$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
146 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teddy0113
Bakersfield
Mar 17, 2014

PLEASEANT

I took my wife, and my grandson to morro bay, The Colton Inn, was a perfect place to stays, it's very close to any and all in the general area, felt safe/secure, i will be back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

dining choices are very plentiful, so either by walking or driving, variety is not short.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bgao
Shanghai, China
Jul 18, 2013

OK but over priced

If the price were not over priced so much, this would be a good choice for travelers. Good points are: room is quite clean, free snacks provided in the afternoon. Improvements needed: there's no self service wash machines, lobby ( which serves also breakfast) is too small, and quality of breakfast is average or below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus1
Sacramento
Sep 17, 2012

Good Value

In an inflated resort market of Monterrey area, the Colton Inn fits the bill for couples or families of various price ranges. Most reviews place it at 2.5 of 5 stars, better than the budget places but not as nice as the Hilton Garden Inn, I found that guide to be accurate. I might not stay there again because I need a firm bed and of the three two-bedded rooms we rented only one bed was firm the rest were fairly soft [not good for a bad back!].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

FiFi's French Bistro was charming and tasty if your budget includes moderate white table cloth meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jteam
Ellicott City, MD
Aug 25, 2012

Aquarium visit to Monterey

Hotel was very nice. The gentleman behind the desk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Cookies in the evening were delicious. The location was great. It looked like they were doing some renovating, but at least they were doing some renovating and maintaining/improving. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at Fish Hoppers near the Aquarium was great! Lunch at Bullwackers near the Aquarium was not good - the wait staff was nice, but the food was not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repsol Dave
Fresno,Ca
Aug 24, 2012

Family getaway

We had the king with fireplace, the room was large the floor felt damp and the carpets didn't look the cleanest. However for the price I would stay there again and again. Parking wasn't the greatest with a large truck but perfect for a car. Overall the room was clean and had no odor smell, I've stayed at alot of hotels in Monterey and for just an overnight stay and you don't need a pool this place was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5 miles to carmel plaza and about 2 miles to DelMonte shopping center and 2 miles to cannery row and about 1 mile to fisherman's wharf great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgeter
SoCal
Aug 15, 2012

great stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Colton and will surely return. The location is quiet and near town. Our room was simple and clean if not glamorous. Ask for a kitchenette if needed because not all rooms are equipped as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of two kids
San Jose, CA
Aug 14, 2012

Great location

This was our third time staying at the Colton Inn. We love the location because it is a quick walk to downtown and the wharf. It is located on a quiet street and feels safe to me. The cookies and fruit at check-in are a nice touch and the free continental breakfast helps us get moving quickly in the morning. The walls are a bit thin, so we heard other people, but it was similar to all other hotels we have stayed in. The water pressure in the shower is fantastic, but the shower curtain had a little mildew on it. The free dvds are nice to have, but the tv was kind of fuzzy. All in all, we really like this hotel. For the price and location, it is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 Joys
Sonora, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Inexpensive Monterey Get Away

The hotel (motel) is in the downtown area which is great for restaurants. The rooms were clean and ours had a fireplace, although it was in an odd area of the room behind a large leather chair with an ottoman. It was a short drive to most attractions in the area. Quiet, with enough parking. We left too early to partake in the Continental Breakfast in the tiny lobby so we can't really comment that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosine's downtown on Alvarado St. Great for breakfast and desserts after lunch or dinner. They have desserts in a case at the front of the restaurant so you can get desserts to go back to your room. They serve large portions so be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love2travel4fun
Fair Oaks, CA
Aug 9, 2012

Great value and very clean!

This hotel was a great value through a travel website. It was very clean and we loved the continental breakfast and evening cookies and fruit! The patio is very pretty with flowers, greenery and a little stream running behind it. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The room was large enough to accommodate our family of 3 adults and 2 kids. The only problems we had were that the sliding glass door was off the track and we couldn't lock the door and the housekeepers carts blocked the way to the patio for breakfast every morning. Also, the staff was cordial but not overly welcoming. Other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to the trolley and it was free! It takes you to the wharf and aquarium!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AdkTraveler
New York
Aug 8, 2012

Nice Place

The Colton Inn is in a convenient location to the area's attractions. Comfortable, clean and roomy rooms - comfortable beds, all the necessary conveniences. Helpful and friendly staff. Great continental breakfasts available during the week which is expanded on the weekends. Tea and cookies every afternoon and a nice patio area to sit and eat. Very reasonable rates; I would definitely stay there again when I visit that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search