$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Location and Nice Place

Nice room, no A/C, but cool at night in 50s. Stayed 3 nights July 14-16. The Inn was right next to Monterey Library so useful for free Internet. There was a Trader Joe's a block await to get good food. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was great --cereal, fruit, OJ, grain muffins, yogurt. Fresh cookies put out in afternoon. Highly recommended. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Library

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DS mommy
Business
Mountain View, Ca
Jul 19, 2011

Nice small-business service

We were pleased to have a king-size bed, fireplace, fridge, microwave, dvd player and jets in the tub. The desk staff was very pleasant and friendly. They made recommendations for movies to borrow and for local restaurants. The coffee in the lobby was very good and available most of the time. The continental breakfast was varied and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's warf has many restaurants competing for your business. You could fill up on chowder samples alone!

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Jul 6, 2011

look for better next time

Free DVD, with over 300 to choice from. We had asked for a fireplace, did not get one but we weren't to unhappy about that. The bed was comfortable, the area was idea for walking and touring the town and close to shops. Only one wash-cloth, so we shared that. The shower was not that great, very poor in fact. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
moorpark ca
Jun 28, 2011

Hidden pleasure

Older hotel but great customer service and spacious rooms. Very friendly staff and a pretty nice continental breakfast. I would highly recommended. I also traveled with children and they enjoyed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 20, 2011

Great little place to stay!!!

Nice, Simple, Comfortable. Great place to stay if you want to rest!!! We will be staying here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Jun 11, 2011

Colton Inn - not bad

The Colton Inn located on Pacific in Monterey is walking distance from downtown and many shops and restaurants. It is a small family oriented hotel, the staff is very pleasant. When we got there, someone had turned the heater on to a stuffy 85 and it was pretty unbearable to sleep in until we opened the door for a while. The sliding door opened up to a semi-private deck with the view of a small creek below - which offered us the sounds of birds chirping throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, if out-dated and the beds were not as comfortable as I would have wanted, but they were better than most hotel beds. They have a fairly large library of free DVD movies which can be loaned out with a good range of family appropriate movies. (We ate a Bubba Gump's Shrimp Company and ended the day with watching Forrest Gump from the hotel). The breakfast could have been better. The selection was fine, but the bagels were not as fresh as they should have been, and the pastries, seems like the supermarket type. All-in-all, an inexpensive family hotel which is fairly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Katie Stevens

The gentleman at the front desk was most helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room was in perfect condition and our overnight was a delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FloorMann
Business
Vacaville, CA
May 31, 2011

Over rated

Rooms were clean, bed was extea firm. [...] requested our room on the back side away from street. Our room was on the side overlooking the parking lot, asked to change to the rear upon check-in. [...] Walked to fishermans warf but would not do it at night. I will try another location if returning to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Drive at night, parking at least $10.00-$20.00

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2011

Good central downtown Monterey location

Mainly sightseeing--we walked to the Wharf and around downtown and the historical sections of Monterey. Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Colton Inn is well-maintained and in an attractive location. Our room was on the top floor, and, although there was no evidence of it, the room smelled like there might have been some water damage; there was a slight musty/mildew odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela26.2
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 2, 2011

Cute place, great location

I spent the weekend in Monterey to run the Big Sur marathon. The Colton Inn was very easy to find, only a few minutes off RT 1. The desk attendant was very cheerful and asked if I was there to run. The room was big and clean, and included a mini fridge, microwave, big flat screen tv, dvd player, and fireplace (which I unfortunately did not get a chance to use). The Inn is in a great location, a 15 minute walk to the beach. I will stay here again next time I'm in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top