$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phunkle
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 4, 2012

Quaint Weekend Monterey Trip

The girlfriend and I made a last minute decision to get out of LA and decided to drive up to Monterey for a little weekend getaway. I yelped a bunch of hotels in Monterey and found a little gem called the Colton Inn. I called to confirm our reservation and to let them know we'd be arriving late (around midnight). I spoke to a pleasant woman who let me know that their front desk closes at 11pm so they would be leaving the key for us out front. Just as they said, we arrived with our key and welcome package ready for us. We entered our hotel room to find a very quaint, tidy room complete with fireplace, mini fridge and microwave. Our room didn't look as updated as some of the pictures I saw online but it was nice enough, very comfortable and very clean. Combine that with the free continental breakfast and dvd rentals, we got pretty value for what we paid. The Colton Inn is fairly centrally located and is about a mile from the Fisherman's Wharf and about 2 miles from Cannery Row/Monterey Bay Aquarium which we were able to check out. We also took a drive down highway 1 to check out Limekiln State Park, Julia Pfeiifer State Park, Andrew Molera State Park, Point Lobos and 17 Mile drive and all were worth a visit. All in all, we had a great weekend trip to Monterey and the Colton Inn provides a great hotel option for anyone looking for a great value. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leahnoel
Business
Monterey, CA
May 29, 2012

Charming

The Colton Inn is a sweet little hotel with private entrances. The staff is very accommodating and polite. Just a few blocks from the heart of downtown Monterey, and you can walk to the beach. Sauna is available at all hours, fireplace and space heaters in the rooms, continental breakfast each morning, cookies and coffee/tea available all day, free movie rentals at the front desk... The rooms are a little musty but include a fridge, microwave, and bar sink. Not exactly top-of-the-line but overall cozy and charming, like visiting a little cottage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deve
Business
Sacramento
May 29, 2012

Super spot!

Perfect location within walking to everything. Also, in a very historical and quaint part of town. Loved not having to make or find our own coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squash Mama
Business
Canada
May 31, 2012

nice hotel

Good location for walking around Monterey. Helpful staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt G from SD
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Nice little place

The Colton Inn is an upgrade from a regular motel and a good value for the money. They have nice bonuses like free cookies in the lobby and free DVD rentals. Great setting, trees all around, walking distance to downtown Monterey and the Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tina bobo
Business
cucamonga
Jul 9, 2012

great location

Quaint spot. Great location for Monterey area. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bugbear
Business
bay area, california
Jul 13, 2012

good stay

We felt quite comfortable with the hotel. Good stay and good location. We could walk to the downtown and to the old fisherman wharf easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sjrplustwo
Business
Bristol uk
Jul 24, 2012

Colton

Much better placed than most of the motels, as you can stroll to the wharf easily. Great , historic city, reall nice motel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Grandpa and Grandma
Business
Dixon, CA
Jul 20, 2012

Good Stuff

We enjoyed our stay at the Colton Inn. It was very nice to have WiFi. The Continental breakfast could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Every Tuesday (year round) there is a Farmer's Market in downtown Monterey

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waterwoman
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 19, 2012

Great for our needs/tourist stuff and JS Bach festival

We arrived by Amtrak at night.. Got lost trying to find the hotel due to the triangular streets in Monterey. Hotel is nicely located on a quieter street next to the library. Two blocks gets you to the Transit area where you can catch any bus or free trolly to tour everywhere. Nice restaurant around the corner - 1833 - fantastic bar with unusual drinks - great food. Liked the bed linens, pillows soft and fluffy. Redecorated bath. Only problem was noise from the in room referigerator and sounds of running water. We requested first floor. Parking on the property was almost an issue on Monday night. Place is very popular with regulars. Family owned hotel. Needs some more updating but for the price we were very pleased to be out of the Cannery row hustle and near transit. I will stay there again next time we visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant right around the corner - 1833.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top