$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgeter
SoCal
Aug 15, 2012

great stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Colton and will surely return. The location is quiet and near town. Our room was simple and clean if not glamorous. Ask for a kitchenette if needed because not all rooms are equipped as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
randell and atena
Business
san luis obspo
Mar 27, 2012

Great for family very quiet.

the experence was great people were very nice and conciderate. i would go back again but get the hot tub room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to cannery row it's short and fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asterix3000
Business
Louisiana, USA
Mar 15, 2012

great affordable stop near downtwon

I had a late arrival after office hours and they had my keys at the door. No troubles. The rooms are a bit old requiring some maintenance. Breakfast is inside the office and you need to go either outside to the deck or to your room to eat. Walking distance to downtown and plenty of parking. Overall, very good return on what you pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Selling through life
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 29, 2012

Quiet in Monterey

Check in was easy - access to hotel was simple. Location was great for me as it was just far enough from downtown to be quite and close enough to get where I wanted to be in minutes. I would recommend the Colton Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1324
Business
Redwood City, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Just okay.

The check-in girl was as personable as a doorknob, but the room worked okay for us. However, there are some maintenance items that need attention like our door did not latch without a pull and a cold draft came through all night. It was nice that they loaned dvds, but the TV was old and had a poor quality picture. Continental breakfast was just okay. The floor above us squeaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the menus outside before entering the establishment to see if they have the kind of food you like and the cost is in your price range.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Empty Nester plus Wife
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Very good for the price

Colton Inn is up to expectation. For the price we paid, we couldn't really ask for more. Although the location is not exotic like it's right by the beach, it is very convenient. We really like the windows facing the trees that make you forget you're sitting on a main street. The fireplace is a nice touch. It is an upgrade from your very basic Motel 6-like inns and a step down from your beach-front fancier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a pleasant surprise when we found out about the farmer's market on Tuesdays. They sold more than just produce. There were many booths that sold different merchandise and food. We've found some very unique stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mariannem
Business
Pleasanton, CA, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Quick Get Away

Nice location. Able to walk to town and to see sights. Room was nice. Had a fireplace and was really quiet. Missed having coffee in room in the morning and office did not open until 7:00am so we missed out on the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crown Pub was very resonalbe and had excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bird Watcher
Business
Georgia
Sep 26, 2011

Beautiful patio

Nice patio to have a relaxing breakfast. Enjoyed watching the birds .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Illak
Business
Reykjavik, Iceland
Aug 18, 2011

Good decent hotel, good value

Ordered online with 3 hour notice. Booking came through immediatly. Nice clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monin
Business
Napa, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Great Hotel

The front desk staff was great, loved the continental breakfast, The location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassiesMom
Business
Arcata, CA
Jul 23, 2011

If it's the only thing available

This is an old funky facility with some upgrades. The location is close enough to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row that walking is an option. The floor joist squeaked above my room when the second floor guest walked across their floor. The bed, pillows and bedding were comfortable but the cover was stained. The room felt cramped and dark. The low flow shower head left me feeling like I didn't get all the shampoo out of my hair. The height of the shower head was low and I'm average height. The reviews I read said the rooms were clean but there was hair on the bathroom floor and the carpet looked like it needed to be vacuumed. There's no pool at this hotel. The staff was friendly enough and I was told that I stayed during one of the busy week/weekend in Monterey. I guess I should feel lucky I got a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free trolley to save some of your walking between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Take the 45 minute long scenic trolley to view the sites and rest your feet if you're doing a lot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top