Colton Inn

3 stars
View map of 707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
155 reviews
My stay

The room I stayed in was super adorable. My boyfriend is in the military and came to visit me here... See full review

  • Carrie
  • Jul 8, 2015
Great Stay

It was terrific 2 day stay best ever. All the staff, from Manager to maids were tops. Breakfast's... See full review

  • Matt H.
  • Apr 29, 2015

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Policies
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

36.5952 -121.8972
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport. San Jose Airport.
Area description
Colton Inn is in the heart of downtown Monterey. Walking distance to many activities including Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, and Downtown Monterey Restaurants. The Inn is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula, a short drive to the renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Steinbeck's Cannery Row, Pebble Beach's 17-Mile Drive, and many fabulous golf courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Ben 559
Business
Fresno CA
Apr 15, 2012

Almost Perfect....

Loved the hotel. Staff was nice and helpful... I needed info on Easter brunch so they found places and got me all the info I needed. Every thing was nice the room the service everything. It was quiet and peaceful. The only issue i had is that i wish it were a little closer to Canery row and i thought we would have a fireplace but did not... No big deal. For the price It is unbeatable..... I recomend to everyone...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

the aquarium is a must but its packed and you need patience and so much to see plan a few hour stay.... well worth it...

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
randell and atena
Business
san luis obspo
Mar 27, 2012

Great for family very quiet.

the experence was great people were very nice and conciderate. i would go back again but get the hot tub room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to cannery row it's short and fun

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asterix3000
Business
Louisiana, USA
Mar 15, 2012

great affordable stop near downtwon

I had a late arrival after office hours and they had my keys at the door. No troubles. The rooms are a bit old requiring some maintenance. Breakfast is inside the office and you need to go either outside to the deck or to your room to eat. Walking distance to downtown and plenty of parking. Overall, very good return on what you pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Selling through life
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 29, 2012

Quiet in Monterey

Check in was easy - access to hotel was simple. Location was great for me as it was just far enough from downtown to be quite and close enough to get where I wanted to be in minutes. I would recommend the Colton Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1324
Business
Redwood City, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Just okay.

The check-in girl was as personable as a doorknob, but the room worked okay for us. However, there are some maintenance items that need attention like our door did not latch without a pull and a cold draft came through all night. It was nice that they loaned dvds, but the TV was old and had a poor quality picture. Continental breakfast was just okay. The floor above us squeaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the menus outside before entering the establishment to see if they have the kind of food you like and the cost is in your price range.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Empty Nester plus Wife
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Very good for the price

Colton Inn is up to expectation. For the price we paid, we couldn't really ask for more. Although the location is not exotic like it's right by the beach, it is very convenient. We really like the windows facing the trees that make you forget you're sitting on a main street. The fireplace is a nice touch. It is an upgrade from your very basic Motel 6-like inns and a step down from your beach-front fancier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a pleasant surprise when we found out about the farmer's market on Tuesdays. They sold more than just produce. There were many booths that sold different merchandise and food. We've found some very unique stuff.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mariannem
Business
Pleasanton, CA, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Quick Get Away

Nice location. Able to walk to town and to see sights. Room was nice. Had a fireplace and was really quiet. Missed having coffee in room in the morning and office did not open until 7:00am so we missed out on the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crown Pub was very resonalbe and had excellent food.

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bird Watcher
Business
Georgia
Sep 26, 2011

Beautiful patio

Nice patio to have a relaxing breakfast. Enjoyed watching the birds .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Illak
Business
Reykjavik, Iceland
Aug 18, 2011

Good decent hotel, good value

Ordered online with 3 hour notice. Booking came through immediatly. Nice clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monin
Business
Napa, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Great Hotel

The front desk staff was great, loved the continental breakfast, The location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top