$58 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Clarion Hotel Monterey

3 stars
View map of 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Amazing Staff

I just want to acknowledge Ms. Diana, the hotel manager I think, who was beyond nice with us and... See full review

  • The best traveller
  • Jan 15, 2015
couple

great experience a little geteway close to home. I would recommend for couples and families alike i... See full review

  • helfert13
  • Dec 29, 2014
Affordable accommodation with lodge-like pool and Jacuzzi in Monterey
The affordable Clarion Hotel Monterey offers clean, contemporary guest rooms and thoughtful touches to make any stay special. All accommodations feature microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee and free high-speed Internet access. A heated indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are situated in an atrium room with an exposed wood beam ceiling reminiscent of a rustic lodge. Clarion Hotel Monterey guests take advantage of a deluxe continental breakfast with hot Belgian waffles. Some suites feature a kitchen, fireplace or Jacuzzi.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor pool and private sauna
  • Some rooms feature balconies with ocean views
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Fireplace and kitchenette suites available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
A range of room options at the Clarion Hotel Monterey lets guests choose the atmosphere best suited to their visit. Standard rooms feature warm neutral tones and contemporary details such as dark woods and sleek easy chairs. All accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryers and iron/ironing boards.
 
Couples at the Clarion Hotel Monterey especially enjoy the warmth of a fireplace guest room. A luxurious special occasion suite features a four-poster bed decorated with the soft fabrics and rich colors of a fairy-tale romance. Jacuzzi rooms and family-friendly kitchenette suites also are available.
Features
Start each day with free deluxe continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. A fitness center also is available at the Clarion Hotel Monterey.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Highway 1 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday copy of The Wall Street Journal
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 20 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Monterey

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 10, 2009

sewage leak under the bathroom tiles

Well, we;re leaving today because of the hugh leak under the bath tile between the tub and the toilet. Or, you tell me why there is always a puddle of "water" in that location on tiles. I want to go home and wash with Lysol. I'll NEVER come back. I'll tell someone, but everyone I've met that works at the hotel only speaks Spanish and I only speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PASSIONFISH -the absolutely, positively BEST restaurant and worth the drive from San Francisco. Fabulous wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dogboy
Business
colorado springs, co
Oct 6, 2009

Clarion Monterey

The power went out for 2 1/2 hours about 8:00 pm and no one came to contact us to see if we were safe or required any emergency lights or power. My husband is a firefighter and felt this was a HUGE breach of safety protocol. Also rooms were beat up and the kitchen had 1 bowl, no forks etc. I would not recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The sheik
Business
So Cal
Jul 29, 2009

Not good

I was given a handicap room, I did not request this from orbitz nor did they make this clear. Although the room was paid for, the location asked for a credit card as insurance that I would not smoke in a non-smoking room or damage/steal their property. This was ridiculous. I am of a certain ethnic group and I watched other people check in and they were not asked to leave their credit card number for that purpose. This was a terrible experience. I am not happy with the way orbitz handle this situation and I am sorry that I used orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
B.C. Canada
Jul 26, 2009

Old/Badly Maintained but good location

Location was great, so easy to get to local attractions. The staff were friendly but somewhat inexperienced and the manager/owner was inaccessible and unavailable, even to his staff who indicated he has no routine and comes and goes without any way to reach him...odd. Room was very small and had very bad musty/mouldy smell, although it was painted and reasonable. Many details show a general lack of qualified maintenance. Staff trying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D. M.-H.
Business
Windsor, Connecticut
May 18, 2011

Below Standard Accomodations

I flew to CA to meet with my daughter that had been working in LA during Fashion Week. We were going to enjoy some "mother/daughter time" together after a very exciting experience for her. After checking in to the Clarion I found the room and attached bathroom to be very small with an odd/wet/somewhat musty odor. Although housekeeping seemed to have cleaned the room well, something quickly caused my allergies to flare up! The pictures on the website were very misleading, the room and lobby decor is dated. Some of the furniture in the room was mis-matched... I checked-out of the hotel 30 minutes after checking in; after paying for a one-night stay as a late cancellation fee. After 16 hours of travel I was exhausted, but needed to feel comfortable in a hotel room that I and my daughter were to occupy for 6 nights. I rushed to tour a seemingly upscale hotel minutes up the road and was relieved to find accommodations and appointments of which I and my family are accustomed during travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Batra
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 4, 2011

Hotel with no shower in room

I rarely write bad reviews but this time it was most frustrating and worst vacation ever; we spent whole day on sand beaches and when we wanted to have shower was not working; It didn't seem to be a temporary issue as shower was rusty and there wasn't enough pressure for shower to work at all; I am 100% sure that room was never inspected before assignment, we confirmed the arrival almost around 10 hours in advance. It wasn't the end of story, we did complained about it but maintenance people were not available; If you don't like to have bath every day, this may be your hotel else stay away from this hotel and go find a better one or even a 2-star hotel would be much better than it instead;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MonsterEarthquake
Business
Vallejo, CA
Aug 27, 2010

Glorified Motel

Old and ugly. Very expensive for what they offer. A glorified motel. Rooms had a strong smell when we walked in, are super dark, decoration is way outdated. One of the reasons we went here was because they had a sauna, but it wasn't working. We asked for a cancellation, you know the rest. Might as well stay in Seaside, for this price you get a much better place or something like this for 1/2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doretta1
Business
Fresno
Sep 1, 2014

not what I expected

We arrived later in the evenong. The clerk was nice. Checked into our room and our fire alarm kept beeping. We called down to front desk and he said he would have to move us to another room when all it needed was a new battery. It was 11:00 at night and we were tired but we could not sleep with the constant beeping, so we moved. The new room did not have the fireplace that we had asked for but at least we got a Kingsize bed. The bed however was so sunken on the left side I could have slid right off:( There was a skylight which made it impossible to sleep.in which was also a bit bothersome. The continental breakfast was very poor, not much variety at all and the hot items were all cold. I would not have been so bothered if I had paid $89 per night but they said this was the best rate at $199 per nite. The day after we checked in we had an email from another site offering this exact room for $89. We felt very frustrated. I would not recommend this hotel as a 3 star hotel whatsoever! 1 star is definitely more.like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA Stu
Business
Torrance, CA, USA
May 21, 2012

Clarion Montery

I didn't expect much and got less. I did not plan on spending a lot of time in the room and was not disappointed. The room was probably clean but the lighting was so bad that I could not tell you that for sure. The continental breakfast was ok but there was no place to sit with my food. Overall I doubt that I would stay at a Clrion again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 24, 2012

Shabby and in desperate need for renovation

This hotel was a disaster. Rooms are dark and tiny. Walls are scratched and spotted. Bathrooms are tiny. We had to pay extra to upgrade to a bigger room to survive a night there. Neither room was properly cleaned. Fridge was dirty inside. There was a lipstick under one of the night stands. Worst of all was their complimentary breakfast. The cafeteria (aka Fireside room) is super small with 4 tables inside and 2 small tables outside. The food was rather sub-par. And guests had to clean the tables after themselves cleaning off the plates and piling them in front of the fireplace. This is something I would expect for $40 a night, but definitely not for $135. I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top