$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
154 reviews
My stay

The room I stayed in was super adorable. My boyfriend is in the military and came to visit me here... See full review

  • Carrie
  • Jul 8, 2015
Great Stay

It was terrific 2 day stay best ever. All the staff, from Manager to maids were tops. Breakfast's... See full review

  • Matt H.
  • Apr 29, 2015

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Policies
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 154
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wunderlibrarian
Business
santa clara, california
Oct 31, 2013

nice place!

I really enjoyed my stay at the Colton Inn. It's convenient to downtown Monterey, has a great staff, and a good continental breakfast. They also provide evening snacks like fruit, cookies, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. My room had a fireplace complete with a complimentary Duraflame. It was clean, comfy, and affordable. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bike from Bay Bikes on Washington and save gas and parking fees downtown, cannery row, fisherman's wharf, etc.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JYL4life
Business
LA
Feb 18, 2014

Colton Inn

It's fine. Nice breakfast. Location is a bit far from the wharf. But overall ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Selling through life
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 29, 2012

Quiet in Monterey

Check in was easy - access to hotel was simple. Location was great for me as it was just far enough from downtown to be quite and close enough to get where I wanted to be in minutes. I would recommend the Colton Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asterix3000
Business
Louisiana, USA
Mar 15, 2012

great affordable stop near downtwon

I had a late arrival after office hours and they had my keys at the door. No troubles. The rooms are a bit old requiring some maintenance. Breakfast is inside the office and you need to go either outside to the deck or to your room to eat. Walking distance to downtown and plenty of parking. Overall, very good return on what you pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodi86
Business
Boston
May 25, 2012

simply liked there

It's really friendly and nice place, you don't feel the cold boring environment of big hotels. If you think about visiting Monterey you should stay there:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squash Mama
Business
Canada
May 31, 2012

nice hotel

Good location for walking around Monterey. Helpful staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yrbndr
Business
Carson City
Oct 8, 2012

Very comfortable and quiet. Location convenient

Helpful staff and a convenient location to attend my meeting. The room was pleasantly appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoneRight
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 8, 2012

Clean, quiet & great snacks

When we checked in, we were welcomed with coffee & a nice assortment of tea with HOT water plus fresh fruit & fresh (not packaged) cookies. (For breakfast, they add bagels & pastries.) Then, when we got into the room, we were pleased to see a crisp white sheet covering the bed rather than the hotel-standard crusty bedspread. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the wharf & the downtown area which is exactly what we were looking for. All this combined with how quiet the room was, I'd say overall it was a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business in Monterey
Business
Long Beach, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great location -

I have stayed at the Colton previously. I remember it was a fine location and my memory was correct. A run in the mornings took me to Fisherman's Wharf and the running trail. In the evenings I was a walk from Trader Joe's and Alvarado Street where some of Monterey's nightlife is. The room was fun...it opened up with a huge window overlooking a wooded area and parking lot. The space heater was needed. It was an unconventional mobile heater (I am sure the rooms do not have conventional heating). It worked well. There were very few people during my stay, I could hear them walking on the walk ways though. The morning breakfast was fine...some healthy food stuffs as well. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Crown and Anchor for some great spirits, a mature crowd, and some great food!

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Sep 27, 2010

Nice getaway for all

Hotel is wonderfully secluded in the heart of Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top