$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mariannem
Couples
Pleasanton, CA, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Quick Get Away

Nice location. Able to walk to town and to see sights. Room was nice. Had a fireplace and was really quiet. Missed having coffee in room in the morning and office did not open until 7:00am so we missed out on the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crown Pub was very resonalbe and had excellent food.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Selling through life
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 29, 2012

Quiet in Monterey

Check in was easy - access to hotel was simple. Location was great for me as it was just far enough from downtown to be quite and close enough to get where I wanted to be in minutes. I would recommend the Colton Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asterix3000
Business
Louisiana, USA
Mar 15, 2012

great affordable stop near downtwon

I had a late arrival after office hours and they had my keys at the door. No troubles. The rooms are a bit old requiring some maintenance. Breakfast is inside the office and you need to go either outside to the deck or to your room to eat. Walking distance to downtown and plenty of parking. Overall, very good return on what you pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Ben 559
Family
Fresno CA
Apr 15, 2012

Almost Perfect....

Loved the hotel. Staff was nice and helpful... I needed info on Easter brunch so they found places and got me all the info I needed. Every thing was nice the room the service everything. It was quiet and peaceful. The only issue i had is that i wish it were a little closer to Canery row and i thought we would have a fireplace but did not... No big deal. For the price It is unbeatable..... I recomend to everyone...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

the aquarium is a must but its packed and you need patience and so much to see plan a few hour stay.... well worth it...

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twinchaser
Couples
Sonoma, CA 95476, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Our Place to Stay

We've been staying at the Colton Inn off and on over the last 35 years. It's always been a good decision! The rooms are clean and comfortable with a fireplace, refrig, and microwave. The bed was warm and cozy! There's a free continental breakfast available in the Lobby but you'll need to take it back to your room or, if the weather is nice, out to the back common area deck. It can get pretty crowded in the Lobby while everyone is trying to gather their food. The Staff is pleasant and friendly. It's a great value in an area that can get very expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bike Bears
Friends
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

great location, simple but comfortable

We stayed here while participating in the Sea Otter Classic. They were accommodating to the cyclists and allowed us to keep our bikes in our room. Room was nice, clean and had every amenity expected. It's a one minute walk to downtown which has limited parking, so it was great to be able to walk to dinner and the local bars. Continental breakfast was limited but sufficient and they had cookies in the lobby at night. Staff was friendly & helpful. Only drawback is that it's across the street from the fire station, so we were woken in night by sirens... but it was minor. We are looking forward to staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaraunt 1833 is just around the corner. It's pricey, but the ambience is awesome! Outdoor firepits are a great way to enjoy a cocktail with friends or strangers and the inside is well thought out and "cool"

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodi86
Business
Boston
May 25, 2012

simply liked there

It's really friendly and nice place, you don't feel the cold boring environment of big hotels. If you think about visiting Monterey you should stay there:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phunkle
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 4, 2012

Quaint Weekend Monterey Trip

The girlfriend and I made a last minute decision to get out of LA and decided to drive up to Monterey for a little weekend getaway. I yelped a bunch of hotels in Monterey and found a little gem called the Colton Inn. I called to confirm our reservation and to let them know we'd be arriving late (around midnight). I spoke to a pleasant woman who let me know that their front desk closes at 11pm so they would be leaving the key for us out front. Just as they said, we arrived with our key and welcome package ready for us. We entered our hotel room to find a very quaint, tidy room complete with fireplace, mini fridge and microwave. Our room didn't look as updated as some of the pictures I saw online but it was nice enough, very comfortable and very clean. Combine that with the free continental breakfast and dvd rentals, we got pretty value for what we paid. The Colton Inn is fairly centrally located and is about a mile from the Fisherman's Wharf and about 2 miles from Cannery Row/Monterey Bay Aquarium which we were able to check out. We also took a drive down highway 1 to check out Limekiln State Park, Julia Pfeiifer State Park, Andrew Molera State Park, Point Lobos and 17 Mile drive and all were worth a visit. All in all, we had a great weekend trip to Monterey and the Colton Inn provides a great hotel option for anyone looking for a great value. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leahnoel
Couples
Monterey, CA
May 29, 2012

Charming

The Colton Inn is a sweet little hotel with private entrances. The staff is very accommodating and polite. Just a few blocks from the heart of downtown Monterey, and you can walk to the beach. Sauna is available at all hours, fireplace and space heaters in the rooms, continental breakfast each morning, cookies and coffee/tea available all day, free movie rentals at the front desk... The rooms are a little musty but include a fridge, microwave, and bar sink. Not exactly top-of-the-line but overall cozy and charming, like visiting a little cottage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deve
Couples
Sacramento
May 29, 2012

Super spot!

Perfect location within walking to everything. Also, in a very historical and quaint part of town. Loved not having to make or find our own coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top