Blue Lagoon Inn

2 stars
View map of 2362 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
51 reviews
Good value for money

Great hotel at reasonable price. short drive to Monterrey attractions and 17 mile drive. See full review

  • A Tourist to Grand Canyon
  • Jan 15, 2015
Quaint at a great price

We needed a simple place to stay in Monterey when camping plans got soured by pouring rain and very... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 22, 2011
Blue Lagoon Inn located within three miles of Monterey Downtown, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery-row, Quaint Carmel, 17 Mile Drive Pebble Beach, Famous Golf courses, one mile from Monterey Airport and five blocks from Monterey Fair-ground home of "THE BLUES & JAZZ FESTIVAL". This inn was fully remodeled by 5/30/04 providing new furniture, 25" TV with HBO, microwave, refrigerators, High-Speed Broadband Wireless Internet Access, and bathrooms equipped with tub/shower combo with beautiful granite tiles.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Lagoon Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Blue Lagoon Inn Rooms

Standard non-smoking room
This non-smoking only guest room includes one king size bed, microwave, refrigerator, 25" TV with HBO, High-Speed Broadband Internet Access and hairdryer and iron/ironing board are provided upon request.
Standard non-smoking room
This non-smoking only guest room includes two double beds, microwave, refrigerator, 25" TV with HBO, High-Speed Broadband Internet Access and hairdryer and iron/ironing board are provided upon request.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Blue Lagoon Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 51
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cowboy4614
Business
California
Aug 24, 2014

Ok hotel, just average

Check in was easy got the keys checked the room, floor is stained and sticky was a hair on my sheets fireplace was nice though bathroom was nice too. First night was nice and not noisy but me and my fiancé woke up with bug bites from bed bugs. Asked for a couple nights for free staff gave me 1 but wouldn't let me change rooms and stay that free night. Day of checkout if you are a minute past 11am they come and pound on your door until you open it then demand your out in 10 minutes. Overall was just average staff was ok some are friendly but there is a language barrier. Check the beds and room before you sleep though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Crabby Jim's resteraunt on the old fishermans wharf is amazing! Great prices for amazing food and service.

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monterey lover 69
Business
Fresno, Ca
Jul 15, 2014

it wasn't that bad

I thought the room would be worst the furniture was old they half cleaned the room the fireplace was a nice touch it actually kept us warm. The location was great it was close to a cvs, gas station and restaurants. I wouldn't stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caela
Business
seaside California
Nov 9, 2013

comfortable affordable

It was a cozy room with bath tube and fire place. I would definitely recommend this place to couples traveling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
don'trequestnickames
Business
calif
Aug 3, 2013

Reasonable, but over priced

The rooms are very VERY small. Newly painted and the fireplace is a nice touch (gas logs). I thought the property was overpriced, but we would have been willing to stay a second night except that they were going to jump the price nearly $40 because it would be Friday.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kkjjdd
Business
Monterey, California
Apr 17, 2013

it was OK

Is was clean but they didn't leave any soap or shampoo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IndiaGurlie
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 8, 2012

Cheap, Clean & Conveniently Located

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel and its management. They are awesome owners who took the time to chit chat and ask about your stay. The rooms are very clean and the only downside (if you could call it that) was there was no fan however, it was not needed as the weather was nice and cool. Conveniently located to all sightseeing and the pillows/beds were very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grandma's Kitchen - home cooked food and great service!

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richard asdf
Business
San Francisco
Aug 14, 2012

Weekend trip

We arrived after 2:30 and the room was not yet ready, though it was supposed to be by 2. We had a busy schedule so we decided to leave our things in our car for the day. When we returned that night after dinner there was no parking in the lot or nearby. The next morning at 11:04 (just as we're about to leave) we received a phone call that went like this: "Hello?" "It's a quarter after 11." It was not. The bedroom clock said 11:06, my iPhone said 11:04. "OK?" "It's 11:10" "OK?" "It's after 11." "Alright." Hang up. We leave and there are 2 cars in the lot, ours and another. We see the attendant storm over to the other door and start pounding on it. We leave. Now, I'm all for punctuality, but considering the rooms were not ready for us upon our arrival and a trivial amount of time past 11 had passed, I'd say that was a very awkward and unnecessary interaction. In addition, the shower did not get hot, the pressure was bad, and the shower head was worse. The place does have a comfortable bed, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingAndi
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 8, 2011

Will stay here again

Ran by a nice couple, decent continental breakfast, very clean room and extremely comfy bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalan
Business
Australia
Sep 3, 2011

Reasonable access to waterfront

Most people staying in Monterey will want to visit the wharf, Cannery Row and the waterfront. This motel requires a bit of a bike ride or drive to get there, and parking is EXPENSIVE. The motel and room are very clean and well-equipped, with all possible amenities, including a fireplace. Some attention to detail is needed; for example, I had to use my own adapter to plug in the fridge, then discovered the hard way that it was set to freeze all my food. We booked online for a reasonable price, but were shocked at how much the owner raised it when we wanted a second night, so be sure you have locked in a rate before you visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row and the wharf.

Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hillbillies
Business
NZ
Aug 28, 2011

Never again!

What a dive! We have been travelling around America for the last four weeks and have been very pleased at the standard of accommodation. We paid a little more than what we have paid in other areas and got the worst place we have stayed in. It was disgusting! The carpet was stained, not vaccummed, felt sticky underfoot and we both started itching as soon as we arrived. There was nowhere to put any luggage, the room was tiny. There were NO amenities in the room except for one small bar of soap. There is a chunk missing out of the toilet seat which would have to be a hygiene issue. No air con, no hairdryer, no coffee maker, not even a plug in the sink. We had to go ask for a ice bucket and they gave us one that had another motels name on it! The towels were tiny and threadbare. When we pulled the shower curtain across the whole rail came down as it just sits on the wall tiles!!! No way to ventilate room. The mesh on the outside was ripped. An overall extremely unpleasant night so beware. Best to spend a few more dollars and get a much better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top