$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Colton Inn

3 stars
707 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
152 reviews
Labor Day Getaway

The Hotel was handsome and neatly manicured. Upon entry into the room we were pleasantly surprised,... See full review

  • Just Jerry
  • Sep 2, 2014
great location, very friendly, caring staff

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Considering that the inn was almost full for the weekend,... See full review

  • Allan N
  • Aug 3, 2014
Monterey inn offers spacious rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, the Colton Inn is surrounded by historic adobe structures and lies within minutes of the top city attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Half a mile from the Colton Inn, the Monterey Conference Center is the premier convention and meeting space in the area. Spacious Colton Inn guest rooms are recently refreshed with down comforters and 400-thread-count sheets. A dry sauna, a sun deck and a gas grill are also available.

Highlights
  • Many guest rooms feature a fireplace
  • Free breakfast and afternoon snacks
  • Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf
Location

Just a few minutes from the Colton Inn, Fisherman's Wharf Monterey serves as a central hub of social activity in this bayside city. Originally built in 1870, the wharf was at the heart of the commercial fishing industry in the area for decades. Today, Fisherman's Wharf plays host to restaurants, fishing, live theater, souvenir shops and folks who just like to take in the view.

Rooms

Central Coast sunshine spills into Colton Inn guest rooms, many of which feature balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, microwave ovens or refrigerators. Choose one king or two queen-sized beds. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television, DVD/VHS players and a library of free movies are also provided. Coffee-makers available upon request.

Dining

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Enjoy complimentary afternoon snacks on the sun deck.


For dinner, numerous fantastic options lie within a few minutes of the Colton Inn. The Crown and Anchor is a Monterey favorite. The menu and the decor evoke the British Isles instead of the Central Coast of California -- try the fish and chips, or steak and mushroom pie. But with food this good, and an everyone-is-welcome attitude, The Crown and Anchor is one that cannot be missed.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.6 mi/86.3 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Monterey History and Maritime Museum (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates 30 people
Policies and fees
  • Rollaway beds and cribs are available for an additional charge each night.
  • The office closes at 11 p.m. If you are planning to arrive after 11 p.m., please make arrangements with the front desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colton Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Colton Inn Rooms

Queen/Queen
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access.DVD/VHS free movies. Coffee makers available upon request.
King
Room with one king bed desk includes desk with desk lamp, microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet access. Coffee makers available upon request, DVD/VHS player, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Colton Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1324
Business
Redwood City, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Just okay.

The check-in girl was as personable as a doorknob, but the room worked okay for us. However, there are some maintenance items that need attention like our door did not latch without a pull and a cold draft came through all night. It was nice that they loaned dvds, but the TV was old and had a poor quality picture. Continental breakfast was just okay. The floor above us squeaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the menus outside before entering the establishment to see if they have the kind of food you like and the cost is in your price range.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Empty Nester plus Wife
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Very good for the price

Colton Inn is up to expectation. For the price we paid, we couldn't really ask for more. Although the location is not exotic like it's right by the beach, it is very convenient. We really like the windows facing the trees that make you forget you're sitting on a main street. The fireplace is a nice touch. It is an upgrade from your very basic Motel 6-like inns and a step down from your beach-front fancier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a pleasant surprise when we found out about the farmer's market on Tuesdays. They sold more than just produce. There were many booths that sold different merchandise and food. We've found some very unique stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mariannem
Business
Pleasanton, CA, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Quick Get Away

Nice location. Able to walk to town and to see sights. Room was nice. Had a fireplace and was really quiet. Missed having coffee in room in the morning and office did not open until 7:00am so we missed out on the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crown Pub was very resonalbe and had excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bird Watcher
Business
Georgia
Sep 26, 2011

Beautiful patio

Nice patio to have a relaxing breakfast. Enjoyed watching the birds .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Illak
Business
Reykjavik, Iceland
Aug 18, 2011

Good decent hotel, good value

Ordered online with 3 hour notice. Booking came through immediatly. Nice clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monin
Business
Napa, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Great Hotel

The front desk staff was great, loved the continental breakfast, The location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassiesMom
Business
Arcata, CA
Jul 23, 2011

If it's the only thing available

This is an old funky facility with some upgrades. The location is close enough to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row that walking is an option. The floor joist squeaked above my room when the second floor guest walked across their floor. The bed, pillows and bedding were comfortable but the cover was stained. The room felt cramped and dark. The low flow shower head left me feeling like I didn't get all the shampoo out of my hair. The height of the shower head was low and I'm average height. The reviews I read said the rooms were clean but there was hair on the bathroom floor and the carpet looked like it needed to be vacuumed. There's no pool at this hotel. The staff was friendly enough and I was told that I stayed during one of the busy week/weekend in Monterey. I guess I should feel lucky I got a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free trolley to save some of your walking between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Take the 45 minute long scenic trolley to view the sites and rest your feet if you're doing a lot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Good Location and Nice Place

Nice room, no A/C, but cool at night in 50s. Stayed 3 nights July 14-16. The Inn was right next to Monterey Library so useful for free Internet. There was a Trader Joe's a block await to get good food. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was great --cereal, fruit, OJ, grain muffins, yogurt. Fresh cookies put out in afternoon. Highly recommended. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Library

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DS mommy
Business
Mountain View, Ca
Jul 19, 2011

Nice small-business service

We were pleased to have a king-size bed, fireplace, fridge, microwave, dvd player and jets in the tub. The desk staff was very pleasant and friendly. They made recommendations for movies to borrow and for local restaurants. The coffee in the lobby was very good and available most of the time. The continental breakfast was varied and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman's warf has many restaurants competing for your business. You could fill up on chowder samples alone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colton Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Jul 6, 2011

look for better next time

Free DVD, with over 300 to choice from. We had asked for a fireplace, did not get one but we weren't to unhappy about that. The bed was comfortable, the area was idea for walking and touring the town and close to shops. Only one wash-cloth, so we shared that. The shower was not that great, very poor in fact. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top