$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2015 Check-out: Feb 10, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
153 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan51
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 18, 2012

One quick stay

Spent one nite in Monterrey. This hotel is not within walking distance of too much. But a 6 minute car ride takes you to wherever you need to be, in all directions. We had a fireplace in the room, fridge, armoire, and cable tv with many more stations than most other places. We didn't use it, but it is good to know you can. There is even a garage, only a few spaces. Room very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row. Lots of shops, restaurants and novelty places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer Sun and Fun
Business
Louisiana
Sep 21, 2012

Good value and location

This was a very good value. The room was clean, the staff was helpful, and the location is only a short drive from the major attractions in Monterey. The free continental breakfast was a nice perk - bagels, bananas, apples, coffee, etc. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean room, nice staff, and good location at a very reasonable cost. We would stay again on next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row and other attractions a short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yrbndr
Business
Carson City
Oct 8, 2012

Very comfortable and quiet. Location convenient

Helpful staff and a convenient location to attend my meeting. The room was pleasantly appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoneRight
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 8, 2012

Clean, quiet & great snacks

When we checked in, we were welcomed with coffee & a nice assortment of tea with HOT water plus fresh fruit & fresh (not packaged) cookies. (For breakfast, they add bagels & pastries.) Then, when we got into the room, we were pleased to see a crisp white sheet covering the bed rather than the hotel-standard crusty bedspread. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the wharf & the downtown area which is exactly what we were looking for. All this combined with how quiet the room was, I'd say overall it was a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce D.
Business
Beaufort, SC
Nov 13, 2012

Great stay

We stayed in the room the staff called, the "treehouse". The hotel was delightful--good sized room, quiet, fireplace with a log in it. The breakfast was very nice. The Internet worked just fine. The location was convenient and the price was excellent for what you get. The front desk has plenty of movies to borrow at no cost, fruit all the time, and were very quite helpful. We would stay there again gladly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Give yourself 5-6 hours to really take in the aquarium and look for the little alleyway that will lead you to Doc's real former office and apt--Cannery Row readers will know!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zsazsarocks
Business
San Francisco
Nov 26, 2012

Great stay!

The Colton Inn had great amenities, including: fire place in room, free continental breakfast and parking, and is conveniently located near downtown Monterey. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outdoorsy CA family
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Would stay again

Nice clean, spacious rooms & bathrooms. Close to downtown (its an easy walk). Free parking. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business in Monterey
Business
Long Beach, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great location -

I have stayed at the Colton previously. I remember it was a fine location and my memory was correct. A run in the mornings took me to Fisherman's Wharf and the running trail. In the evenings I was a walk from Trader Joe's and Alvarado Street where some of Monterey's nightlife is. The room was fun...it opened up with a huge window overlooking a wooded area and parking lot. The space heater was needed. It was an unconventional mobile heater (I am sure the rooms do not have conventional heating). It worked well. There were very few people during my stay, I could hear them walking on the walk ways though. The morning breakfast was fine...some healthy food stuffs as well. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Crown and Anchor for some great spirits, a mature crowd, and some great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spindle
Business
atwater, ca
Jun 13, 2013

Escaping The Heat

Delighted to have been able to get short-notice reservations at our favorite place to stay in Monterey! The Colton is a beautiful Inn. Management is always friendly and very personable. The rooms are above standard, very comfortable and spacious and clean. We've stayed here at least a half dozen times and this is the first time we had an issue with the hot water in the shower on the morning of check-out...there wasn't any! Hopefully this was just a glitch in their otherwise superb accommodations! Breakfast was, as always, delightful! Thank you, Management and Staff of The Colton Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massimo S.
Business
Euclid, OH
Aug 21, 2013

Sweet Small Hotel

Great customer service. Comfortable rooms. Location in heart of Monterey. Nice creek and trees behind hotel. Back patio for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top