$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MDR, CA
Oct 8, 2012

Nice Spot

Good value, nothing out of the ordinary, within walking distance to good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yrbndr
Business
Carson City
Oct 8, 2012

Very comfortable and quiet. Location convenient

Helpful staff and a convenient location to attend my meeting. The room was pleasantly appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZBrock
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 29, 2012

Nice stay, but ...

Wireless internet did not work (in my room) till the last night of my stay (4 nights). Staff said a techie had been called first night, ditto 2nd night and 3rd night was told the system has just been "rebooted" and when I returned (after finding it still didn't worK), when I complained that it had not worked for 3 days, was told "I could check out". The Colton Inn is within walking distance to downtown. The the room was nice, clean and the bed comforable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeejayTraveler
Couples
Fresno, CA
Sep 22, 2012

Good Location - Good Value

Hotel is in a good location near downtown Monterey. Large room with a useable layout. It's hard to find decently valued lodging in Monterey, but the Colton offers good value. We would go back to the Colton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer Sun and Fun
Couples
Louisiana
Sep 21, 2012

Good value and location

This was a very good value. The room was clean, the staff was helpful, and the location is only a short drive from the major attractions in Monterey. The free continental breakfast was a nice perk - bagels, bananas, apples, coffee, etc. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean room, nice staff, and good location at a very reasonable cost. We would stay again on next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row and other attractions a short drive

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan51
Couples
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 18, 2012

One quick stay

Spent one nite in Monterrey. This hotel is not within walking distance of too much. But a 6 minute car ride takes you to wherever you need to be, in all directions. We had a fireplace in the room, fridge, armoire, and cable tv with many more stations than most other places. We didn't use it, but it is good to know you can. There is even a garage, only a few spaces. Room very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row. Lots of shops, restaurants and novelty places.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trevi
Couples
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Sep 17, 2012

Nice clean place to stay

Easy drive to everything. Nice clean room. Staff helpful for directions. Breakfast included. Refrigerator in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus1
Family
Sacramento
Sep 17, 2012

Good Value

In an inflated resort market of Monterrey area, the Colton Inn fits the bill for couples or families of various price ranges. Most reviews place it at 2.5 of 5 stars, better than the budget places but not as nice as the Hilton Garden Inn, I found that guide to be accurate. I might not stay there again because I need a firm bed and of the three two-bedded rooms we rented only one bed was firm the rest were fairly soft [not good for a bad back!].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

FiFi's French Bistro was charming and tasty if your budget includes moderate white table cloth meals.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SilverOakBob
Couples
Los Angeles
Aug 28, 2012

Great Location

Very good value. Only 1-2 blocks to downtown restaurants/shops. Room comes with refrig and microwave. Don't have to walk far from car to room. The morning coffee, fruits and pastries are of good quality, and served early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Rosine's Restaurant. Good quality, big portions, fast service and reasonable.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jteam
Family
Ellicott City, MD
Aug 25, 2012

Aquarium visit to Monterey

Hotel was very nice. The gentleman behind the desk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Cookies in the evening were delicious. The location was great. It looked like they were doing some renovating, but at least they were doing some renovating and maintaining/improving. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at Fish Hoppers near the Aquarium was great! Lunch at Bullwackers near the Aquarium was not good - the wait staff was nice, but the food was not.

Back to menu Return to top