$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
202 reviews
Great weekend escape

Great place to stay. Very clean, staff was very friendly and had good recommendations for area... See full review

  • Yony and Wendy
  • Jun 10, 2014
amazing!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a romantic getaway. Close enough to the... See full review

  • cupcake and muffin
  • Apr 30, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeejayTraveler
Fresno, CA
Sep 22, 2012

Good Location - Good Value

Hotel is in a good location near downtown Monterey. Large room with a useable layout. It's hard to find decently valued lodging in Monterey, but the Colton offers good value. We would go back to the Colton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monin
Napa, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Great Hotel

The front desk staff was great, loved the continental breakfast, The location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassiesMom
Arcata, CA
Jul 23, 2011

If it's the only thing available

This is an old funky facility with some upgrades. The location is close enough to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row that walking is an option. The floor joist squeaked above my room when the second floor guest walked across their floor. The bed, pillows and bedding were comfortable but the cover was stained. The room felt cramped and dark. The low flow shower head left me feeling like I didn't get all the shampoo out of my hair. The height of the shower head was low and I'm average height. The reviews I read said the rooms were clean but there was hair on the bathroom floor and the carpet looked like it needed to be vacuumed. There's no pool at this hotel. The staff was friendly enough and I was told that I stayed during one of the busy week/weekend in Monterey. I guess I should feel lucky I got a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free trolley to save some of your walking between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Take the 45 minute long scenic trolley to view the sites and rest your feet if you're doing a lot of walking.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassiesMom
Arcata, CA
Jul 23, 2011

If it's the only thing available

This is an old funky facility with some upgrades. The location is close enough to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row that walking is an option. The floor joist squeaked above my room when the second floor guest walked across their floor. The bed, pillows and bedding were comfortable but the cover was stained. The room felt cramped and dark. The low flow shower head left me feeling like I didn't get all the shampoo out of my hair. The height of the shower head was low and I'm average height. The reviews I read said the rooms were clean but there was hair on the bathroom floor and the carpet looked like it needed to be vacuumed. There's no pool at this hotel. The staff was friendly enough and I was told that I stayed during one of the busy week/weekend in Monterey. I guess I should feel lucky I got a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free trolley to save some of your walking between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Take the 45 minute long scenic trolley to view the sites and rest your feet if you're doing a lot of walking.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Location and Nice Place

Nice room, no A/C, but cool at night in 50s. Stayed 3 nights July 14-16. The Inn was right next to Monterey Library so useful for free Internet. There was a Trader Joe's a block await to get good food. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was great --cereal, fruit, OJ, grain muffins, yogurt. Fresh cookies put out in afternoon. Highly recommended. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Library

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Location and Nice Place

Nice room, no A/C, but cool at night in 50s. Stayed 3 nights July 14-16. The Inn was right next to Monterey Library so useful for free Internet. There was a Trader Joe's a block await to get good food. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was great --cereal, fruit, OJ, grain muffins, yogurt. Fresh cookies put out in afternoon. Highly recommended. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Library

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DS mommy
Mountain View, Ca
Jul 19, 2011

Nice small-business service

We were pleased to have a king-size bed, fireplace, fridge, microwave, dvd player and jets in the tub. The desk staff was very pleasant and friendly. They made recommendations for movies to borrow and for local restaurants. The coffee in the lobby was very good and available most of the time. The continental breakfast was varied and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's warf has many restaurants competing for your business. You could fill up on chowder samples alone!

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DS mommy
Mountain View, Ca
Jul 19, 2011

Nice small-business service

We were pleased to have a king-size bed, fireplace, fridge, microwave, dvd player and jets in the tub. The desk staff was very pleasant and friendly. They made recommendations for movies to borrow and for local restaurants. The coffee in the lobby was very good and available most of the time. The continental breakfast was varied and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's warf has many restaurants competing for your business. You could fill up on chowder samples alone!

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose
Jul 6, 2011

look for better next time

Free DVD, with over 300 to choice from. We had asked for a fireplace, did not get one but we weren't to unhappy about that. The bed was comfortable, the area was idea for walking and touring the town and close to shops. Only one wash-cloth, so we shared that. The shower was not that great, very poor in fact. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose
Jul 6, 2011

look for better next time

Free DVD, with over 300 to choice from. We had asked for a fireplace, did not get one but we weren't to unhappy about that. The bed was comfortable, the area was idea for walking and touring the town and close to shops. Only one wash-cloth, so we shared that. The shower was not that great, very poor in fact. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jul 1, 2011

Nice Location, Clean room

This hotel was in a great location, just a few minutes from the beach. The hotel was very clean. The sheets were very soft and the bed spread were feather bed spreads. They gave us free movie rentals. We also got free breakfast, which was quite good. The only complaint I have was that we found three spiders in our room during our stay. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top