$58 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Clarion Hotel Monterey

3 stars
View map of 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Amazing Staff

I just want to acknowledge Ms. Diana, the hotel manager I think, who was beyond nice with us and... See full review

  • The best traveller
  • Jan 15, 2015
couple

great experience a little geteway close to home. I would recommend for couples and families alike i... See full review

  • helfert13
  • Dec 29, 2014
Affordable accommodation with lodge-like pool and Jacuzzi in Monterey
The affordable Clarion Hotel Monterey offers clean, contemporary guest rooms and thoughtful touches to make any stay special. All accommodations feature microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee and free high-speed Internet access. A heated indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are situated in an atrium room with an exposed wood beam ceiling reminiscent of a rustic lodge. Clarion Hotel Monterey guests take advantage of a deluxe continental breakfast with hot Belgian waffles. Some suites feature a kitchen, fireplace or Jacuzzi.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor pool and private sauna
  • Some rooms feature balconies with ocean views
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Fireplace and kitchenette suites available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
A range of room options at the Clarion Hotel Monterey lets guests choose the atmosphere best suited to their visit. Standard rooms feature warm neutral tones and contemporary details such as dark woods and sleek easy chairs. All accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryers and iron/ironing boards.
 
Couples at the Clarion Hotel Monterey especially enjoy the warmth of a fireplace guest room. A luxurious special occasion suite features a four-poster bed decorated with the soft fabrics and rich colors of a fairy-tale romance. Jacuzzi rooms and family-friendly kitchenette suites also are available.
Features
Start each day with free deluxe continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. A fitness center also is available at the Clarion Hotel Monterey.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Highway 1 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday copy of The Wall Street Journal
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 20 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Monterey

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 30, 2014

A quick and good-enough stay for a stop over

We were at Monterey for one night, on a lay over from a full day at Big Sur to SFO. Wanted to stay for the indoor pool, which seemed nice, but there were many children playing in it, as was semi-expected; perhaps a great spot for families. The breakfast included was also a nice touch/gesture, though don't expect anything spectacular. Rooms were a little dated. Service was on-point. Shower tub had jets, which was also nice. Free parking and wifi. Really, not the nicest of 4 hotels, but for the price, a very good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Noodle Bar, about a 15 minute drive from the hotel had some good Vietnamese food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dadys girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 19, 2014

Good night sleep

Staff was great, room was spacious and clean. Centrally located next to all the good shops and eatery's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janna Lawson
Business
Texas
Nov 17, 2014

Great place.

The hotel was clean and orderly, the staff was super nice and we had an overall pleasant experience there. Not that I would ever assume that anyone would steal, but I accidentally left a wad of cash on the nightstand, and it went untouched, accidentally proving the staff to be trustworthy. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting the sites
Business
Monterey, CA
Nov 11, 2014

Sketchy at best

I arrived late and was tired, but noticed a foul odor at the head of the bed. The next morning I did not dare look under the bed to see what it might be-- I reported it yo the front desk. When I returned the odor was gone. I asked that they not share what was found...it smelled like a dirty diaper or a decomposing mouse. I usually invite friends up to my room, but this time I was embarrassed by the accommodations. Other than the initial odor, the room was clean just old and worn. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great Vietnamese restaurant called"Chopstix". Excellent food, affordable, I ate there twice it was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JMDM
Business
San Jose
Sep 22, 2014

Short Trip Destination

The room was smaller than anticipated. The staff was friendly, but was not very helpful or knowledgeable. Our room had a coffee maker in it, but there was no creamer available. When we asked the front desk staff, we were advised to take some from the hotel next door since they were owned by the same people. For the price the overall value was not too bad. The hospitality portion of the trip was not up to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doretta1
Business
Fresno
Sep 1, 2014

not what I expected

We arrived later in the evenong. The clerk was nice. Checked into our room and our fire alarm kept beeping. We called down to front desk and he said he would have to move us to another room when all it needed was a new battery. It was 11:00 at night and we were tired but we could not sleep with the constant beeping, so we moved. The new room did not have the fireplace that we had asked for but at least we got a Kingsize bed. The bed however was so sunken on the left side I could have slid right off:( There was a skylight which made it impossible to sleep.in which was also a bit bothersome. The continental breakfast was very poor, not much variety at all and the hot items were all cold. I would not have been so bothered if I had paid $89 per night but they said this was the best rate at $199 per nite. The day after we checked in we had an email from another site offering this exact room for $89. We felt very frustrated. I would not recommend this hotel as a 3 star hotel whatsoever! 1 star is definitely more.like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaiann
Business
Emeryville, CA
Aug 25, 2014

Overpriced but fine

We paid a lot for this room ($250) and it was very basic. Most hotels in San Francisco don't cost that much.. Couldn't reach anyone at the front desk to report a beeping smoke detector...otherwise it was fine but certainly not worthy of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN Kate
Business
Huntersville, NC
Aug 2, 2014

Terrific lodging

Good breakfast, clean and comfortable room, close to Presidio and Naval Postgraduate School.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Del Monte Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekday golfer
Business
Granite Bay, CA
Aug 2, 2014

Got what I paid for

Needed a place to stay for one night on a guys golf trip. Selected this place based on reasonable price. Was not disappointed. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Room was clean and well furnished. Felt I received value for what I paid. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
middle school math teache
Business
Sacramento
Aug 2, 2014

Motel not a hotel

The room was overpriced for what we got. With the name of a Clarion hotel we expected it to be a hotel and not a motel. The wifi is free but useless because it was so slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top