$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
199 reviews
Great weekend escape

Great place to stay. Very clean, staff was very friendly and had good recommendations for area... See full review

  • Yony and Wendy
  • Jun 10, 2014
amazing!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a romantic getaway. Close enough to the... See full review

  • cupcake and muffin
  • Apr 30, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 20, 2011

Great little place to stay!!!

Nice, Simple, Comfortable. Great place to stay if you want to rest!!! We will be staying here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern California
Jun 11, 2011

Colton Inn - not bad

The Colton Inn located on Pacific in Monterey is walking distance from downtown and many shops and restaurants. It is a small family oriented hotel, the staff is very pleasant. When we got there, someone had turned the heater on to a stuffy 85 and it was pretty unbearable to sleep in until we opened the door for a while. The sliding door opened up to a semi-private deck with the view of a small creek below - which offered us the sounds of birds chirping throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, if out-dated and the beds were not as comfortable as I would have wanted, but they were better than most hotel beds. They have a fairly large library of free DVD movies which can be loaned out with a good range of family appropriate movies. (We ate a Bubba Gump's Shrimp Company and ended the day with watching Forrest Gump from the hotel). The breakfast could have been better. The selection was fine, but the bagels were not as fresh as they should have been, and the pastries, seems like the supermarket type. All-in-all, an inexpensive family hotel which is fairly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern California
Jun 11, 2011

Colton Inn - not bad

The Colton Inn located on Pacific in Monterey is walking distance from downtown and many shops and restaurants. It is a small family oriented hotel, the staff is very pleasant. When we got there, someone had turned the heater on to a stuffy 85 and it was pretty unbearable to sleep in until we opened the door for a while. The sliding door opened up to a semi-private deck with the view of a small creek below - which offered us the sounds of birds chirping throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, if out-dated and the beds were not as comfortable as I would have wanted, but they were better than most hotel beds. They have a fairly large library of free DVD movies which can be loaned out with a good range of family appropriate movies. (We ate a Bubba Gump's Shrimp Company and ended the day with watching Forrest Gump from the hotel). The breakfast could have been better. The selection was fine, but the bagels were not as fresh as they should have been, and the pastries, seems like the supermarket type. All-in-all, an inexpensive family hotel which is fairly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlingame, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Katie Stevens

The gentleman at the front desk was most helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room was in perfect condition and our overnight was a delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlingame, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Katie Stevens

The gentleman at the front desk was most helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room was in perfect condition and our overnight was a delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FloorMann
Vacaville, CA
May 31, 2011

Over rated

Rooms were clean, bed was extea firm. [...] requested our room on the back side away from street. Our room was on the side overlooking the parking lot, asked to change to the rear upon check-in. [...] Walked to fishermans warf but would not do it at night. I will try another location if returning to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Drive at night, parking at least $10.00-$20.00

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FloorMann
Vacaville, CA
May 31, 2011

Over rated

Rooms were clean, bed was extea firm. [...] requested our room on the back side away from street. Our room was on the side overlooking the parking lot, asked to change to the rear upon check-in. [...] Walked to fishermans warf but would not do it at night. I will try another location if returning to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Drive at night, parking at least $10.00-$20.00

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2011

Good central downtown Monterey location

Mainly sightseeing--we walked to the Wharf and around downtown and the historical sections of Monterey. Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Colton Inn is well-maintained and in an attractive location. Our room was on the top floor, and, although there was no evidence of it, the room smelled like there might have been some water damage; there was a slight musty/mildew odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2011

Good central downtown Monterey location

Mainly sightseeing--we walked to the Wharf and around downtown and the historical sections of Monterey. Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Colton Inn is well-maintained and in an attractive location. Our room was on the top floor, and, although there was no evidence of it, the room smelled like there might have been some water damage; there was a slight musty/mildew odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela26.2
San Francisco, CA
May 2, 2011

Cute place, great location

I spent the weekend in Monterey to run the Big Sur marathon. The Colton Inn was very easy to find, only a few minutes off RT 1. The desk attendant was very cheerful and asked if I was there to run. The room was big and clean, and included a mini fridge, microwave, big flat screen tv, dvd player, and fireplace (which I unfortunately did not get a chance to use). The Inn is in a great location, a 15 minute walk to the beach. I will stay here again next time I'm in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top