$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
152 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt G from SD
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Nice little place

The Colton Inn is an upgrade from a regular motel and a good value for the money. They have nice bonuses like free cookies in the lobby and free DVD rentals. Great setting, trees all around, walking distance to downtown Monterey and the Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Our Maryland Family
Business
Rockville, MD
Jun 26, 2012

Friendly, modest and clean

This inn has a lovely first floor patio for eating the continental breakfast. Our room had 2 queen beds and a tiny balcony. The TV has not been updated and WiFi was not adequate to accommodate the weekend crowd. A short 4-block walk to the transit station free trolley stop that took us to the Monterey Aquarium. Free DVDs available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved our lunch at THE WILD PLUM organic restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Discerning adults
Business
Cambridge, UK
Jun 18, 2012

Adequate

Colton Inn has everything you need, but could do with some updating. First impression was that room was a bit musty, but beds were very comfortable and room itself large. It does what it says on the tin, with no frills; staff could have been more helpful/welcoming. Note directions on website are from north only; receptionist was not interested in updating them to help future guests coming from the south. You get what you pay for...adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phunkle
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 4, 2012

Quaint Weekend Monterey Trip

The girlfriend and I made a last minute decision to get out of LA and decided to drive up to Monterey for a little weekend getaway. I yelped a bunch of hotels in Monterey and found a little gem called the Colton Inn. I called to confirm our reservation and to let them know we'd be arriving late (around midnight). I spoke to a pleasant woman who let me know that their front desk closes at 11pm so they would be leaving the key for us out front. Just as they said, we arrived with our key and welcome package ready for us. We entered our hotel room to find a very quaint, tidy room complete with fireplace, mini fridge and microwave. Our room didn't look as updated as some of the pictures I saw online but it was nice enough, very comfortable and very clean. Combine that with the free continental breakfast and dvd rentals, we got pretty value for what we paid. The Colton Inn is fairly centrally located and is about a mile from the Fisherman's Wharf and about 2 miles from Cannery Row/Monterey Bay Aquarium which we were able to check out. We also took a drive down highway 1 to check out Limekiln State Park, Julia Pfeiifer State Park, Andrew Molera State Park, Point Lobos and 17 Mile drive and all were worth a visit. All in all, we had a great weekend trip to Monterey and the Colton Inn provides a great hotel option for anyone looking for a great value. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squash Mama
Business
Canada
May 31, 2012

nice hotel

Good location for walking around Monterey. Helpful staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikki Moo
Business
San Francisco
May 29, 2012

Love this Inn

Even so this Inn is not a 5 star rated hotel but I have to said it is more friendlier than most 5 star hotels that I have stayed at. For the cost it is located just far enough from downtown to avoid the noise but close enough to walk everywhere. I would stay again at this Inn if I visit Monterey again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This Inn will save you a lot of $$. For half the price of a hotel room with a fire place, you are pretty much getting the same thing. If you don't mind a 5 min walk into town this is the place to stay at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leahnoel
Business
Monterey, CA
May 29, 2012

Charming

The Colton Inn is a sweet little hotel with private entrances. The staff is very accommodating and polite. Just a few blocks from the heart of downtown Monterey, and you can walk to the beach. Sauna is available at all hours, fireplace and space heaters in the rooms, continental breakfast each morning, cookies and coffee/tea available all day, free movie rentals at the front desk... The rooms are a little musty but include a fridge, microwave, and bar sink. Not exactly top-of-the-line but overall cozy and charming, like visiting a little cottage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deve
Business
Sacramento
May 29, 2012

Super spot!

Perfect location within walking to everything. Also, in a very historical and quaint part of town. Loved not having to make or find our own coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodi86
Business
Boston
May 25, 2012

simply liked there

It's really friendly and nice place, you don't feel the cold boring environment of big hotels. If you think about visiting Monterey you should stay there:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt131313
Business
San Francisco, California
May 13, 2012

Great Trip!

We had a phenomenal trip! Very comfortable and clean. As advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the seafood at the Wharf!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top