$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
146 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 146
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denise G
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Apr 7, 2014

Definite Recommend!

I would recommend and will return to this hotel. It was in a quiet location just a short distance to Cannery Row. They were courteous upon arrival and sd they had upgraded us to a room with fireplace at no charge! Our room was clean cute and quaint, we overlooked ta pretty creek. The room had a 50's feel, which added to its charm. Extra blankets on the bed, not needed, but a nice touch. It had all the amenities and beds were comfortable. A great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CSLB Fellow Test Taker
Business
Palm Desert
Mar 31, 2014

Great Location A little Pricey

The hotel was very nice and comfortable, bed was comfortable. I think staff was tired upon my late arrival, I was too. Continental breakfast was abundant. Price was a little high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JYL4life
Business
LA
Feb 18, 2014

Colton Inn

It's fine. Nice breakfast. Location is a bit far from the wharf. But overall ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wunderlibrarian
Business
santa clara, california
Oct 31, 2013

nice place!

I really enjoyed my stay at the Colton Inn. It's convenient to downtown Monterey, has a great staff, and a good continental breakfast. They also provide evening snacks like fruit, cookies, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. My room had a fireplace complete with a complimentary Duraflame. It was clean, comfy, and affordable. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bike from Bay Bikes on Washington and save gas and parking fees downtown, cannery row, fisherman's wharf, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business in Monterey
Business
Long Beach, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great location -

I have stayed at the Colton previously. I remember it was a fine location and my memory was correct. A run in the mornings took me to Fisherman's Wharf and the running trail. In the evenings I was a walk from Trader Joe's and Alvarado Street where some of Monterey's nightlife is. The room was fun...it opened up with a huge window overlooking a wooded area and parking lot. The space heater was needed. It was an unconventional mobile heater (I am sure the rooms do not have conventional heating). It worked well. There were very few people during my stay, I could hear them walking on the walk ways though. The morning breakfast was fine...some healthy food stuffs as well. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Crown and Anchor for some great spirits, a mature crowd, and some great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoneRight
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 8, 2012

Clean, quiet & great snacks

When we checked in, we were welcomed with coffee & a nice assortment of tea with HOT water plus fresh fruit & fresh (not packaged) cookies. (For breakfast, they add bagels & pastries.) Then, when we got into the room, we were pleased to see a crisp white sheet covering the bed rather than the hotel-standard crusty bedspread. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the wharf & the downtown area which is exactly what we were looking for. All this combined with how quiet the room was, I'd say overall it was a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yrbndr
Business
Carson City
Oct 8, 2012

Very comfortable and quiet. Location convenient

Helpful staff and a convenient location to attend my meeting. The room was pleasantly appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZBrock
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 29, 2012

Nice stay, but ...

Wireless internet did not work (in my room) till the last night of my stay (4 nights). Staff said a techie had been called first night, ditto 2nd night and 3rd night was told the system has just been "rebooted" and when I returned (after finding it still didn't worK), when I complained that it had not worked for 3 days, was told "I could check out". The Colton Inn is within walking distance to downtown. The the room was nice, clean and the bed comforable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ntho
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 10, 2012

Business trip

The bedroom is in good condition. The bathrooms show wear and are in need of updating but are clean. The fireplace and extra sink outside of the bathroom were nice and the bed was comfortable. Wifi in the room was good. There was a discrepancy for the checkout time. An old sign on the door said 1pm and the paper work we received at check-in said noon. We were expected to be out at noon and the staff were reluctant to allow an extension until 12:30pm. The hotel was located near town center which was convenient. Parking was challenging as the spaces were really tight and people have problems parking their cars straight. I would recommend it for short trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squash Mama
Business
Canada
May 31, 2012

nice hotel

Good location for walking around Monterey. Helpful staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search