$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan Hill Monterey Lovers
Business
Morgan Hill, CA
Sep 12, 2010

Excellent Stay, Service, and Location

We loved the location, not amongst all the other hotels but an easy walk to downtown and the wharf. Great service, courteous, and the goodies in the lobby were great. Our only complaint, the bed was very hard. Bring a layer like a comforter to sleep on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the wharf restaurants, go to the cannery area for seafood and downtown for food at the Crown and Anchor, the best breakfast crepes at the Monterey Crepe Co on Alvarado, and the BEST coffee and pastries at Plumes one block up from Crepes restaurant, almost right across the street from the Crown and Anchor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
likemonterey
Business
San Jose, ca
Jun 1, 2010

Good location, good place to stay.

The hotel is located a short walk (5 mins.) to Fisherman's warf and downtown. Very friendly staff and good clean, rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
moorpark ca
Jun 28, 2011

Hidden pleasure

Older hotel but great customer service and spacious rooms. Very friendly staff and a pretty nice continental breakfast. I would highly recommended. I also traveled with children and they enjoyed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 24, 2010

Great Location Great Price

Great location, clean room and friendly check-in. They were very accommodating since I had a wedding to go to they went out of their way to let me check in early, so that I was able to get ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin Al
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Great location, homey rooms

A nice, homey hotel tucked into a fairly residential area walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf. The Monterey waterfront, beautiful beaches of Pacific Grove, 17 Mile Drive, Pebble Beach and Carmel are all just a short drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the seafood restaurants of Fisherman's Wharf where each one has samples of their menu available for tasting right there on the wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timers to Monterey
Business
Carlsbad, ca
Aug 6, 2010

Colton Inn at Monterey

Over all my family and I enjoyed our stay at the Colton Inn. Cons: TV and Entertainment center outdated, too far to walk to the Aquarium, not enough outlets to repower out phones, laptops, etc. Pros: Free DVD rentals, Free breakfast, Free WiFi, quiet, friendly staff. Plus, my kids loved it! In summary, more Pros than Cons. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

1) The line at the Aquarium is pretty long. Suggestion, get tickets on-line and proceed to will-call to receive tickets. 2) Go to dinner somewhere at Cannery Row at 5:00pm and get your hand stamped. We like the Cannery Brewing Company. After dinner, go back to the Aquarium. Less crowded. Major Plus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Location and Nice Place

Nice room, no A/C, but cool at night in 50s. Stayed 3 nights July 14-16. The Inn was right next to Monterey Library so useful for free Internet. There was a Trader Joe's a block await to get good food. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was great --cereal, fruit, OJ, grain muffins, yogurt. Fresh cookies put out in afternoon. Highly recommended. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Library

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela26.2
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 2, 2011

Cute place, great location

I spent the weekend in Monterey to run the Big Sur marathon. The Colton Inn was very easy to find, only a few minutes off RT 1. The desk attendant was very cheerful and asked if I was there to run. The room was big and clean, and included a mini fridge, microwave, big flat screen tv, dvd player, and fireplace (which I unfortunately did not get a chance to use). The Inn is in a great location, a 15 minute walk to the beach. I will stay here again next time I'm in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Great place for the weekend!

The Inn was very clean and nicely decorated. It is a great Inn if you are traveling into Monterey or vicinity for the weekend. The office staff was very courteous and helpful. For example, my friend and I returned from an outing and tried to use our room card to get in. We tried three times to slide the card thru the magnetic door slot, but it didn't work. The office was already closed, however we rang the doorbell next to the office door, and a office staff member was able to assist us and give us a new key card w/o incident. They also serve a continental breakfast that had an assortment of foods. One drawback was that there was no indoor seating area for the continental breakfast, only an outdoor patio. We opted to bring the food to our room as it was too cold to eat outside. I would stay again as it was a nice and clean Inn with an affordable rate. It served our purpose for a place to spend the night for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watsonville, ca
Dec 13, 2009

the unespected greatness

AWESOME PLACE. NO COMPARISON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Paprika Cafe/Tabuli!!!! Great Mediterranean food! Is not really a cafe, has lunch and dinner too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top