Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
152 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
randell and atena
Business
san luis obspo
Mar 27, 2012

Great for family very quiet.

the experence was great people were very nice and conciderate. i would go back again but get the hot tub room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to cannery row it's short and fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgeter
Business
SoCal
Apr 23, 2012

Great value

We had a pleasant night recently at the Colton. The accommodations were quite nice given the price point of under 100 dollars. It is certainly within walking distance of downtown and is in a quiet area. Nothing in particular except a good, clean place to sleep. The breakfast is adequate with bagels, bread, cereal and fruit. Afternoon snacks of cookies and coffee are a nice touch at check- in. Will come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a bag lunch or dinner at Trader Joes and walk to the pier for a romantic affordable meal at least once....Downtown eateries are pricey or dicey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandyski
Business
Beaverton, OR
Apr 20, 2012

Very cute place!

The hotel was very nice! Looked like each room had unique amenities--some had balconies, others had decks, fireplaces, etc. Our room didn't have a balcony but it had a fireplace (which was so cozy), and windows faced the back wooded/creek area. It had everything we like to have in a room--micro, fridge, cable, flat panel tv, free wifi. Front desk had an amazing selection of dvds to check out but we were too tired to watch any. Continental breakfast had lots of good stuff to choose from, and we enjoyed the cookies and tea in the evening. It would be a pretty hefty walk to get to the wharf/beach from the hotel, and way too far to walk to the aquarium. But, it's located in a quiet neighborhood area and Pacific St takes you right thru town. Very convenient location. Would definitely stay there again. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can park for free (save at least $10 in parking fees) at the Aquarium/Cannery Row if you park on the neighborhood streets where they don't have time limit signs or meters and walk a little bit. We parked 5 blocks up on David, which leads you right to the entrance of the Aquarium. They monitor the parking meters a LOT, and most nearby meters are only 1-2 hours. Aquarium is at least a 3+ hour attraction, plus extra strolling thru Cannery Row. 2 hr meters don't cut it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alphanurse
Business
Modesto, California
May 8, 2012

Awesome family getaway

The room was spotless, the location was perfect, and the afternoon snacks were yummy! We were close to the wharf and Cannery Row. It's a lovely hotel, very clean with nice landscaping. The breakfast and snacks went far beyond generic danish and juice. Many movie choices are available to borrow (free). We had a quiet stay. We visit Monterey frequently and will make this our new "go-to" inn for all future stays. Excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt131313
Business
San Francisco, California
May 13, 2012

Great Trip!

We had a phenomenal trip! Very comfortable and clean. As advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the seafood at the Wharf!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikki Moo
Business
San Francisco
May 29, 2012

Love this Inn

Even so this Inn is not a 5 star rated hotel but I have to said it is more friendlier than most 5 star hotels that I have stayed at. For the cost it is located just far enough from downtown to avoid the noise but close enough to walk everywhere. I would stay again at this Inn if I visit Monterey again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This Inn will save you a lot of $$. For half the price of a hotel room with a fire place, you are pretty much getting the same thing. If you don't mind a 5 min walk into town this is the place to stay at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Top fencer
Business
West hils,ca
Jul 27, 2012

Awesome

Great staff, clean room, good breakfast,all day snack and coffee, excellent location close to almost all the attractions.my kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2 Happy Vacationers
Business
Angels Camp, California
Aug 1, 2012

Great Place To Stay

The room was large and the fireplace added a great touch to the room. The room was very clean and we could not detect any odor of any kind as we have in other hotels, all of the inn in non-smokin. The staff was very friendly and helpful to all our needs. The room was very quiet and we could not hear our neighbors or the traffic. We eat our breakfast the two mornings we stayed there on the large back deck near the main office, which was great. The location of the inn was a short drive to all the attraction or a short distance to the trolley stops, which is free. We will definicely stay again the next time we visit Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgeter
Business
SoCal
Aug 15, 2012

great stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Colton and will surely return. The location is quiet and near town. Our room was simple and clean if not glamorous. Ask for a kitchenette if needed because not all rooms are equipped as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeejayTraveler
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 22, 2012

Good Location - Good Value

Hotel is in a good location near downtown Monterey. Large room with a useable layout. It's hard to find decently valued lodging in Monterey, but the Colton offers good value. We would go back to the Colton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top