$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Clarion Hotel Monterey

3 stars
View map of 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Monterey

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janna Lawson
Business
Texas
Nov 17, 2014

Great place.

The hotel was clean and orderly, the staff was super nice and we had an overall pleasant experience there. Not that I would ever assume that anyone would steal, but I accidentally left a wad of cash on the nightstand, and it went untouched, accidentally proving the staff to be trustworthy. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting the sites
Business
Monterey, CA
Nov 11, 2014

Sketchy at best

I arrived late and was tired, but noticed a foul odor at the head of the bed. The next morning I did not dare look under the bed to see what it might be-- I reported it yo the front desk. When I returned the odor was gone. I asked that they not share what was found...it smelled like a dirty diaper or a decomposing mouse. I usually invite friends up to my room, but this time I was embarrassed by the accommodations. Other than the initial odor, the room was clean just old and worn. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great Vietnamese restaurant called"Chopstix". Excellent food, affordable, I ate there twice it was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JMDM
Business
San Jose
Sep 22, 2014

Short Trip Destination

The room was smaller than anticipated. The staff was friendly, but was not very helpful or knowledgeable. Our room had a coffee maker in it, but there was no creamer available. When we asked the front desk staff, we were advised to take some from the hotel next door since they were owned by the same people. For the price the overall value was not too bad. The hospitality portion of the trip was not up to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doretta1
Business
Fresno
Sep 1, 2014

not what I expected

We arrived later in the evenong. The clerk was nice. Checked into our room and our fire alarm kept beeping. We called down to front desk and he said he would have to move us to another room when all it needed was a new battery. It was 11:00 at night and we were tired but we could not sleep with the constant beeping, so we moved. The new room did not have the fireplace that we had asked for but at least we got a Kingsize bed. The bed however was so sunken on the left side I could have slid right off:( There was a skylight which made it impossible to sleep.in which was also a bit bothersome. The continental breakfast was very poor, not much variety at all and the hot items were all cold. I would not have been so bothered if I had paid $89 per night but they said this was the best rate at $199 per nite. The day after we checked in we had an email from another site offering this exact room for $89. We felt very frustrated. I would not recommend this hotel as a 3 star hotel whatsoever! 1 star is definitely more.like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaiann
Business
Emeryville, CA
Aug 25, 2014

Overpriced but fine

We paid a lot for this room ($250) and it was very basic. Most hotels in San Francisco don't cost that much.. Couldn't reach anyone at the front desk to report a beeping smoke detector...otherwise it was fine but certainly not worthy of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekday golfer
Business
Granite Bay, CA
Aug 2, 2014

Got what I paid for

Needed a place to stay for one night on a guys golf trip. Selected this place based on reasonable price. Was not disappointed. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Room was clean and well furnished. Felt I received value for what I paid. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN Kate
Business
Huntersville, NC
Aug 2, 2014

Terrific lodging

Good breakfast, clean and comfortable room, close to Presidio and Naval Postgraduate School.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Del Monte Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
middle school math teache
Business
Sacramento
Aug 2, 2014

Motel not a hotel

The room was overpriced for what we got. With the name of a Clarion hotel we expected it to be a hotel and not a motel. The wifi is free but useless because it was so slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. Reese
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2014

Quiet One Night Stop

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to all the near by activites in Monterey. The hotel was even close enough to drive to pebble beach and carmel. I would definitely come back to stay here when I visit Monterey again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evankj
Business
Sac
Jul 16, 2014

Great value

This is a nice little hotel. Service and location were great. Room was nice and clean but a little small. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top