$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bgao
Family
Shanghai, China
Jul 18, 2013

OK but over priced

If the price were not over priced so much, this would be a good choice for travelers. Good points are: room is quite clean, free snacks provided in the afternoon. Improvements needed: there's no self service wash machines, lobby ( which serves also breakfast) is too small, and quality of breakfast is average or below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Dreamin' Tour
Couples
SD
Jul 7, 2013

Passing through.

We were warmly greeted upon arrival. The attendant was very pleasant and welcoming while also giving us tips about restaurants, shopping, and directions. We felt very comfortable here, and we felt the room was more than worth what we paid for it even though it is a little older. It was very quiet and was a nice walking distance from the marina. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spindle
Couples
atwater, ca
Jun 13, 2013

Escaping The Heat

Delighted to have been able to get short-notice reservations at our favorite place to stay in Monterey! The Colton is a beautiful Inn. Management is always friendly and very personable. The rooms are above standard, very comfortable and spacious and clean. We've stayed here at least a half dozen times and this is the first time we had an issue with the hot water in the shower on the morning of check-out...there wasn't any! Hopefully this was just a glitch in their otherwise superb accommodations! Breakfast was, as always, delightful! Thank you, Management and Staff of The Colton Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business in Monterey
Business
Long Beach, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great location -

I have stayed at the Colton previously. I remember it was a fine location and my memory was correct. A run in the mornings took me to Fisherman's Wharf and the running trail. In the evenings I was a walk from Trader Joe's and Alvarado Street where some of Monterey's nightlife is. The room was fun...it opened up with a huge window overlooking a wooded area and parking lot. The space heater was needed. It was an unconventional mobile heater (I am sure the rooms do not have conventional heating). It worked well. There were very few people during my stay, I could hear them walking on the walk ways though. The morning breakfast was fine...some healthy food stuffs as well. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Crown and Anchor for some great spirits, a mature crowd, and some great food!

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
007writer
Single
san francisco, ca
Dec 23, 2012

decent

for a solo trip this is fine. its clean, reasonably priced, and close to the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown bars are a 1/2 Mi walk.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zsazsarocks
Couples
San Francisco
Nov 26, 2012

Great stay!

The Colton Inn had great amenities, including: fire place in room, free continental breakfast and parking, and is conveniently located near downtown Monterey. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outdoorsy CA family
Couples
Sunnyvale, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Would stay again

Nice clean, spacious rooms & bathrooms. Close to downtown (its an easy walk). Free parking. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tough Mudder2012
Couples
Central Valley
Nov 25, 2012

Wouldn't stay here again

The Pros: Room was clean The Inn had a library of DVD's you can rent free of charge. The room had a fireplace. The cons: The fireplace was not gas and it didn't come with anything to burn in it. The heater was broken and couldn't be turned on, either by the wall mounted thermostat or the controls on the unit itself. The shower head had only one setting...Jet. I mean you were power washed and God help you if that stream made contact with your face. The bed only had a very thin blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce D.
Couples
Beaufort, SC
Nov 13, 2012

Great stay

We stayed in the room the staff called, the "treehouse". The hotel was delightful--good sized room, quiet, fireplace with a log in it. The breakfast was very nice. The Internet worked just fine. The location was convenient and the price was excellent for what you get. The front desk has plenty of movies to borrow at no cost, fruit all the time, and were very quite helpful. We would stay there again gladly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Give yourself 5-6 hours to really take in the aquarium and look for the little alleyway that will lead you to Doc's real former office and apt--Cannery Row readers will know!

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoneRight
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 8, 2012

Clean, quiet & great snacks

When we checked in, we were welcomed with coffee & a nice assortment of tea with HOT water plus fresh fruit & fresh (not packaged) cookies. (For breakfast, they add bagels & pastries.) Then, when we got into the room, we were pleased to see a crisp white sheet covering the bed rather than the hotel-standard crusty bedspread. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the wharf & the downtown area which is exactly what we were looking for. All this combined with how quiet the room was, I'd say overall it was a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top