$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Clarion Hotel Monterey

3 stars
1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
104 reviews
Terrific lodging

Good breakfast, clean and comfortable room, close to Presidio and Naval Postgraduate School. See full review

  • RN Kate
  • Aug 2, 2014
Awesome friends getaway

We travel from San Francisco to celebrate our friends' birthdays. We had a lovely stay in this... See full review

  • Sunflowers2014
  • Jun 11, 2014
Affordable accommodation with lodge-like pool and Jacuzzi in Monterey
The affordable Clarion Hotel Monterey offers clean, contemporary guest rooms and thoughtful touches to make any stay special. All accommodations feature microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee and free high-speed Internet access. A heated indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are situated in an atrium room with an exposed wood beam ceiling reminiscent of a rustic lodge. Clarion Hotel Monterey guests take advantage of a deluxe continental breakfast with hot Belgian waffles. Some suites feature a kitchen, fireplace or Jacuzzi.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor pool and private sauna
  • Some rooms feature balconies with ocean views
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Fireplace and kitchenette suites available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
A range of room options at the Clarion Hotel Monterey lets guests choose the atmosphere best suited to their visit. Standard rooms feature warm neutral tones and contemporary details such as dark woods and sleek easy chairs. All accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryers and iron/ironing boards.
 
Couples at the Clarion Hotel Monterey especially enjoy the warmth of a fireplace guest room. A luxurious special occasion suite features a four-poster bed decorated with the soft fabrics and rich colors of a fairy-tale romance. Jacuzzi rooms and family-friendly kitchenette suites also are available.
Features
Start each day with free deluxe continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. A fitness center also is available at the Clarion Hotel Monterey.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Highway 1 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday copy of The Wall Street Journal
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 20 people

Hotel Map

36.5912 -121.8959
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 3.00, MI, NE; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 80.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 150.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Monterey

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Monterey

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
have a good trip
north bay, ca
Jul 30, 2012

Good stay

The room was relatively small but has two rooms. Each room has a queen bed, which worked perfectly for us four. It is rare to find indoor pool in california, which is a plus. Breakfast is good; oat meal was actually cooked (not instant food) and tasty. Overall it was a nice pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JMDM
Business
San Jose
Sep 22, 2014

Short Trip Destination

The room was smaller than anticipated. The staff was friendly, but was not very helpful or knowledgeable. Our room had a coffee maker in it, but there was no creamer available. When we asked the front desk staff, we were advised to take some from the hotel next door since they were owned by the same people. For the price the overall value was not too bad. The hospitality portion of the trip was not up to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doretta1
Business
Fresno
Sep 1, 2014

not what I expected

We arrived later in the evenong. The clerk was nice. Checked into our room and our fire alarm kept beeping. We called down to front desk and he said he would have to move us to another room when all it needed was a new battery. It was 11:00 at night and we were tired but we could not sleep with the constant beeping, so we moved. The new room did not have the fireplace that we had asked for but at least we got a Kingsize bed. The bed however was so sunken on the left side I could have slid right off:( There was a skylight which made it impossible to sleep.in which was also a bit bothersome. The continental breakfast was very poor, not much variety at all and the hot items were all cold. I would not have been so bothered if I had paid $89 per night but they said this was the best rate at $199 per nite. The day after we checked in we had an email from another site offering this exact room for $89. We felt very frustrated. I would not recommend this hotel as a 3 star hotel whatsoever! 1 star is definitely more.like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaiann
Business
Emeryville, CA
Aug 25, 2014

Overpriced but fine

We paid a lot for this room ($250) and it was very basic. Most hotels in San Francisco don't cost that much.. Couldn't reach anyone at the front desk to report a beeping smoke detector...otherwise it was fine but certainly not worthy of the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekday golfer
Business
Granite Bay, CA
Aug 2, 2014

Got what I paid for

Needed a place to stay for one night on a guys golf trip. Selected this place based on reasonable price. Was not disappointed. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Room was clean and well furnished. Felt I received value for what I paid. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RN Kate
Business
Huntersville, NC
Aug 2, 2014

Terrific lodging

Good breakfast, clean and comfortable room, close to Presidio and Naval Postgraduate School.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Del Monte Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
middle school math teache
Business
Sacramento
Aug 2, 2014

Motel not a hotel

The room was overpriced for what we got. With the name of a Clarion hotel we expected it to be a hotel and not a motel. The wifi is free but useless because it was so slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. Reese
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2014

Quiet One Night Stop

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to all the near by activites in Monterey. The hotel was even close enough to drive to pebble beach and carmel. I would definitely come back to stay here when I visit Monterey again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evankj
Business
Sac
Jul 16, 2014

Great value

This is a nice little hotel. Service and location were great. Room was nice and clean but a little small. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lv Rocker
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 6, 2014

Good Value, Good Place

What you get: Clean room Good location Pretty quiet Free WIFI Decent Continental Breakfast What you don't get: Generous Parking Bottom line: It's a nice place to stay. The staff was very friendly. Parking can get tight especially at night...so be prepared. It was fine when we were there and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter1980
Business
Bergen, Norway
Jun 23, 2014

Good value for the money

Good 3 star hotel! Good location, good value for your money and amenities as described.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Major attractions are 5 minutes away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top