$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Less than impressed.
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 6, 2012

Well...depends on the room

If you manage to get a room facing away from the street you won't have to listen to traffic all day. So that's not a deal breaker. But staff is a little less than conscientious about details: I had to wait for a delayed check in while the staff finished cleaning the room. Very irritating after a long trip, to be told to take a drive or a walk and come back later, since I was already paying for the room. And what's with an office door sign at 8:30 PM on a Friday saying "Sorry we missed you"? It was too late to check out any of their "hundreds" of DVD movies, or to ask a question or get service, before NINE PM on a Friday? And you know how almost all hotels have coffee makers in room these days? Have to ask specifically for it here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael from New Orleans
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 5, 2012

Clean and comfortable

The room was comfortable and clean and smelled fine. Everything worked. The Inn was not fancy. The price was reasonable for the value received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basssman
Business
Woodland, Ca
Aug 5, 2012

Nice Surprise

We will definately be back. For the price of the room you can't beat it. Staff was really friendly, room was very clean. Felt safe with the kids & not a bad breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Aquarium & Cannery Row

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tjpt
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Nice room in great location

The Colton Inn is a great place to stay; it's not 5-star, but it's close to the action, and the rooms are cozy, and the fireplace helps warm the chilly coastal nights. The staff is helpful, and the cookies and teas are available until 10:30 pm every night. we would definitely stay again. Oh, and the walls were thick enough that our teething infant didn't bother the neighbors. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tuesdays from 4-8 pm - check out the Farmer's Market on Alvarado Street for produce and a wide variety of arts and foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepoithesis
Business
California
Aug 1, 2012

2 night getaway

Convenient location in a quieter, historical part of Monterey. Simple continental breakfast. Older, but generally functional, room amenities. Very nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Appreciated the fruit and cookies in the lobby. Improvements: toilet would flush on its own due to an internal leak; blinds let too much light in around the edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Enjoy the local farmer's markets; have a picnic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2 Happy Vacationers
Business
Angels Camp, California
Aug 1, 2012

Great Place To Stay

The room was large and the fireplace added a great touch to the room. The room was very clean and we could not detect any odor of any kind as we have in other hotels, all of the inn in non-smokin. The staff was very friendly and helpful to all our needs. The room was very quiet and we could not hear our neighbors or the traffic. We eat our breakfast the two mornings we stayed there on the large back deck near the main office, which was great. The location of the inn was a short drive to all the attraction or a short distance to the trolley stops, which is free. We will definicely stay again the next time we visit Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timaritos
Business
Gainesville, FL
Jul 30, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Clean, quiet hotel with a friendly staff. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Top fencer
Business
West hils,ca
Jul 27, 2012

Awesome

Great staff, clean room, good breakfast,all day snack and coffee, excellent location close to almost all the attractions.my kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sjrplustwo
Business
Bristol uk
Jul 24, 2012

Colton

Much better placed than most of the motels, as you can stroll to the wharf easily. Great , historic city, reall nice motel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Grandpa and Grandma
Business
Dixon, CA
Jul 20, 2012

Good Stuff

We enjoyed our stay at the Colton Inn. It was very nice to have WiFi. The Continental breakfast could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Every Tuesday (year round) there is a Farmer's Market in downtown Monterey

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top