Blue Lagoon Inn

2 stars
View map of 2362 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Lagoon Inn

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.3
Value:
3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richard asdf
Business
San Francisco
Aug 14, 2012

Weekend trip

We arrived after 2:30 and the room was not yet ready, though it was supposed to be by 2. We had a busy schedule so we decided to leave our things in our car for the day. When we returned that night after dinner there was no parking in the lot or nearby. The next morning at 11:04 (just as we're about to leave) we received a phone call that went like this: "Hello?" "It's a quarter after 11." It was not. The bedroom clock said 11:06, my iPhone said 11:04. "OK?" "It's 11:10" "OK?" "It's after 11." "Alright." Hang up. We leave and there are 2 cars in the lot, ours and another. We see the attendant storm over to the other door and start pounding on it. We leave. Now, I'm all for punctuality, but considering the rooms were not ready for us upon our arrival and a trivial amount of time past 11 had passed, I'd say that was a very awkward and unnecessary interaction. In addition, the shower did not get hot, the pressure was bad, and the shower head was worse. The place does have a comfortable bed, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dvarf
Business
Europe
Aug 4, 2012

untidy and threadbare

The hotel is very hreadbare. The hotel has a mildewy courton. The room is untidy, The breakfest is poor -we had shredded muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ballard Boy
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Jul 21, 2012

No longer Blue Lagoon

Name has changed, but they do note that it's "formerly Blue Lagoon". Towels pretty small and threadbare, but the shower and bathroom were very adequate. Good location for exploring Monterey and Carmel. Easy to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Fish House is where the locals go nightly for fresh seafood and great conversations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Volunteer
Business
Redondo Beach, Ca
Jul 9, 2012

Not anymore

Hotel room were not cleaned sufficienntly, crumbs on the floor, hole in the wall and shower needs lots of maneuvering and pulling to turn it on. Needs lots of repair in that room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close drive to major attractions, golf. Walking distance to restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AlfieZebra
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Motel to rest at.

Good beds for the price. Wireless internet included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fishermans Wharf for lunch and dinner. Great seafood. Pricey though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay Murph
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

It wasnt that bad

After reading some of the other reviews I expected a dump. However the staff was friendly and they even stayed awake because I wasn't able to arrive until late into the night. The room was decent and clean. It's important to note that room one's shower is backwards. Hot is cold and cold is hot. Other than that it was a pretty nice stay. Oh and they changed their name to Fireplace Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fivo
Business
Jacksonville, IL 62650, USA
Oct 19, 2011

never go to stay there again

The Blue Lagoon Inn had changed names and put me in another place, without letting me know untill we arrived. Very disapointed in the way my reservations was handled. The place they put me in was not where I would have ever stayed and I didn't. There was a lot of us there in Monterey for my Granddaughter's Wedding. I ended up staying with one of my daughters in her room at the wilkins inn. The reservation was in my name, but my granddaughter paid for it. I believe she should not be charged for anything. I am not sure I will use you again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingAndi
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 8, 2011

Will stay here again

Ran by a nice couple, decent continental breakfast, very clean room and extremely comfy bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalan
Business
Australia
Sep 3, 2011

Reasonable access to waterfront

Most people staying in Monterey will want to visit the wharf, Cannery Row and the waterfront. This motel requires a bit of a bike ride or drive to get there, and parking is EXPENSIVE. The motel and room are very clean and well-equipped, with all possible amenities, including a fireplace. Some attention to detail is needed; for example, I had to use my own adapter to plug in the fridge, then discovered the hard way that it was set to freeze all my food. We booked online for a reasonable price, but were shocked at how much the owner raised it when we wanted a second night, so be sure you have locked in a rate before you visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row and the wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hillbillies
Business
NZ
Aug 28, 2011

Never again!

What a dive! We have been travelling around America for the last four weeks and have been very pleased at the standard of accommodation. We paid a little more than what we have paid in other areas and got the worst place we have stayed in. It was disgusting! The carpet was stained, not vaccummed, felt sticky underfoot and we both started itching as soon as we arrived. There was nowhere to put any luggage, the room was tiny. There were NO amenities in the room except for one small bar of soap. There is a chunk missing out of the toilet seat which would have to be a hygiene issue. No air con, no hairdryer, no coffee maker, not even a plug in the sink. We had to go ask for a ice bucket and they gave us one that had another motels name on it! The towels were tiny and threadbare. When we pulled the shower curtain across the whole rail came down as it just sits on the wall tiles!!! No way to ventilate room. The mesh on the outside was ripped. An overall extremely unpleasant night so beware. Best to spend a few more dollars and get a much better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top