$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

3 stars
487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was one my husband and I really enjoyed staying at in Monterey. We would stay again some... See full review

  • Lisa LIs
  • May 31, 2013
A hidden gem

We found the Victorian Inn to be the ideal getaway to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Located only... See full review

  • To special getaways
  • May 14, 2013
Victorian-style property offers charm and modern-day amenities

Charm only begins to describe Best Western Victorian Inn. The AAA Three Diamond Monterey Bay hotel, built in 1906 as a home for the Lang family, extends gracious Old World hospitality to its visitors, whether from its beautiful garden patio with hot tub, 70 spacious gas-fireplace guest rooms, or evening wine-and-cheese reception in the parlor. Modern amenities include in-room refrigerators, complimentary wireless Internet access, and business services.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary wine and cheese in the evening
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

Standard guestrooms are smoke-free and offer a king or double bed with a marble gas-lit fireplace, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, and refrigerator. Rooms are available with a spa, window seat, patio, or balcony. Spacious family suites offer a true home away from home feel, with full-sized living rooms, sleeper sofa, and a fully equipped kitchenette. Bathrooms have upscale amenities.

Features

This family-friendly historic property exudes a coziness and charm of a long gone age, while offering modern-day amenities. Tasteful elegance is found around every corner in this bed-and-breakfast style hostelry, located in the heart of Cannery Row, within walking distance of the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and IMAX theatre. Best Western Victorian Inn is minutes away from San Carlos beach, historic landmarks, world-class wineries, museums, and fun family activities in Monterey.

 

The Victorian Inn welcomes furry four-legged friends as well. With a central location near Monterey's best pet friendly parks and beaches, Fido is sure to enjoy his family vacation.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (76.9 mi/124 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cannery Row (0.2 mi/0.3 mi)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pacific Grove Monarch Sanctuary (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • 325 sq. ft. of private meeting space, equipped with AV services, a gas fireplace, and a flat screen television, accommodates 12 people
Policies and Fees
  • Parking is $14 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6126 -121.9
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport - SFO 107.76 miles.
Area description
The hotel is located 4 blocks above Cannery Row in beautiful Monterey, CA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard King with one king bed includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voice-mail.
Located on first or second floor. 351 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom, Direct-dial . In-room safe. Window opens.
Standard Two Double Room
Standard Two Double Room with two double beds includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voice-mail.
Located on first floor. 390 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom and telephone. Desk. In-room safe. Window opens.
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe king room with one king bed includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voice-mail.
Located on first or second floor. 351 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom and telephone. Desk. In-room safe. Window opens.
Deluxe Two Double Room
Deluxe Two Double Room with two double bed includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voice-mail.
Located on first or second floor. 390 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom and telephone. In-room safe. Window opens.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free full breakfast
Room service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Dining

Sardine Factory Restaurant
The Sardine Factory Restaurant, 701 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (sister restaurant)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
abq
Apr 10, 2010

moldy smell to room

upon arrival was told my reservation was incorrect. stated i did not get reservation with 2 beds. they could give me 2 beds if i did not get the stated upgraded room (prepaid without refund mind u). then proceeded 2 try and charge me a nightly rate in order 2 park my car (not previously stated). This is not a hotel i will use again. Felt they gave my room to earlier check-in, even though was a pre-paid room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
E. K.
L A
Aug 22, 2009

unimpressed

My wife and I went to Monterey to drop off our daughter to college and I wanted to stay the night in a good hotel close to the main attractions and have clean convenient accomidations. Unfortunately, there was a problem from the start. I asked for two beds instead of one becasue we like to use one of the beds to stage our belongings. There were none. Then once we got to our room I discovered there was no air conditioning, the T.V. wasnt working and there was some candy hardened on one of the inner sheets. I called the front desk and received quick response to a different room which they upgraded but the by that time it was too little to late. The $179.00 charge along with the fees were too pricey for the accomidations. The only redeeming quality was that it was three to four blocks away from Cannery Row. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bay Area traveler M
San Francisco, California
Mar 24, 2014

Great location with dated, decrepit interiors

The best thing about this hotel is its location, 3 blocks away from the ocean, aquarium, cannery row etc, a block away from the awesome Sea Harvest restaurant and a great second hand bookstore. The rooms were dark and orange, with very cheap toiletries, small yellow tub and a ridiculously hard bed. The decor was frankly depressing. The breakfast was reasonable, if bland, and helped us get a start to the day. Wine and cheese reception was ok as well, very basic cheeses but the wine wasn't bad. Again, the decor was outdated and dark in the living room area. Parking is $14 a day which I had not expected. Whole thing- trying too hard to be a boutique hotel but with dated tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea harvest restaurant down the block had great fun seafood!!! Try the combo fish and chips platter and rockfish grill

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 1, 2011

Not Pleased

We did not feel welcomed. When we entered the front desk area, the person that was behind the desk went into another section of the office without offering a greeting or any type of acknowledgment. A few minutes later another employee came out and said "last name?" without any preliminary greeting. She never smiled and was very perfunctory. When I asked if we could be moved to the top floor, she looked at the screen for about 30 seconds, then said all of the doubles were taken. We were placed in room right next to the elevator and it was loud. Also could hear the children above running across the floor. Our room had not been vacuumed and there were cracker crumbs on the floor. Made me wonder what else had not been done. The front desk person never mentioned the parking fee. [...]. We would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a short drive to Pacific Grove along Oceanview Blvd. and watch the beautiful sunset against the crashing waves.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EWeezy
Oakland
Apr 2, 2011

"Best thing was the location"

Stayed here on an anniversary trip with my boyfriend. Arrived for the "wine and cheese" reception. Desk staff went through the motions checking us in but failed to mention any parking fees in their garage. Reception was pretty average. Noticed paint peeling on the walls and non-working grandfather clock adding to the funky atmosphere of the reception area. Took a walk down to Cannery Row and was very pleased with close location. Walking distance to all the hot spots. Tried out the hot tub and luckily after the jets got turned on it was nice and hot. Couldn't use the fire place because in the directions it says you need long matches and we didn't have those! Morning breakfast was ok, cereal, muffins, toast, fresh fruit, and some wierd egg things. Asked if we could stay parked at the hotel while we went to the aquarium at checkout, desk staff said sure until 6pm. Then they hit us with a 13$ parking charge! There was no info about that mentioned to us before. The grounds, plants, flowers were nice. So all in all pretty good, would stay again for location, but might check other options first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you ask about the 13$ parking charge!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, Ca
Jul 8, 2010

Best Western Victorian

Wine and cheese were served from 4-6 every evening. The continental breakfast was nothing great. Coffee was pathetic at best. When I asked about why I was being charged for parking ($12 per night) as it did not appear when I was booking the room, I was told it was in the Amenities section. That stinks. We were given a handicapped room and I was not pleased. The television boasted of numerous channels but we could only receive about 1/4 of them. Pillows were rock hard and the room did not have air conditioning. We requested and received a fan which helped the stuffy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ilnowwhatilike
Nottingham
Jul 21, 2014

It fitted the bill perfectly

My daughter was a little disappointed that the hotel wasn't nearer the sea, (it's only 2 roads away) but having experienced the crowds down there, I'm glad it is where it is. Good points- Large room with balcony and 2 chairs. Bathroom with 2 sinks, separate toilet, bath and shower. Bed was very comfortable with lovely bed linen. Fireplace Good parking at reasonable price. $14. Not so good- Breakfast a bit average. Would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We picked up takeaway food from a fish restaurant and ate it on the beach below the restaurant.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baby Traveller
Monterey, CA
Apr 3, 2010

nice place to stay, was a little pricey

It was a nice location and a nice hotel. We were in CA visiting family and it was a little more expensive than we would have liked, plus the parking was $12 a day in addition to the cost of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milpitas, CA
Feb 28, 2011

Great Location

We have reserved a room [...] with a king sized bed. Upon arrival, we received two doubles [...]But, in less than five minutes, someone canceled a room and received a room with a king sized bed. The location is great - only four blocks from Cannery Row. The fireplace was a nice added touch, but we got more heat by just turning on the heater. The bed was very comfortable. The wine and cheese time, from 4pm to 7pm was nice, but extremely crowded due to the small parlor. We did not attend the free continental breakfast. Besides the wine and cheese, this is a no frills inn. Our room had a refrigerator, but no microwave, which I'm not accustomed to these days. Also, the carpet looked old and somewhat dirty in our room. Stay for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
May 8, 2009

Victorian Inn

This is a decent hotel. Quaint and clean. The fireplace in the room is a nice feature. Cannery Row is within walking distance but consider the hills when choosing footwear. The bathrooms are dated and the TVs as well, but still a pleasant property and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The pier is about a five block walk downhill. Women should consider this when wearing heels.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search