$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer Sun and Fun
Business
Louisiana
Sep 21, 2012

Good value and location

This was a very good value. The room was clean, the staff was helpful, and the location is only a short drive from the major attractions in Monterey. The free continental breakfast was a nice perk - bagels, bananas, apples, coffee, etc. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean room, nice staff, and good location at a very reasonable cost. We would stay again on next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row and other attractions a short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan51
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 18, 2012

One quick stay

Spent one nite in Monterrey. This hotel is not within walking distance of too much. But a 6 minute car ride takes you to wherever you need to be, in all directions. We had a fireplace in the room, fridge, armoire, and cable tv with many more stations than most other places. We didn't use it, but it is good to know you can. There is even a garage, only a few spaces. Room very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row. Lots of shops, restaurants and novelty places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trevi
Business
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Sep 17, 2012

Nice clean place to stay

Easy drive to everything. Nice clean room. Staff helpful for directions. Breakfast included. Refrigerator in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus1
Business
Sacramento
Sep 17, 2012

Good Value

In an inflated resort market of Monterrey area, the Colton Inn fits the bill for couples or families of various price ranges. Most reviews place it at 2.5 of 5 stars, better than the budget places but not as nice as the Hilton Garden Inn, I found that guide to be accurate. I might not stay there again because I need a firm bed and of the three two-bedded rooms we rented only one bed was firm the rest were fairly soft [not good for a bad back!].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

FiFi's French Bistro was charming and tasty if your budget includes moderate white table cloth meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getting Finer
Business
San Fernando Valley, California
Aug 28, 2012

Monterey, California -- vacation

Pleasant room, very quiet. We liked having the fireplace, which you burn a log in, not gas-lit. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast was a little better than at many motels I have been at. Good coffee and orange juice, plus they provide many items you can toast, a selection of cereals with milk, and a few kinds of fruit. Danishes which you can zap in the microwave real quick to heat up, if you like that. The nice big deck in the back was set up for people to eat their breakfast, blue jays and other little birds kept us company. We brought our own coffee maker for the room, which did not offer one. We were able to use the wi-fi to get on the Internet. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Not a lot of counter space in the bathroom but plenty of mirrors and two sinks, newer looking overall, lots of lighting. We would come back here in the future. Suggestions would be, light up the closet area, buy nice new towels, add the coffee maker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aquarium was wonderful. Cannery Row has a lot of places to eat, browse, shop. The drive along the coastal areas was breathtaking, bring binoculars! Sea lions and sea otters are everywhere, and so are the deer. Took the 17 Mile Drive which was very scenic and offers plenty to photograph. Carmel is right there and so is Pacific Grove. Carmel is a whole day of strolling and browsing, with many wine tasting venues, great restaurants and wonderful little half-hidden places to explore and eat at. Art galleries are everywhere in Carmel, not to mention several shops offering clothing of every kind, and shoe shops as well, one of which we bought good European walking shoes at for more comfy feet. I can never say enough about this town's beauty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SilverOakBob
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 28, 2012

Great Location

Very good value. Only 1-2 blocks to downtown restaurants/shops. Room comes with refrig and microwave. Don't have to walk far from car to room. The morning coffee, fruits and pastries are of good quality, and served early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Rosine's Restaurant. Good quality, big portions, fast service and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jteam
Business
Ellicott City, MD
Aug 25, 2012

Aquarium visit to Monterey

Hotel was very nice. The gentleman behind the desk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Cookies in the evening were delicious. The location was great. It looked like they were doing some renovating, but at least they were doing some renovating and maintaining/improving. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at Fish Hoppers near the Aquarium was great! Lunch at Bullwackers near the Aquarium was not good - the wait staff was nice, but the food was not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repsol Dave
Business
Fresno,Ca
Aug 24, 2012

Family getaway

We had the king with fireplace, the room was large the floor felt damp and the carpets didn't look the cleanest. However for the price I would stay there again and again. Parking wasn't the greatest with a large truck but perfect for a car. Overall the room was clean and had no odor smell, I've stayed at alot of hotels in Monterey and for just an overnight stay and you don't need a pool this place was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5 miles to carmel plaza and about 2 miles to DelMonte shopping center and 2 miles to cannery row and about 1 mile to fisherman's wharf great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weezey
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Mini Vacation for 2

Staff extremely helpful, nice, courteous and knowledgeable. Asked if there was certain places we wanted to go and could they help book them or if we needed directions. Went a step beyond being helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgeter
Business
SoCal
Aug 15, 2012

great stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Colton and will surely return. The location is quiet and near town. Our room was simple and clean if not glamorous. Ask for a kitchenette if needed because not all rooms are equipped as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top