$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgeter
Family
SoCal
Aug 15, 2012

great stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Colton and will surely return. The location is quiet and near town. Our room was simple and clean if not glamorous. Ask for a kitchenette if needed because not all rooms are equipped as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repsol Dave
Family
Fresno,Ca
Aug 24, 2012

Family getaway

We had the king with fireplace, the room was large the floor felt damp and the carpets didn't look the cleanest. However for the price I would stay there again and again. Parking wasn't the greatest with a large truck but perfect for a car. Overall the room was clean and had no odor smell, I've stayed at alot of hotels in Monterey and for just an overnight stay and you don't need a pool this place was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5 miles to carmel plaza and about 2 miles to DelMonte shopping center and 2 miles to cannery row and about 1 mile to fisherman's wharf great location

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weezey
Friends
San Leandro, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Mini Vacation for 2

Staff extremely helpful, nice, courteous and knowledgeable. Asked if there was certain places we wanted to go and could they help book them or if we needed directions. Went a step beyond being helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of two kids
Family
San Jose, CA
Aug 14, 2012

Great location

This was our third time staying at the Colton Inn. We love the location because it is a quick walk to downtown and the wharf. It is located on a quiet street and feels safe to me. The cookies and fruit at check-in are a nice touch and the free continental breakfast helps us get moving quickly in the morning. The walls are a bit thin, so we heard other people, but it was similar to all other hotels we have stayed in. The water pressure in the shower is fantastic, but the shower curtain had a little mildew on it. The free dvds are nice to have, but the tv was kind of fuzzy. All in all, we really like this hotel. For the price and location, it is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 Joys
Family
Sonora, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Inexpensive Monterey Get Away

The hotel (motel) is in the downtown area which is great for restaurants. The rooms were clean and ours had a fireplace, although it was in an odd area of the room behind a large leather chair with an ottoman. It was a short drive to most attractions in the area. Quiet, with enough parking. We left too early to partake in the Continental Breakfast in the tiny lobby so we can't really comment that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosine's downtown on Alvarado St. Great for breakfast and desserts after lunch or dinner. They have desserts in a case at the front of the restaurant so you can get desserts to go back to your room. They serve large portions so be prepared.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhDiva1998
Friends
Washington, DC
Aug 13, 2012

Perfect value!

Don't expect 5-star quality from this place. The towels were worn and some light bulbs and a screen needed to be replaced. We had trouble accessing the internet from our room but had no problem from the lovely deck near the office. But the place was clean, the location was great, and the staff were polite and efficient. I can't ask for a better value and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lots of restaurants, a grocery store, a bank, a drug store, and a coffee shop.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rerouting
Couples
los angeles
Aug 11, 2012

very average

refrigerator was getting tripped every minute, so they took out lamps plug, so no lamp..no ceiling fan, gave us table fan was very dirty. took table place so no table room for computer, not enough towels for 2, no supply to make coffee, house keeper do not speak english,.and staff do not give our message to them.breakfast area is crowded, very tiny. no body is there after 11pm, so kind of unsafe. only good thing is location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

convinient to go anywhere, near by, free trolley is nearby...bus transit is near by.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ntho
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 10, 2012

Business trip

The bedroom is in good condition. The bathrooms show wear and are in need of updating but are clean. The fireplace and extra sink outside of the bathroom were nice and the bed was comfortable. Wifi in the room was good. There was a discrepancy for the checkout time. An old sign on the door said 1pm and the paper work we received at check-in said noon. We were expected to be out at noon and the staff were reluctant to allow an extension until 12:30pm. The hotel was located near town center which was convenient. Parking was challenging as the spaces were really tight and people have problems parking their cars straight. I would recommend it for short trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love2travel4fun
Family
Fair Oaks, CA
Aug 9, 2012

Great value and very clean!

This hotel was a great value through a travel website. It was very clean and we loved the continental breakfast and evening cookies and fruit! The patio is very pretty with flowers, greenery and a little stream running behind it. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The room was large enough to accommodate our family of 3 adults and 2 kids. The only problems we had were that the sliding glass door was off the track and we couldn't lock the door and the housekeepers carts blocked the way to the patio for breakfast every morning. Also, the staff was cordial but not overly welcoming. Other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to the trolley and it was free! It takes you to the wharf and aquarium!

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AdkTraveler
Family
New York
Aug 8, 2012

Nice Place

The Colton Inn is in a convenient location to the area's attractions. Comfortable, clean and roomy rooms - comfortable beds, all the necessary conveniences. Helpful and friendly staff. Great continental breakfasts available during the week which is expanded on the weekends. Tea and cookies every afternoon and a nice patio area to sit and eat. Very reasonable rates; I would definitely stay there again when I visit that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top