$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
156 reviews
My stay

The room I stayed in was super adorable. My boyfriend is in the military and came to visit me here... See full review

  • Carrie
  • Jul 8, 2015
Great Stay

It was terrific 2 day stay best ever. All the staff, from Manager to maids were tops. Breakfast's... See full review

  • Matt H.
  • Apr 29, 2015

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Policies
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★
$70
3.5 / 5 47 reviews
★★★
$139
3.7 / 5 180 reviews
★★★
$105
3.6 / 5 124 reviews
★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 72 reviews
★★★
$107
3.6 / 5 54 reviews
★★
$109
3.6 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$159
4.1 / 5 112 reviews
★★★★
$135
3.7 / 5 104 reviews
★★
$85
3.7 / 5 45 reviews

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elenana
Couples
Berkeley, CA
Nov 30, 2013

Worse and worse

This was our third stay at Colton Inn and most definitely the last one. The first couple of times, years ago, were ok, but the most recent one a complete nightmare. The room smelled very badly. I found hair on my pillow and the bed sheets looked and smelled like someone had already slept in them (which I am fairly confident is exactly what happened). Towels looked dirty and the toilet paper was stained on the side with what looked like dried blood smears. Absolutely disgusting. The hotel is definitely not quiet; doors are very heavy and the guests slam them non-stop, regardless of the time of day (and, more importantly, night). WAY overpriced (paid over $120 for our horrible room). I will most certainly never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EM.797
Family
turlock
Jan 15, 2015

Terrible

This place is awful..cold heater took 12 hours to warm room...By that time I had to check out...they would not give us 20 minutes extra in the room..first excuse was a customer was waiting for room..then the help waa scheduled improperly. I would NOT recommend this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1324
Couples
Redwood City, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Just okay.

The check-in girl was as personable as a doorknob, but the room worked okay for us. However, there are some maintenance items that need attention like our door did not latch without a pull and a cold draft came through all night. It was nice that they loaned dvds, but the TV was old and had a poor quality picture. Continental breakfast was just okay. The floor above us squeaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the menus outside before entering the establishment to see if they have the kind of food you like and the cost is in your price range.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tough Mudder2012
Couples
Central Valley
Nov 25, 2012

Wouldn't stay here again

The Pros: Room was clean The Inn had a library of DVD's you can rent free of charge. The room had a fireplace. The cons: The fireplace was not gas and it didn't come with anything to burn in it. The heater was broken and couldn't be turned on, either by the wall mounted thermostat or the controls on the unit itself. The shower head had only one setting...Jet. I mean you were power washed and God help you if that stream made contact with your face. The bed only had a very thin blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Reno, Nv
Jul 19, 2009

Should have reseached more

It was an ok stay , but needed more ammenaties. The draw back was the hotel is situated next to a firestation which seems to be very busy throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend brinning a crusin bike for getting around to the various attractions.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe & Barb
Couples
NYC
May 14, 2010

Colton Inn

cCmfortable, quiet, clean room w/fireplace. An area to eat continental breakfast is outdoors, and cold in May..too cold to use. Location is near post office, high sch, and gov't offices...you drive to aqarium, cannery row, or pier. View from my room was sliding doors opening to veranda in the parking lot...useless. No other windows, so dark when parking lot ground floor view is shut off. The refrig hummed, but microwave and iron were welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great patisserrie around the corner, skip useless cont. breakfast and go there. Parking is ample and free, but watch out for dark spots under overhangs, my wife broke a tooth when she tripped on parking divider and fell into concrete steps leading to our dark room. Granted, we were exhausted from long flight. Place is for business traveller.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego
Aug 5, 2010

Room was good, service not so

They gave away the room type I reserved (2 double beds) because they sold out and I arrived late. The manager tried to tell me I booked it wrong even thought my receipt showed I was correct. We ended up with a double bed and two roll-aways. Pretty uncomfortable for the money we paid. The hair dryer was broken and maintenance person wasted a lot of our time trying to diagnose it until finally bringing a replacement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassiesMom
Family
Arcata, CA
Jul 23, 2011

If it's the only thing available

This is an old funky facility with some upgrades. The location is close enough to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row that walking is an option. The floor joist squeaked above my room when the second floor guest walked across their floor. The bed, pillows and bedding were comfortable but the cover was stained. The room felt cramped and dark. The low flow shower head left me feeling like I didn't get all the shampoo out of my hair. The height of the shower head was low and I'm average height. The reviews I read said the rooms were clean but there was hair on the bathroom floor and the carpet looked like it needed to be vacuumed. There's no pool at this hotel. The staff was friendly enough and I was told that I stayed during one of the busy week/weekend in Monterey. I guess I should feel lucky I got a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free trolley to save some of your walking between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Take the 45 minute long scenic trolley to view the sites and rest your feet if you're doing a lot of walking.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fed up with this hotel
Business
Santa cruz
Nov 16, 2014

Old and dirty

Really dissapointed with this hotel. Not very clean, old and musty beds....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CSLB Fellow Test Taker
Business
Palm Desert
Mar 31, 2014

Great Location A little Pricey

The hotel was very nice and comfortable, bed was comfortable. I think staff was tired upon my late arrival, I was too. Continental breakfast was abundant. Price was a little high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top