$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
146 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassiesMom
Arcata, CA
Jul 23, 2011

If it's the only thing available

This is an old funky facility with some upgrades. The location is close enough to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row that walking is an option. The floor joist squeaked above my room when the second floor guest walked across their floor. The bed, pillows and bedding were comfortable but the cover was stained. The room felt cramped and dark. The low flow shower head left me feeling like I didn't get all the shampoo out of my hair. The height of the shower head was low and I'm average height. The reviews I read said the rooms were clean but there was hair on the bathroom floor and the carpet looked like it needed to be vacuumed. There's no pool at this hotel. The staff was friendly enough and I was told that I stayed during one of the busy week/weekend in Monterey. I guess I should feel lucky I got a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free trolley to save some of your walking between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Take the 45 minute long scenic trolley to view the sites and rest your feet if you're doing a lot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 5, 2010

Room was good, service not so

They gave away the room type I reserved (2 double beds) because they sold out and I arrived late. The manager tried to tell me I booked it wrong even thought my receipt showed I was correct. We ended up with a double bed and two roll-aways. Pretty uncomfortable for the money we paid. The hair dryer was broken and maintenance person wasted a lot of our time trying to diagnose it until finally bringing a replacement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael from New Orleans
New Orleans, LA
Aug 5, 2012

Clean and comfortable

The room was comfortable and clean and smelled fine. Everything worked. The Inn was not fancy. The price was reasonable for the value received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deacon Jim
Manteca, CA
Apr 17, 2012

Not Bad

We had good time, the room was nice but it needs to be remodel. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Jul 8, 2010

Colton Inn

Just an average place; nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the buzz
madison wisc.
Aug 21, 2010

had what the family needed at the time

the hotel was in a great location, walking to downtown, 5 min drive to cannery row. The front desk was very helpful with local thing to do. The breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the clerk told us of a farmers market going on that evening.It was great to walk and eat local grown produce,there was a flea market going on also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Discerning adults
Cambridge, UK
Jun 18, 2012

Adequate

Colton Inn has everything you need, but could do with some updating. First impression was that room was a bit musty, but beds were very comfortable and room itself large. It does what it says on the tin, with no frills; staff could have been more helpful/welcoming. Note directions on website are from north only; receptionist was not interested in updating them to help future guests coming from the south. You get what you pay for...adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern California
Jun 11, 2011

Colton Inn - not bad

The Colton Inn located on Pacific in Monterey is walking distance from downtown and many shops and restaurants. It is a small family oriented hotel, the staff is very pleasant. When we got there, someone had turned the heater on to a stuffy 85 and it was pretty unbearable to sleep in until we opened the door for a while. The sliding door opened up to a semi-private deck with the view of a small creek below - which offered us the sounds of birds chirping throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, if out-dated and the beds were not as comfortable as I would have wanted, but they were better than most hotel beds. They have a fairly large library of free DVD movies which can be loaned out with a good range of family appropriate movies. (We ate a Bubba Gump's Shrimp Company and ended the day with watching Forrest Gump from the hotel). The breakfast could have been better. The selection was fine, but the bagels were not as fresh as they should have been, and the pastries, seems like the supermarket type. All-in-all, an inexpensive family hotel which is fairly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Empty Nester plus Wife
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Very good for the price

Colton Inn is up to expectation. For the price we paid, we couldn't really ask for more. Although the location is not exotic like it's right by the beach, it is very convenient. We really like the windows facing the trees that make you forget you're sitting on a main street. The fireplace is a nice touch. It is an upgrade from your very basic Motel 6-like inns and a step down from your beach-front fancier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a pleasant surprise when we found out about the farmer's market on Tuesdays. They sold more than just produce. There were many booths that sold different merchandise and food. We've found some very unique stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bgao
Shanghai, China
Jul 18, 2013

OK but over priced

If the price were not over priced so much, this would be a good choice for travelers. Good points are: room is quite clean, free snacks provided in the afternoon. Improvements needed: there's no self service wash machines, lobby ( which serves also breakfast) is too small, and quality of breakfast is average or below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search