$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
150 reviews
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Great weekend escape

Great place to stay. Very clean, staff was very friendly and had good recommendations for area... See full review

  • Yony and Wendy
  • Jun 10, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 150
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weezey
San Leandro, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Mini Vacation for 2

Staff extremely helpful, nice, courteous and knowledgeable. Asked if there was certain places we wanted to go and could they help book them or if we needed directions. Went a step beyond being helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bird Watcher
Georgia
Sep 26, 2011

Beautiful patio

Nice patio to have a relaxing breakfast. Enjoyed watching the birds .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 24, 2010

Good location

Loved the Monterey/Carmel area. Inn was conveniently located to areas we were visiting. It was quiet and we enjoyed the complimentary coffee/tead and cookies during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great places to eat right in Monterey.We drove the 17 mile loop around Pebble Beach - breath-taking views, but wait till the fog burns off.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jul 1, 2011

Nice Location, Clean room

This hotel was in a great location, just a few minutes from the beach. The hotel was very clean. The sheets were very soft and the bed spread were feather bed spreads. They gave us free movie rentals. We also got free breakfast, which was quite good. The only complaint I have was that we found three spiders in our room during our stay. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bike Bears
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

great location, simple but comfortable

We stayed here while participating in the Sea Otter Classic. They were accommodating to the cyclists and allowed us to keep our bikes in our room. Room was nice, clean and had every amenity expected. It's a one minute walk to downtown which has limited parking, so it was great to be able to walk to dinner and the local bars. Continental breakfast was limited but sufficient and they had cookies in the lobby at night. Staff was friendly & helpful. Only drawback is that it's across the street from the fire station, so we were woken in night by sirens... but it was minor. We are looking forward to staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaraunt 1833 is just around the corner. It's pricey, but the ambience is awesome! Outdoor firepits are a great way to enjoy a cocktail with friends or strangers and the inside is well thought out and "cool"

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tina bobo
cucamonga
Jul 9, 2012

great location

Quaint spot. Great location for Monterey area. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhDiva1998
Washington, DC
Aug 13, 2012

Perfect value!

Don't expect 5-star quality from this place. The towels were worn and some light bulbs and a screen needed to be replaced. We had trouble accessing the internet from our room but had no problem from the lovely deck near the office. But the place was clean, the location was great, and the staff were polite and efficient. I can't ask for a better value and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lots of restaurants, a grocery store, a bank, a drug store, and a coffee shop.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Zurich
Oct 29, 2009

Nice room, quiet location

Nice, quite large room. TV + DVD player, balcony to quiet green backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Great place for the weekend!

The Inn was very clean and nicely decorated. It is a great Inn if you are traveling into Monterey or vicinity for the weekend. The office staff was very courteous and helpful. For example, my friend and I returned from an outing and tried to use our room card to get in. We tried three times to slide the card thru the magnetic door slot, but it didn't work. The office was already closed, however we rang the doorbell next to the office door, and a office staff member was able to assist us and give us a new key card w/o incident. They also serve a continental breakfast that had an assortment of foods. One drawback was that there was no indoor seating area for the continental breakfast, only an outdoor patio. We opted to bring the food to our room as it was too cold to eat outside. I would stay again as it was a nice and clean Inn with an affordable rate. It served our purpose for a place to spend the night for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
randell and atena
san luis obspo
Mar 27, 2012

Great for family very quiet.

the experence was great people were very nice and conciderate. i would go back again but get the hot tub room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to cannery row it's short and fun

Back to menu Return to top

Change search