$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
146 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teddy0113
Bakersfield
Mar 17, 2014

PLEASEANT

I took my wife, and my grandson to morro bay, The Colton Inn, was a perfect place to stays, it's very close to any and all in the general area, felt safe/secure, i will be back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

dining choices are very plentiful, so either by walking or driving, variety is not short.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandyski
Beaverton, OR
Apr 20, 2012

Very cute place!

The hotel was very nice! Looked like each room had unique amenities--some had balconies, others had decks, fireplaces, etc. Our room didn't have a balcony but it had a fireplace (which was so cozy), and windows faced the back wooded/creek area. It had everything we like to have in a room--micro, fridge, cable, flat panel tv, free wifi. Front desk had an amazing selection of dvds to check out but we were too tired to watch any. Continental breakfast had lots of good stuff to choose from, and we enjoyed the cookies and tea in the evening. It would be a pretty hefty walk to get to the wharf/beach from the hotel, and way too far to walk to the aquarium. But, it's located in a quiet neighborhood area and Pacific St takes you right thru town. Very convenient location. Would definitely stay there again. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can park for free (save at least $10 in parking fees) at the Aquarium/Cannery Row if you park on the neighborhood streets where they don't have time limit signs or meters and walk a little bit. We parked 5 blocks up on David, which leads you right to the entrance of the Aquarium. They monitor the parking meters a LOT, and most nearby meters are only 1-2 hours. Aquarium is at least a 3+ hour attraction, plus extra strolling thru Cannery Row. 2 hr meters don't cut it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin, CA
Jun 15, 2010

Great Stay

We had a great stay here, great staff, and great amenities! Hotel was older but they did a great job of keeping it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yony and Wendy
Livermore
Jun 10, 2014

Great weekend escape

Great place to stay. Very clean, staff was very friendly and had good recommendations for area dining. Location was great, walking distance to everything while being back off the strip. Definitely will be back while visiting the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikki Moo
San Francisco
May 29, 2012

Love this Inn

Even so this Inn is not a 5 star rated hotel but I have to said it is more friendlier than most 5 star hotels that I have stayed at. For the cost it is located just far enough from downtown to avoid the noise but close enough to walk everywhere. I would stay again at this Inn if I visit Monterey again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This Inn will save you a lot of $$. For half the price of a hotel room with a fire place, you are pretty much getting the same thing. If you don't mind a 5 min walk into town this is the place to stay at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 3, 2010

Great Hotel!

Very nice hotel in quiet location. Rooms are clean and large and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

Great getaway on a budget

We wanted a decent place to stay at for memorial weekend. This place was in a very decent area of Monterey. Not smack in the tourist part, but close enough (2 min)to eat and enjoy. Our other concern was being close to Carmel's beaches which were no more than a 10 min drive and having a place to come back to after the long drive to Hearst Castle. The major hotels were charging outrageous prices for no value. We got a super deal and great value here. And they had yummy treats in there lobby all day for customers!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are into Organic food. There is a Whole foods not too far at the Del monte Shopping center. It's a great place for lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeejayTraveler
Fresno, CA
Sep 22, 2012

Good Location - Good Value

Hotel is in a good location near downtown Monterey. Large room with a useable layout. It's hard to find decently valued lodging in Monterey, but the Colton offers good value. We would go back to the Colton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wunderlibrarian
Business
santa clara, california
Oct 31, 2013

nice place!

I really enjoyed my stay at the Colton Inn. It's convenient to downtown Monterey, has a great staff, and a good continental breakfast. They also provide evening snacks like fruit, cookies, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. My room had a fireplace complete with a complimentary Duraflame. It was clean, comfy, and affordable. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bike from Bay Bikes on Washington and save gas and parking fees downtown, cannery row, fisherman's wharf, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cupcake and muffin
Ontario ca
Apr 30, 2014

amazing!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a romantic getaway. Close enough to the downtown area to enjoy. Great value! Our room was amazing I did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search