$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basssman
Business
Woodland, Ca
Aug 5, 2012

Nice Surprise

We will definately be back. For the price of the room you can't beat it. Staff was really friendly, room was very clean. Felt safe with the kids & not a bad breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Aquarium & Cannery Row

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tjpt
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Nice room in great location

The Colton Inn is a great place to stay; it's not 5-star, but it's close to the action, and the rooms are cozy, and the fireplace helps warm the chilly coastal nights. The staff is helpful, and the cookies and teas are available until 10:30 pm every night. we would definitely stay again. Oh, and the walls were thick enough that our teething infant didn't bother the neighbors. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tuesdays from 4-8 pm - check out the Farmer's Market on Alvarado Street for produce and a wide variety of arts and foods.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepoithesis
Business
California
Aug 1, 2012

2 night getaway

Convenient location in a quieter, historical part of Monterey. Simple continental breakfast. Older, but generally functional, room amenities. Very nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Appreciated the fruit and cookies in the lobby. Improvements: toilet would flush on its own due to an internal leak; blinds let too much light in around the edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Enjoy the local farmer's markets; have a picnic.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2 Happy Vacationers
Business
Angels Camp, California
Aug 1, 2012

Great Place To Stay

The room was large and the fireplace added a great touch to the room. The room was very clean and we could not detect any odor of any kind as we have in other hotels, all of the inn in non-smokin. The staff was very friendly and helpful to all our needs. The room was very quiet and we could not hear our neighbors or the traffic. We eat our breakfast the two mornings we stayed there on the large back deck near the main office, which was great. The location of the inn was a short drive to all the attraction or a short distance to the trolley stops, which is free. We will definicely stay again the next time we visit Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timaritos
Business
Gainesville, FL
Jul 30, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Clean, quiet hotel with a friendly staff. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Top fencer
Business
West hils,ca
Jul 27, 2012

Awesome

Great staff, clean room, good breakfast,all day snack and coffee, excellent location close to almost all the attractions.my kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sjrplustwo
Business
Bristol uk
Jul 24, 2012

Colton

Much better placed than most of the motels, as you can stroll to the wharf easily. Great , historic city, reall nice motel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Grandpa and Grandma
Business
Dixon, CA
Jul 20, 2012

Good Stuff

We enjoyed our stay at the Colton Inn. It was very nice to have WiFi. The Continental breakfast could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Every Tuesday (year round) there is a Farmer's Market in downtown Monterey

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waterwoman
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 19, 2012

Great for our needs/tourist stuff and JS Bach festival

We arrived by Amtrak at night.. Got lost trying to find the hotel due to the triangular streets in Monterey. Hotel is nicely located on a quieter street next to the library. Two blocks gets you to the Transit area where you can catch any bus or free trolly to tour everywhere. Nice restaurant around the corner - 1833 - fantastic bar with unusual drinks - great food. Liked the bed linens, pillows soft and fluffy. Redecorated bath. Only problem was noise from the in room referigerator and sounds of running water. We requested first floor. Parking on the property was almost an issue on Monday night. Place is very popular with regulars. Family owned hotel. Needs some more updating but for the price we were very pleased to be out of the Cannery row hustle and near transit. I will stay there again next time we visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant right around the corner - 1833.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bugbear
Business
bay area, california
Jul 13, 2012

good stay

We felt quite comfortable with the hotel. Good stay and good location. We could walk to the downtown and to the old fisherman wharf easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top