$26 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Blue Lagoon Inn

2 stars
2362 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
59 reviews
Good experience at Blue Lagoon hotel

Owner was kind and honest. Room was clean and facilities were all good condition, safety was good,... See full review

  • Yihui
  • Jan 28, 2014
Very good for the money!

We arrived very late at night and had to ring the bell and wake up the stuff. But he was very... See full review

  • black barbie
  • Apr 1, 2011
Blue Lagoon Inn located within three miles of Monterey Downtown, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery-row, Quaint Carmel, 17 Mile Drive Pebble Beach, Famous Golf courses, one mile from Monterey Airport and five blocks from Monterey Fair-ground home of "THE BLUES & JAZZ FESTIVAL". This inn was fully remodeled by 5/30/04 providing new furniture, 25" TV with HBO, microwave, refrigerators, High-Speed Broadband Wireless Internet Access, and bathrooms equipped with tub/shower combo with beautiful granite tiles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Lagoon Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Blue Lagoon Inn Rooms

Standard non-smoking room
This non-smoking only guest room includes one king size bed, microwave, refrigerator, 25" TV with HBO, High-Speed Broadband Internet Access and hairdryer and iron/ironing board are provided upon request.
Standard non-smoking room
This non-smoking only guest room includes two double beds, microwave, refrigerator, 25" TV with HBO, High-Speed Broadband Internet Access and hairdryer and iron/ironing board are provided upon request.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Lagoon Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.1

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 23, 2007

My review of Blue Lagoon Inn

The Blue Lagoon Inn was small, less than 15 rooms. The staff was accommodating and honest. The room itself was clean but small. There was no air conditioning or a fan. The toilet ran continuously and the water temperature in the shower was difficult to regulate. We also realized that an airport was nearby. Fortunately no planes took off or landed during the night. The one plane that did fly by sounded like it was flying right through the room. The small refridgerator and microwave were a nice touch. The location was close to Fisherman's Wharf and other attractions in Pacific Grove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zhuo
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 20, 2007

too bad

the hotel is too small even though they do not have enought parking spaces. the bathroom was dirty and no hair-dryer. it is no AC and no coffee maker but they have mircowave and fireplace. in short, too much and too bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

safeway is behind the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Failed
Business
USA
Jul 18, 2007

A nice place to stay.

Our stay at the Blue Lagoon Inn was pleasurable. It's location next to a grocery store and only minutes away from the tourist sights made it easy to find our way. The fact that staff was available at 10:00pm was wonderful when I locked myself out of my room. We really appreciated the fireplace in the room as the cooler weather caught us by surprise. All in all our stay here was nice and if in the area again would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive to the beach, Fisherman's Wharf and all the sights in Monterey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 9, 2007

Ok

It was alright for the one night that we stayed. We would not want to spend several days or more there though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium was nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2007

Charming but Basic

This hotel is along a very busy main route just outside of the Monterey area. The outside blue color scheme was more friendly than the interior design, and absolutely no frills. Groceries right next door and many eateries within a pleasant walking distance nearby but none at the hotel. Small and friendly, but again, absolutely no frills. It would probably feel like more of a value in the off-season or not on a weekend. But it is just minutes driving from the wharf and the aquarium. It did have a very small refrigerator in the room that needed a good defrosting, and a small microwave we never used because it needed a good cleaning. I'm surprised it was left like that. The rooms also do not have any ice buckets and the ice machine outside is also small. There is a ladle in the ice machine to get ice, but that's it; and a soft drink machine. The lobby does have fliers concerning nearby attractions, but don't expect discount coupons in any of them for the aquarium. This is a basic, quaint, friendly yet no frills hotel. But access to this hotel is a bit tricky. If approaching from the north, you cannot turn left into the parking lot due to a concrete divider... you must pass it and u-turn to access it. Likewise, when you leave the parking lot, you must turn right then do a u-turn to head toward the wharf or the aquarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Black Bear Diner nearby serves a huge, delicious breakfast; Safeway right next door; other eateries also nearby; Wharf and Cannery Row just about 10 or so minutes away depending on traffic, and not counting time to park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Enrica
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 10, 2007

Not What I Expected

It was an ok hotel and location was perfect. The room was a little dirty and bathtub was also dirty with hair in the tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown is about 5-10 mins away where you can find all the bars & clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 9, 2007

A noisy Cage!

I've visited Monterey many times, staying at budget places in most cases as a teacher would. I've always enjoyed good experiences with my choices, until this visit. The Blue Lagoon provides one of the smallest rooms with which I've had any association. That being livable, I nonetheless can not abide by the sort of noise I heard through the walls. The hotel is an unending siphon of sounds leaking from the rooms and in from the parking lot. I approached the owner the first night, at about 1 am, informing him of the loud television and laghter keeping my wife and I up. He became angry with me and then told the crazy people who had arrived in Jethro Bodine's hillbilly truck that I was complaing about them. Needless to say, I shall never secure lodging there ever again. That means never ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Washateria, Safeway, liquor stores... all peopled with colorful characters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

Low Price Deal for Two ...

The Blue Lagoon Inn is a low price deal for two with King-sized bed, remote control TV, and switch-operated gas fireplace. Walls are painted bright enamel pink, worn turquoise carpet, ceramic tile fireplace surround and marble tiles update bathroom and closet. Full-size tub was without a stopper and a no-frills galvanized lead, flow-restricted shower. Bath linens were threadbare. No Kleenex or bath amenities provided. Our room had a new gold brocade bedspread, pillow shams and matching toss pillows. Our king bed had a double mattress pad with the flat sheet covering half the bare mattress. Our pillows were old and lumpy. We stayed in the back corner unit (#7), sharing one common wall with other guests. Even so, we heard conversations, doors slamming, plumbing use. No phone, no phone book, no coffeemaker, no clock, no radio. Our room had a refrigerator, a few plastic cups and a new microwave. Three differing bare bulbs decked out a wall mounted light bar in the main sleeping area. Exterior porch lights are actually oversized street lamps. We visit family nearby, needed easy access to economical sleeping space. We got just a bit less than expected for the price we paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 22, 2007

Small but a great deal

Upon driving into the parking lot you can see the entire hotel - about 15-20 rooms of it. The room itself mirrored the exterior in that it was a little cramped and brightly painted - although in a pink-salmon color rather than blue. The fireplace and unique bedspread more than made up for the space and color though. The best thing about this hotel was the cost. We stayed on a Saturday night and it was only $75! I was expecting much worse and it turned out that the room and service were much better than most of the chain hotels that I've stayed at. When I go back to Monterey I will definitely stay there again and I'm going to recommend it to anyone I know who is travelling there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top