$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
202 reviews
Great weekend escape

Great place to stay. Very clean, staff was very friendly and had good recommendations for area... See full review

  • Yony and Wendy
  • Jun 10, 2014
amazing!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a romantic getaway. Close enough to the... See full review

  • cupcake and muffin
  • Apr 30, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2011

Good central downtown Monterey location

Mainly sightseeing--we walked to the Wharf and around downtown and the historical sections of Monterey. Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Colton Inn is well-maintained and in an attractive location. Our room was on the top floor, and, although there was no evidence of it, the room smelled like there might have been some water damage; there was a slight musty/mildew odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2011

Good central downtown Monterey location

Mainly sightseeing--we walked to the Wharf and around downtown and the historical sections of Monterey. Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Colton Inn is well-maintained and in an attractive location. Our room was on the top floor, and, although there was no evidence of it, the room smelled like there might have been some water damage; there was a slight musty/mildew odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela26.2
San Francisco, CA
May 2, 2011

Cute place, great location

I spent the weekend in Monterey to run the Big Sur marathon. The Colton Inn was very easy to find, only a few minutes off RT 1. The desk attendant was very cheerful and asked if I was there to run. The room was big and clean, and included a mini fridge, microwave, big flat screen tv, dvd player, and fireplace (which I unfortunately did not get a chance to use). The Inn is in a great location, a 15 minute walk to the beach. I will stay here again next time I'm in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela26.2
San Francisco, CA
May 2, 2011

Cute place, great location

I spent the weekend in Monterey to run the Big Sur marathon. The Colton Inn was very easy to find, only a few minutes off RT 1. The desk attendant was very cheerful and asked if I was there to run. The room was big and clean, and included a mini fridge, microwave, big flat screen tv, dvd player, and fireplace (which I unfortunately did not get a chance to use). The Inn is in a great location, a 15 minute walk to the beach. I will stay here again next time I'm in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Great except for the bed

The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was beautiful, with down comforters and duvet covers. There was a large screen TV with combination DVD/VCR and the office keeps a huge supply of titles for you to check out for free. There are fireplaces in the rooms (although ours didn't face the bed, so we didn't get to enjoy the beauty or ambience) and microwaves and small refrigerators. In short it was everything you could hope for, except we will never return because the bed was as hard as a rock to sleep on and they did not have any mattress pad to put on it. Some people like really hard beds, but a hard bed tortures my shoulders, back and hips. I need a pillow top mattress, or at least an egg crate on top to really sleep. If it weren't for the hard bed, I would definitely go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Great except for the bed

The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was beautiful, with down comforters and duvet covers. There was a large screen TV with combination DVD/VCR and the office keeps a huge supply of titles for you to check out for free. There are fireplaces in the rooms (although ours didn't face the bed, so we didn't get to enjoy the beauty or ambience) and microwaves and small refrigerators. In short it was everything you could hope for, except we will never return because the bed was as hard as a rock to sleep on and they did not have any mattress pad to put on it. Some people like really hard beds, but a hard bed tortures my shoulders, back and hips. I need a pillow top mattress, or at least an egg crate on top to really sleep. If it weren't for the hard bed, I would definitely go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno,CA
Mar 13, 2011

Lovely

The Colton Inn was very lovely. The room was comfortable and the fireplace was quite nice. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno,CA
Mar 13, 2011

Lovely

The Colton Inn was very lovely. The room was comfortable and the fireplace was quite nice. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Great place for the weekend!

The Inn was very clean and nicely decorated. It is a great Inn if you are traveling into Monterey or vicinity for the weekend. The office staff was very courteous and helpful. For example, my friend and I returned from an outing and tried to use our room card to get in. We tried three times to slide the card thru the magnetic door slot, but it didn't work. The office was already closed, however we rang the doorbell next to the office door, and a office staff member was able to assist us and give us a new key card w/o incident. They also serve a continental breakfast that had an assortment of foods. One drawback was that there was no indoor seating area for the continental breakfast, only an outdoor patio. We opted to bring the food to our room as it was too cold to eat outside. I would stay again as it was a nice and clean Inn with an affordable rate. It served our purpose for a place to spend the night for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Great place for the weekend!

The Inn was very clean and nicely decorated. It is a great Inn if you are traveling into Monterey or vicinity for the weekend. The office staff was very courteous and helpful. For example, my friend and I returned from an outing and tried to use our room card to get in. We tried three times to slide the card thru the magnetic door slot, but it didn't work. The office was already closed, however we rang the doorbell next to the office door, and a office staff member was able to assist us and give us a new key card w/o incident. They also serve a continental breakfast that had an assortment of foods. One drawback was that there was no indoor seating area for the continental breakfast, only an outdoor patio. We opted to bring the food to our room as it was too cold to eat outside. I would stay again as it was a nice and clean Inn with an affordable rate. It served our purpose for a place to spend the night for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top