$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business in Monterey
Business
Long Beach, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great location -

I have stayed at the Colton previously. I remember it was a fine location and my memory was correct. A run in the mornings took me to Fisherman's Wharf and the running trail. In the evenings I was a walk from Trader Joe's and Alvarado Street where some of Monterey's nightlife is. The room was fun...it opened up with a huge window overlooking a wooded area and parking lot. The space heater was needed. It was an unconventional mobile heater (I am sure the rooms do not have conventional heating). It worked well. There were very few people during my stay, I could hear them walking on the walk ways though. The morning breakfast was fine...some healthy food stuffs as well. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Crown and Anchor for some great spirits, a mature crowd, and some great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spindle
Business
atwater, ca
Jun 13, 2013

Escaping The Heat

Delighted to have been able to get short-notice reservations at our favorite place to stay in Monterey! The Colton is a beautiful Inn. Management is always friendly and very personable. The rooms are above standard, very comfortable and spacious and clean. We've stayed here at least a half dozen times and this is the first time we had an issue with the hot water in the shower on the morning of check-out...there wasn't any! Hopefully this was just a glitch in their otherwise superb accommodations! Breakfast was, as always, delightful! Thank you, Management and Staff of The Colton Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massimo S.
Business
Euclid, OH
Aug 21, 2013

Sweet Small Hotel

Great customer service. Comfortable rooms. Location in heart of Monterey. Nice creek and trees behind hotel. Back patio for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
007painter
Business
Clovis, CA
Nov 22, 2013

Romantic Getaway

Enjoyed our stay very much. Walk to downtown and a short drive to Cannery Row. Loved the fireplace, very romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sardine Factory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Sep 27, 2010

Nice getaway for all

Hotel is wonderfully secluded in the heart of Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Turlock, Ca
Nov 17, 2009

Review

The Colton inn is located within walkin distance from downtown and the warf and shops, the room was clean and smelled fresh. The only drawback was that it is across the street from the fire station which sounds can be disturbing in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich
Oct 29, 2009

Nice room, quiet location

Nice, quite large room. TV + DVD player, balcony to quiet green backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Aug 22, 2010

Very nice stay, good location

very good location big room clean fantastic fireplace

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Characters ( Mariott Hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Jun 3, 2010

brilliantly priced two night stay

Colton Inn is a lovely 5 minute walk into the heart of Monterey. We wandered through the local farmers market on the Tuesday afternoon then popped onto a sailing boat to see the bay from a different vantage point, spectacular! The staff here were most pleasant and very helpful. It was nice to be able to borrow a few DVD's to watch at night at no charge. Great range of films too! When I say the room was noisy it was only due to some seasonal repair work being done on the outside walkway, it proved beneficial as a wake up call to get us up and moving on our drive to Big Sur.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see Dutch at Monterey sailing, down on the Pier and take a trip out on a 30ft boat, it's a great way to see the Monterey Bay and it's marine critters up close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, CO
Nov 4, 2008

Interesting location

The Colton Inn is an older, rather out of date motel in an interesting location. The rooms are comfortable and spacious but a little dated. When we were there the elevator was out of order, yet we were put on the second floor and forced to carry everything up wet and slippery concrete stairs, when at the same time none of the lower level rooms were in use. There was no adjustment for this inconvenience. Two other issues, parking is tight and can be difficult to manuver, and the office is closed at night and does not open until 7:00 AM. The location makes up for some of the negatives, being in a very historic area with lots to see and convenient to the rest of the Monterey Penninsula area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic downtown Monterey and historic buildings from the spanish era. Also dining and shopping. Fishermans Wharf is 15 minutes walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top