$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Clarion Hotel Monterey

3 stars
1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
104 reviews
Terrific lodging

Good breakfast, clean and comfortable room, close to Presidio and Naval Postgraduate School. See full review

  • RN Kate
  • Aug 2, 2014
Awesome friends getaway

We travel from San Francisco to celebrate our friends' birthdays. We had a lovely stay in this... See full review

  • Sunflowers2014
  • Jun 11, 2014
Affordable accommodation with lodge-like pool and Jacuzzi in Monterey
The affordable Clarion Hotel Monterey offers clean, contemporary guest rooms and thoughtful touches to make any stay special. All accommodations feature microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee and free high-speed Internet access. A heated indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are situated in an atrium room with an exposed wood beam ceiling reminiscent of a rustic lodge. Clarion Hotel Monterey guests take advantage of a deluxe continental breakfast with hot Belgian waffles. Some suites feature a kitchen, fireplace or Jacuzzi.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor pool and private sauna
  • Some rooms feature balconies with ocean views
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Fireplace and kitchenette suites available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
A range of room options at the Clarion Hotel Monterey lets guests choose the atmosphere best suited to their visit. Standard rooms feature warm neutral tones and contemporary details such as dark woods and sleek easy chairs. All accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryers and iron/ironing boards.
 
Couples at the Clarion Hotel Monterey especially enjoy the warmth of a fireplace guest room. A luxurious special occasion suite features a four-poster bed decorated with the soft fabrics and rich colors of a fairy-tale romance. Jacuzzi rooms and family-friendly kitchenette suites also are available.
Features
Start each day with free deluxe continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. A fitness center also is available at the Clarion Hotel Monterey.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Highway 1 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday copy of The Wall Street Journal
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 20 people

Hotel Map

36.5912 -121.8959
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 3.00, MI, NE; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 80.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 150.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Monterey

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Monterey

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Nov 30, 2009

A way above average "cheap motel"

Nice clean motel room. Good location. A way above average "cheap motel".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MonteryCoGirlreturns
Business
lemoore
Nov 3, 2009

oh well

oh well this is a place that is over priced for what you get they promise you a belgian waffle for breakfast, its cold and then to top it off the darn person cooking for you dosent offer to make some fresh but goes and makes herself one (a full waffle) ours where quarters. This place has the worst customer service I have ever seen. The only bright spot the room was very clean. Would not advise staying here until they get better employees and lower their prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old fishermans grotto is da bomb great food homemade clam chowder bread to die for and fresh fish and chips, all there food is great. I grew up here and it hasn't changed in 46 yrs. awesome resturant still.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Oct 21, 2009

nice for the price if you like tiny room

the room was too small but it was in a good location an d the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

within walking distance of the old fishermans wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area
Oct 17, 2009

Clarion Monterey

I went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Point Lobos. The hotel is conveniently located. It was nice and clean. It has a nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dogboy
Business
colorado springs, co
Oct 6, 2009

Clarion Monterey

The power went out for 2 1/2 hours about 8:00 pm and no one came to contact us to see if we were safe or required any emergency lights or power. My husband is a firefighter and felt this was a HUGE breach of safety protocol. Also rooms were beat up and the kitchen had 1 bowl, no forks etc. I would not recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millbrae, CA
Oct 2, 2009

Decent for the price

Very small room; fairly clean, but the carpet could use a good shampooing. Some noise from the upstairs neighbors, but overall pretty quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 10, 2009

sewage leak under the bathroom tiles

Well, we;re leaving today because of the hugh leak under the bath tile between the tub and the toilet. Or, you tell me why there is always a puddle of "water" in that location on tiles. I want to go home and wash with Lysol. I'll NEVER come back. I'll tell someone, but everyone I've met that works at the hotel only speaks Spanish and I only speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PASSIONFISH -the absolutely, positively BEST restaurant and worth the drive from San Francisco. Fabulous wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oldguey
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 8, 2009

Hidden treasure

We travel to professional meetings regularly. The Clarion was about six blocks from the College where we had meetings, and about a mile from Fisherman's Wharf and the beach. I was in middle management at one of Hilton's largest hotels where cleanliness and service were priority 1. The Clarion matched all my expectations from a hotel. The refurbished rooms are very clean and cared for. The indoor pool and Sauna a nice addition. The continental breakfast better than any of the more expensive hotels, and I didn't have to go to the lobby to work on the Internet. The addition of potted flowers all around outside gave it a European feel. The place was packed every night we stayed there with large families, yet was quiet by ten. Well-run and worth more than the inexpensive price. This gem will be on our return list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf (dining, whale watch trips), Cannery Row & Del Monte Shopping Center (shopping), Pacific beach (chilling), city park & children's play area (fantastic), history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJMacy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Weekend Getaway

Location is great. Grounds are well maintained. The continental breakfast had an nice variety to choose from. The room was a perfect fit for our family of four. It was like having two seperate rooms in one. There was a family above us who were rather vocal, but we kind of expect to hear others in a hotel. We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coastal travelers
Business
pasadena ca
Aug 3, 2009

Clarion Hotel Monterey

We just stopped on our way through town. The location was great, the rooms were clean, and both of them had fireplaces, which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top