$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJP97
Business
Grass Valley
Jan 1, 2014

Great place

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from the Monterey Warf. Nice walking distance to lot's of fun activities. The staff was exceptional!! Our room was clean and very pleasant, good sized rooms. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elenana
Business
Berkeley, CA
Nov 30, 2013

Worse and worse

This was our third stay at Colton Inn and most definitely the last one. The first couple of times, years ago, were ok, but the most recent one a complete nightmare. The room smelled very badly. I found hair on my pillow and the bed sheets looked and smelled like someone had already slept in them (which I am fairly confident is exactly what happened). Towels looked dirty and the toilet paper was stained on the side with what looked like dried blood smears. Absolutely disgusting. The hotel is definitely not quiet; doors are very heavy and the guests slam them non-stop, regardless of the time of day (and, more importantly, night). WAY overpriced (paid over $120 for our horrible room). I will most certainly never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
007painter
Business
Clovis, CA
Nov 22, 2013

Romantic Getaway

Enjoyed our stay very much. Walk to downtown and a short drive to Cannery Row. Loved the fireplace, very romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sardine Factory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wunderlibrarian
Business
santa clara, california
Oct 31, 2013

nice place!

I really enjoyed my stay at the Colton Inn. It's convenient to downtown Monterey, has a great staff, and a good continental breakfast. They also provide evening snacks like fruit, cookies, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. My room had a fireplace complete with a complimentary Duraflame. It was clean, comfy, and affordable. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a bike from Bay Bikes on Washington and save gas and parking fees downtown, cannery row, fisherman's wharf, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saucetown
Business
Oakland ca
Oct 29, 2013

Average

Plus: The fireplace, location, balcony, and snacks are great. Minus: The decor is dated, the walls are thin, and there's a firestation across the street. I could stay there again but probably will not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive to the 17 mile drive, cannery row, and the outlets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massimo S.
Business
Euclid, OH
Aug 21, 2013

Sweet Small Hotel

Great customer service. Comfortable rooms. Location in heart of Monterey. Nice creek and trees behind hotel. Back patio for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bgao
Business
Shanghai, China
Jul 18, 2013

OK but over priced

If the price were not over priced so much, this would be a good choice for travelers. Good points are: room is quite clean, free snacks provided in the afternoon. Improvements needed: there's no self service wash machines, lobby ( which serves also breakfast) is too small, and quality of breakfast is average or below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Dreamin' Tour
Business
SD
Jul 7, 2013

Passing through.

We were warmly greeted upon arrival. The attendant was very pleasant and welcoming while also giving us tips about restaurants, shopping, and directions. We felt very comfortable here, and we felt the room was more than worth what we paid for it even though it is a little older. It was very quiet and was a nice walking distance from the marina. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spindle
Business
atwater, ca
Jun 13, 2013

Escaping The Heat

Delighted to have been able to get short-notice reservations at our favorite place to stay in Monterey! The Colton is a beautiful Inn. Management is always friendly and very personable. The rooms are above standard, very comfortable and spacious and clean. We've stayed here at least a half dozen times and this is the first time we had an issue with the hot water in the shower on the morning of check-out...there wasn't any! Hopefully this was just a glitch in their otherwise superb accommodations! Breakfast was, as always, delightful! Thank you, Management and Staff of The Colton Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business in Monterey
Business
Long Beach, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great location -

I have stayed at the Colton previously. I remember it was a fine location and my memory was correct. A run in the mornings took me to Fisherman's Wharf and the running trail. In the evenings I was a walk from Trader Joe's and Alvarado Street where some of Monterey's nightlife is. The room was fun...it opened up with a huge window overlooking a wooded area and parking lot. The space heater was needed. It was an unconventional mobile heater (I am sure the rooms do not have conventional heating). It worked well. There were very few people during my stay, I could hear them walking on the walk ways though. The morning breakfast was fine...some healthy food stuffs as well. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Crown and Anchor for some great spirits, a mature crowd, and some great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top