$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
153 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 24, 2010

Good location

Loved the Monterey/Carmel area. Inn was conveniently located to areas we were visiting. It was quiet and we enjoyed the complimentary coffee/tead and cookies during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great places to eat right in Monterey.We drove the 17 mile loop around Pebble Beach - breath-taking views, but wait till the fog burns off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patty Pinesol
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 12, 2010

Three Star with A Little Ambiance

The staff at the Colton Inn was responsive and friendly. It offered a nice continental breakfast with some healthy selections. Our room contained a floor to ceiling window that faced out onto a greenbelt area. It also had a nice gas fireplace. The bed had sheets and for a bedspread/blanket used a dark blue duvet. I would like to think the duvet is changed between guests since it is also used as a bedspread, but there's no way to tell. The rooms were well-worn and could use some paint or a wash down of the doors and walls. All in all, would rate it three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fishwife Cafe in nearby Seaside has wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan Hill Monterey Lovers
Business
Morgan Hill, CA
Sep 12, 2010

Excellent Stay, Service, and Location

We loved the location, not amongst all the other hotels but an easy walk to downtown and the wharf. Great service, courteous, and the goodies in the lobby were great. Our only complaint, the bed was very hard. Bring a layer like a comforter to sleep on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the wharf restaurants, go to the cannery area for seafood and downtown for food at the Crown and Anchor, the best breakfast crepes at the Monterey Crepe Co on Alvarado, and the BEST coffee and pastries at Plumes one block up from Crepes restaurant, almost right across the street from the Crown and Anchor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Aug 22, 2010

Very nice stay, good location

very good location big room clean fantastic fireplace

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Characters ( Mariott Hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the buzz
Business
madison wisc.
Aug 21, 2010

had what the family needed at the time

the hotel was in a great location, walking to downtown, 5 min drive to cannery row. The front desk was very helpful with local thing to do. The breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the clerk told us of a farmers market going on that evening.It was great to walk and eat local grown produce,there was a flea market going on also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timers to Monterey
Business
Carlsbad, ca
Aug 6, 2010

Colton Inn at Monterey

Over all my family and I enjoyed our stay at the Colton Inn. Cons: TV and Entertainment center outdated, too far to walk to the Aquarium, not enough outlets to repower out phones, laptops, etc. Pros: Free DVD rentals, Free breakfast, Free WiFi, quiet, friendly staff. Plus, my kids loved it! In summary, more Pros than Cons. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

1) The line at the Aquarium is pretty long. Suggestion, get tickets on-line and proceed to will-call to receive tickets. 2) Go to dinner somewhere at Cannery Row at 5:00pm and get your hand stamped. We like the Cannery Brewing Company. After dinner, go back to the Aquarium. Less crowded. Major Plus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 5, 2010

Room was good, service not so

They gave away the room type I reserved (2 double beds) because they sold out and I arrived late. The manager tried to tell me I booked it wrong even thought my receipt showed I was correct. We ended up with a double bed and two roll-aways. Pretty uncomfortable for the money we paid. The hair dryer was broken and maintenance person wasted a lot of our time trying to diagnose it until finally bringing a replacement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MS
Jul 18, 2010

GREAT HOTEL

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff were helpful and friendly. Within walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Jul 8, 2010

Colton Inn

Just an average place; nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 3, 2010

Great Hotel!

Very nice hotel in quiet location. Rooms are clean and large and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top