$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denise G
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Apr 7, 2014

Definite Recommend!

I would recommend and will return to this hotel. It was in a quiet location just a short distance to Cannery Row. They were courteous upon arrival and sd they had upgraded us to a room with fireplace at no charge! Our room was clean cute and quaint, we overlooked ta pretty creek. The room had a 50's feel, which added to its charm. Extra blankets on the bed, not needed, but a nice touch. It had all the amenities and beds were comfortable. A great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Empty Nester plus Wife
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Very good for the price

Colton Inn is up to expectation. For the price we paid, we couldn't really ask for more. Although the location is not exotic like it's right by the beach, it is very convenient. We really like the windows facing the trees that make you forget you're sitting on a main street. The fireplace is a nice touch. It is an upgrade from your very basic Motel 6-like inns and a step down from your beach-front fancier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a pleasant surprise when we found out about the farmer's market on Tuesdays. They sold more than just produce. There were many booths that sold different merchandise and food. We've found some very unique stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deacon Jim
Business
Manteca, CA
Apr 17, 2012

Not Bad

We had good time, the room was nice but it needs to be remodel. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elizzerbeth
Business
San Francisco
Jul 6, 2012

Makes for an easy trip

There are a lot of hotels to choose from in Monterey. I chose Colton because of the location, the free movies, the comfortable room, the free wifi and breakfast. It delivered on all of those things, plus the staff was oh-so-gracious. I will come here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Our Maryland Family
Business
Rockville, MD
Jun 26, 2012

Friendly, modest and clean

This inn has a lovely first floor patio for eating the continental breakfast. Our room had 2 queen beds and a tiny balcony. The TV has not been updated and WiFi was not adequate to accommodate the weekend crowd. A short 4-block walk to the transit station free trolley stop that took us to the Monterey Aquarium. Free DVDs available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved our lunch at THE WILD PLUM organic restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeRN
Business
Fresno, Ca
Jul 8, 2012

Nice Getaway

Clean room and friendly staff. Price reasonable. Nice walk to Downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Warf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepoithesis
Business
California
Aug 1, 2012

2 night getaway

Convenient location in a quieter, historical part of Monterey. Simple continental breakfast. Older, but generally functional, room amenities. Very nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Appreciated the fruit and cookies in the lobby. Improvements: toilet would flush on its own due to an internal leak; blinds let too much light in around the edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Enjoy the local farmer's markets; have a picnic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael from New Orleans
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 5, 2012

Clean and comfortable

The room was comfortable and clean and smelled fine. Everything worked. The Inn was not fancy. The price was reasonable for the value received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Less than impressed.
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 6, 2012

Well...depends on the room

If you manage to get a room facing away from the street you won't have to listen to traffic all day. So that's not a deal breaker. But staff is a little less than conscientious about details: I had to wait for a delayed check in while the staff finished cleaning the room. Very irritating after a long trip, to be told to take a drive or a walk and come back later, since I was already paying for the room. And what's with an office door sign at 8:30 PM on a Friday saying "Sorry we missed you"? It was too late to check out any of their "hundreds" of DVD movies, or to ask a question or get service, before NINE PM on a Friday? And you know how almost all hotels have coffee makers in room these days? Have to ask specifically for it here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Discerning adults
Business
Cambridge, UK
Jun 18, 2012

Adequate

Colton Inn has everything you need, but could do with some updating. First impression was that room was a bit musty, but beds were very comfortable and room itself large. It does what it says on the tin, with no frills; staff could have been more helpful/welcoming. Note directions on website are from north only; receptionist was not interested in updating them to help future guests coming from the south. You get what you pay for...adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top