$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
199 reviews
Great weekend escape

Great place to stay. Very clean, staff was very friendly and had good recommendations for area... See full review

  • Yony and Wendy
  • Jun 10, 2014
amazing!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a romantic getaway. Close enough to the... See full review

  • cupcake and muffin
  • Apr 30, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trevi
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Sep 17, 2012

Nice clean place to stay

Easy drive to everything. Nice clean room. Staff helpful for directions. Breakfast included. Refrigerator in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SilverOakBob
Los Angeles
Aug 28, 2012

Great Location

Very good value. Only 1-2 blocks to downtown restaurants/shops. Room comes with refrig and microwave. Don't have to walk far from car to room. The morning coffee, fruits and pastries are of good quality, and served early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Rosine's Restaurant. Good quality, big portions, fast service and reasonable.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getting Finer
San Fernando Valley, California
Aug 28, 2012

Monterey, California -- vacation

Pleasant room, very quiet. We liked having the fireplace, which you burn a log in, not gas-lit. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast was a little better than at many motels I have been at. Good coffee and orange juice, plus they provide many items you can toast, a selection of cereals with milk, and a few kinds of fruit. Danishes which you can zap in the microwave real quick to heat up, if you like that. The nice big deck in the back was set up for people to eat their breakfast, blue jays and other little birds kept us company. We brought our own coffee maker for the room, which did not offer one. We were able to use the wi-fi to get on the Internet. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Not a lot of counter space in the bathroom but plenty of mirrors and two sinks, newer looking overall, lots of lighting. We would come back here in the future. Suggestions would be, light up the closet area, buy nice new towels, add the coffee maker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aquarium was wonderful. Cannery Row has a lot of places to eat, browse, shop. The drive along the coastal areas was breathtaking, bring binoculars! Sea lions and sea otters are everywhere, and so are the deer. Took the 17 Mile Drive which was very scenic and offers plenty to photograph. Carmel is right there and so is Pacific Grove. Carmel is a whole day of strolling and browsing, with many wine tasting venues, great restaurants and wonderful little half-hidden places to explore and eat at. Art galleries are everywhere in Carmel, not to mention several shops offering clothing of every kind, and shoe shops as well, one of which we bought good European walking shoes at for more comfy feet. I can never say enough about this town's beauty.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jteam
Ellicott City, MD
Aug 25, 2012

Aquarium visit to Monterey

Hotel was very nice. The gentleman behind the desk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Cookies in the evening were delicious. The location was great. It looked like they were doing some renovating, but at least they were doing some renovating and maintaining/improving. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at Fish Hoppers near the Aquarium was great! Lunch at Bullwackers near the Aquarium was not good - the wait staff was nice, but the food was not.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repsol Dave
Fresno,Ca
Aug 24, 2012

Family getaway

We had the king with fireplace, the room was large the floor felt damp and the carpets didn't look the cleanest. However for the price I would stay there again and again. Parking wasn't the greatest with a large truck but perfect for a car. Overall the room was clean and had no odor smell, I've stayed at alot of hotels in Monterey and for just an overnight stay and you don't need a pool this place was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5 miles to carmel plaza and about 2 miles to DelMonte shopping center and 2 miles to cannery row and about 1 mile to fisherman's wharf great location

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weezey
San Leandro, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Mini Vacation for 2

Staff extremely helpful, nice, courteous and knowledgeable. Asked if there was certain places we wanted to go and could they help book them or if we needed directions. Went a step beyond being helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgeter
SoCal
Aug 15, 2012

great stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Colton and will surely return. The location is quiet and near town. Our room was simple and clean if not glamorous. Ask for a kitchenette if needed because not all rooms are equipped as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of two kids
San Jose, CA
Aug 14, 2012

Great location

This was our third time staying at the Colton Inn. We love the location because it is a quick walk to downtown and the wharf. It is located on a quiet street and feels safe to me. The cookies and fruit at check-in are a nice touch and the free continental breakfast helps us get moving quickly in the morning. The walls are a bit thin, so we heard other people, but it was similar to all other hotels we have stayed in. The water pressure in the shower is fantastic, but the shower curtain had a little mildew on it. The free dvds are nice to have, but the tv was kind of fuzzy. All in all, we really like this hotel. For the price and location, it is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhDiva1998
Washington, DC
Aug 13, 2012

Perfect value!

Don't expect 5-star quality from this place. The towels were worn and some light bulbs and a screen needed to be replaced. We had trouble accessing the internet from our room but had no problem from the lovely deck near the office. But the place was clean, the location was great, and the staff were polite and efficient. I can't ask for a better value and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lots of restaurants, a grocery store, a bank, a drug store, and a coffee shop.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 Joys
Sonora, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Inexpensive Monterey Get Away

The hotel (motel) is in the downtown area which is great for restaurants. The rooms were clean and ours had a fireplace, although it was in an odd area of the room behind a large leather chair with an ottoman. It was a short drive to most attractions in the area. Quiet, with enough parking. We left too early to partake in the Continental Breakfast in the tiny lobby so we can't really comment that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosine's downtown on Alvarado St. Great for breakfast and desserts after lunch or dinner. They have desserts in a case at the front of the restaurant so you can get desserts to go back to your room. They serve large portions so be prepared.

Back to menu Return to top