$58 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Clarion Hotel Monterey

3 stars
1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Amazing Staff

I just want to acknowledge Ms. Diana, the hotel manager I think, who was beyond nice with us and... See full review

  • The best traveller
  • Jan 15, 2015
couple

great experience a little geteway close to home. I would recommend for couples and families alike i... See full review

  • helfert13
  • Dec 29, 2014
Affordable accommodation with lodge-like pool and Jacuzzi in Monterey
The affordable Clarion Hotel Monterey offers clean, contemporary guest rooms and thoughtful touches to make any stay special. All accommodations feature microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee and free high-speed Internet access. A heated indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are situated in an atrium room with an exposed wood beam ceiling reminiscent of a rustic lodge. Clarion Hotel Monterey guests take advantage of a deluxe continental breakfast with hot Belgian waffles. Some suites feature a kitchen, fireplace or Jacuzzi.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor pool and private sauna
  • Some rooms feature balconies with ocean views
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Fireplace and kitchenette suites available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
A range of room options at the Clarion Hotel Monterey lets guests choose the atmosphere best suited to their visit. Standard rooms feature warm neutral tones and contemporary details such as dark woods and sleek easy chairs. All accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryers and iron/ironing boards.
 
Couples at the Clarion Hotel Monterey especially enjoy the warmth of a fireplace guest room. A luxurious special occasion suite features a four-poster bed decorated with the soft fabrics and rich colors of a fairy-tale romance. Jacuzzi rooms and family-friendly kitchenette suites also are available.
Features
Start each day with free deluxe continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. A fitness center also is available at the Clarion Hotel Monterey.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Highway 1 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday copy of The Wall Street Journal
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 20 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Monterey

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 118
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MacLac
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Pleasant birthday weekend

I had been looking for a hotel to spend a nice birthday weekend in the Monterey, CA area and this hotel turned out to fit the bill very nicely. Given the post holiday January time of year the rates were very reasonable for the quality of room provided. It had all of the amenities that I was looking for including a refrigerator/microwave, although the later didn't get much use since there many excellent restaurants in this area. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was well maintained. The hotel is located within reasonable walking distance of most of the downtown sites and within an easy commute to Carmel. Overall it is an excellent hotel for a winter getaway to this area of California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting the sites
Business
Monterey, CA
Nov 11, 2014

Sketchy at best

I arrived late and was tired, but noticed a foul odor at the head of the bed. The next morning I did not dare look under the bed to see what it might be-- I reported it yo the front desk. When I returned the odor was gone. I asked that they not share what was found...it smelled like a dirty diaper or a decomposing mouse. I usually invite friends up to my room, but this time I was embarrassed by the accommodations. Other than the initial odor, the room was clean just old and worn. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great Vietnamese restaurant called"Chopstix". Excellent food, affordable, I ate there twice it was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN Kate
Business
Huntersville, NC
Aug 2, 2014

Terrific lodging

Good breakfast, clean and comfortable room, close to Presidio and Naval Postgraduate School.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Del Monte Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekday golfer
Business
Granite Bay, CA
Aug 2, 2014

Got what I paid for

Needed a place to stay for one night on a guys golf trip. Selected this place based on reasonable price. Was not disappointed. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Room was clean and well furnished. Felt I received value for what I paid. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter1980
Business
Bergen, Norway
Jun 23, 2014

Good value for the money

Good 3 star hotel! Good location, good value for your money and amenities as described.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Major attractions are 5 minutes away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
winged lady
Business
El Segundo, Ca.
Jul 15, 2013

one nite stay

The room was large , on 2nd floor w/no elevator old carpet with stains....But bed was comfortable and staff was very helpful....since I was just passing thru for one night it was more than adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

no close by dining or entertainment venues......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA Stu
Business
Torrance, CA, USA
May 21, 2012

Clarion Montery

I didn't expect much and got less. I did not plan on spending a lot of time in the room and was not disappointed. The room was probably clean but the lighting was so bad that I could not tell you that for sure. The continental breakfast was ok but there was no place to sit with my food. Overall I doubt that I would stay at a Clrion again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Divemaster Dan
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Good Value

All-in-all a good value for short stays in Monterey. Close to the Coast Guard Jetty and Fishermans' Warf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D. M.-H.
Business
Windsor, Connecticut
May 18, 2011

Below Standard Accomodations

I flew to CA to meet with my daughter that had been working in LA during Fashion Week. We were going to enjoy some "mother/daughter time" together after a very exciting experience for her. After checking in to the Clarion I found the room and attached bathroom to be very small with an odd/wet/somewhat musty odor. Although housekeeping seemed to have cleaned the room well, something quickly caused my allergies to flare up! The pictures on the website were very misleading, the room and lobby decor is dated. Some of the furniture in the room was mis-matched... I checked-out of the hotel 30 minutes after checking in; after paying for a one-night stay as a late cancellation fee. After 16 hours of travel I was exhausted, but needed to feel comfortable in a hotel room that I and my daughter were to occupy for 6 nights. I rushed to tour a seemingly upscale hotel minutes up the road and was relieved to find accommodations and appointments of which I and my family are accustomed during travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScubaSkier
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 30, 2011

cute, clean hotel

I was down in Montrery for a scuba trip and needed a relatively inexpensive standard hotel with breakfast and parking. The room had an efficient use of the smal space (bathroom not big enoug for all my scuba equipment but what hotel bathroom is large enough). Standard queen room is big enough for 1-2, but really 3, unles third is a small child. One strange thing though, when some was entering the room next to me, it sounded like they were opening mine.. anyways, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The mall is fairly close with plenty of dining, such as Pizza My Heart, Lalla Grill, and Chipotle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top