$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Clarion Hotel Monterey

3 stars
1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
153 reviews
Awesome friends getaway

We travel from San Francisco to celebrate our friends' birthdays. We had a lovely stay in this... See full review

  • Sunflowers2014
  • Jun 11, 2014
Birthday getaway

Clarion Hotel was fantastic! Great, comfy, and clean room! Plenty of parking, and beautifully... See full review

  • Mrs. Dixon
  • May 19, 2013
Affordable accommodation with lodge-like pool and Jacuzzi in Monterey
The affordable Clarion Hotel Monterey offers clean, contemporary guest rooms and thoughtful touches to make any stay special. All accommodations feature microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee and free high-speed Internet access. A heated indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are situated in an atrium room with an exposed wood beam ceiling reminiscent of a rustic lodge. Clarion Hotel Monterey guests take advantage of a deluxe continental breakfast with hot Belgian waffles. Some suites feature a kitchen, fireplace or Jacuzzi.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor pool and private sauna
  • Some rooms feature balconies with ocean views
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Fireplace and kitchenette suites available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
A range of room options at the Clarion Hotel Monterey lets guests choose the atmosphere best suited to their visit. Standard rooms feature warm neutral tones and contemporary details such as dark woods and sleek easy chairs. All accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryers and iron/ironing boards.
 
Couples at the Clarion Hotel Monterey especially enjoy the warmth of a fireplace guest room. A luxurious special occasion suite features a four-poster bed decorated with the soft fabrics and rich colors of a fairy-tale romance. Jacuzzi rooms and family-friendly kitchenette suites also are available.
Features
Start each day with free deluxe continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. A fitness center also is available at the Clarion Hotel Monterey.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Highway 1 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday copy of The Wall Street Journal
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 20 people

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5912 -121.8959
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 3.00, MI, NE; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 80.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 150.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Monterey

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Monterey

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dixon
Sacramento, California
May 19, 2013

Birthday getaway

Clarion Hotel was fantastic! Great, comfy, and clean room! Plenty of parking, and beautifully upkept lot. Will stay again when visiting Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evankj
Sac
Jul 16, 2014

Great value

This is a nice little hotel. Service and location were great. Room was nice and clean but a little small. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lv Rocker
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 6, 2014

Good Value, Good Place

What you get: Clean room Good location Pretty quiet Free WIFI Decent Continental Breakfast What you don't get: Generous Parking Bottom line: It's a nice place to stay. The staff was very friendly. Parking can get tight especially at night...so be prepared. It was fine when we were there and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter1980
Bergen, Norway
Jun 23, 2014

Good value for the money

Good 3 star hotel! Good location, good value for your money and amenities as described.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Major attractions are 5 minutes away from the hotel.

Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
el patron
the Bay Area ,Ca
Jun 16, 2014

Father's Day weekend

Nice hotel room with the swimming pool the kids love to swim pool the front desk people very very nice would definitely go back remember you're there to visit and not to stay at the hotel all day could use a little bit better breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunflowers2014
San francisco, california
Jun 11, 2014

Awesome friends getaway

We travel from San Francisco to celebrate our friends' birthdays. We had a lovely stay in this hotel. Everything was very clean and ready for us when we arrived. We visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium and went Whale watching. It was a gorgeous trip. Unfortunately, we had some very noisy neighbors that were running and talking very loud even after midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pgrueda
Washington, DC
Jun 10, 2014

Incredible place to enjoy the time there

The hotel was perfect for what we were looking for. Nice staff working there. Everything was very clean and organized. Amazing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tesoro
Northern California
May 27, 2014

family vacation

My 2 kids a friend and,I enjoyed our stay at this hotel a lot. I was surprised to find out that each room that we rented had 2 bedrooms which gave more privacy for all of us. I visit Monterey twice a year and I think I will stay at this hotel again. The price was great, it had a fridge, microwave, and it was close to downtown. The staff was very helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk everywhere and not only you will get lots of exercise, but save money and gas.

Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mountain Dennis
Colorado Springs, CO
Mar 17, 2014

Adequate

Location was easy to find and the room, while older was clean and ok. Breakfast was good. Staff was helpful and friendly. We stayed one night as we were traveling and it suited us well for that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacob Andrews
San Francisco
Jan 27, 2014

Perfectly fine

The location for the price is perfect. You are really close to the downtown and wharf. The hotel grounds was really nice The room was small, but it worked perfectly for my girlfriend and I. I would recommenced it, for a inexpensive option. Its worth the Money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Shauner
Clovis, CA
Jan 26, 2014

Wow!

Loved it! Thank you for your great deal, comfortable room, filling breakfast, quiet atmosphere, and convenient location. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top