Tickets for sale. Walk to restaurants/movies and shopping. Year round heated pool. Aquarium and Hearst Castle packages available. Complimentary computer use for guests in lobby. Pet accommodation: 25.00/night,per pet. Non-Refundable fee. Limit 1 pet, per room, maximum weight 40lbs.Refundable Deposit:175 on cc.

Hotel Map

36.5877 -121.8996
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 3.00, MI, N; San Jose Municipal Arpt, (SJC), 65.00, MI, N; San Francisco Intl Arpt, (SFO), 99.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Aquarium 2 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 19
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
well-travelled
England
Jun 6, 2014

Good Value

I have stayed in other locations in Monterey at more expensive hotels and this compares pretty well. It's fairly basic but clean and comfortable. I had a parcel delivered whilst staying and the staff were very helpful. It's convenient to walk downtown or to the Del Monte center were there is a cinema and a choice of restaurants. Overall if you are looking for a good value place to sleep and shower it fits the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prinkin
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 28, 2012

Quiet, Tranquil Hotel

We loved the location of this hotel, close to the Pacific Highway but out of the hustle of Cannery Row. The room was clean, the staff was great, and the continental breakfast was just what we like. The only concern I had is that the bed was a little small and creaks every time someone moves in the middle of the night. All in all though, it was perfect price for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
.dk'n'dh
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

it was worth the money.

We got there, requested a late check in, they accomidated with us. Got there, went to put stuff on the sink, it was a little broken. Took a shower, it was a tad bit small. Water pressure was beyond great! But the water smelt like sulfer a tad bit. Went to dinner, I don't recremend bull wackers. Went down to lovers point, my boyfriend puposed. Went back to the oom, went to sleep. Bed was way way comfy. Could use a few more pillows. Woke up next morning, breakfest was not all that great. Were about to check out, look around so we didn't forget anything, and I noticed a condom wrapper under the bed. But other then that, couldn't hear your neighbors, and it was overall nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amazing food at bubba gumpes. :D park on cannery row, and its a beautiful walks.

Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Kaox
San Diego
Sep 5, 2011

Great Rooms

Great Rooms, excellent staff. The breakfast was more than enough to be a continental breakfast. The room was clean when we got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey CA
Aug 29, 2010

Beware

CAUTION: This hotel was awful. The room smelled of smoke and mildew the entire stay. My fince and I had to brew coffee in the room since we could not change rooms (as we were told). The bathroom was DIRTY...toilet and all. This hotel was indeed below what I would consider to be sanitary and acceptable. Definitely would NOT stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vacaville, CA
Jul 19, 2010

Not really Pet Friendly

Not really "pet friendly." There is no place online to reserve 'with a pet.' When you arrive they ask if you have a pet; if so they change your room to one of their so called pet rooms which was a disabled room. They then only allow ONE pet and charge $25 per night with a list of other ways to charge you. They are also so worried about dog noise that I went to the car, came back and got a call with our neighbor having complained about a barking dog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
May 28, 2010

Monterey/Carmel

This was a great motel and deal for the area. Cozy, cute and although older, they've kept it up. Lots of beautiful flowers and plants around the rooms, a nice breakfast, with variety, and friendly staff. It was clean, although the rooms and especially the shower was fairly small. I would stay there again. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about shopping and eating. There are several around, but you don't really see them because of all the foliage and trees around the area.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search