$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

3 stars
487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
50 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was one my husband and I really enjoyed staying at in Monterey. We would stay again some... See full review

  • Lisa LIs
  • May 31, 2013
A hidden gem

We found the Victorian Inn to be the ideal getaway to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Located only... See full review

  • To special getaways
  • May 14, 2013
Victorian-style property offers charm and modern-day amenities

Charm only begins to describe Best Western Victorian Inn. The AAA Three Diamond Monterey Bay hotel, built in 1906 as a home for the Lang family, extends gracious Old World hospitality to its visitors, whether from its beautiful garden patio with hot tub, 70 spacious gas-fireplace guest rooms, or evening wine-and-cheese reception in the parlor. Modern amenities include in-room refrigerators, complimentary wireless Internet access, and business services.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary wine and cheese in the evening
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

Standard guestrooms are smoke-free and offer a king or double bed with a marble gas-lit fireplace, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, and refrigerator. Rooms are available with a spa, window seat, patio, or balcony. Spacious family suites offer a true home away from home feel, with full-sized living rooms, sleeper sofa, and a fully equipped kitchenette. Bathrooms have upscale amenities.

Features

This family-friendly historic property exudes a coziness and charm of a long gone age, while offering modern-day amenities. Tasteful elegance is found around every corner in this bed-and-breakfast style hostelry, located in the heart of Cannery Row, within walking distance of the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and IMAX theatre. Best Western Victorian Inn is minutes away from San Carlos beach, historic landmarks, world-class wineries, museums, and fun family activities in Monterey.

 

The Victorian Inn welcomes furry four-legged friends as well. With a central location near Monterey's best pet friendly parks and beaches, Fido is sure to enjoy his family vacation.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (76.9 mi/124 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cannery Row (0.2 mi/0.3 mi)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pacific Grove Monarch Sanctuary (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • 325 sq. ft. of private meeting space, equipped with AV services, a gas fireplace, and a flat screen television, accommodates 12 people
Policies and Fees
  • Parking is $14 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6126 -121.9
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport - SFO 107.76 miles.
Area description
The hotel is located 4 blocks above Cannery Row in beautiful Monterey, CA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard King with one king bed includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voice-mail.
Located on first or second floor. 351 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom, Direct-dial . In-room safe. Window opens.
Standard Two Double Room
Standard Two Double Room with two double beds includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voice-mail.
Located on first floor. 390 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom and telephone. Desk. In-room safe. Window opens.
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe king room with one king bed includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voice-mail.
Located on first or second floor. 351 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom and telephone. Desk. In-room safe. Window opens.
Deluxe Two Double Room
Deluxe Two Double Room with two double bed includes Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, 42" TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video player, Voice-mail.
Located on first or second floor. 390 square feet. Marble gas-lit fireplace and upholstered chairs. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathroom and telephone. In-room safe. Window opens.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free full breakfast
Room service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Dining

Sardine Factory Restaurant
The Sardine Factory Restaurant, 701 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (sister restaurant)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trevor
Not Provided
Jan 24, 2010

We were very happy with all the

We were very happy with all the facilities and friendliness of this hotel. A very nice touch was the complimentory wine and cheese in the late afternoon which allowed us to meet and talk to other residents. Thoroughly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxed Educator
San Jose, CA
Apr 15, 2013

Romantic and Relaxing

I checked in to be surprised by a complimentary wine and cheese reception. It was wonderfully relaxing and fun. Then, I went to my room and sat in front of my lovely fireplace and drank some more wine. Once I arrived at the hotel, I had no reason to drive due to it's fabulously convenient location. I was only blocks away from Cannery Row, the Aquarium, and the beach which was very fortunate as the bed was so comfortable, I never wanted to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Show up at the Aquarium right at 10am. There was little to no crowds until about 11am.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
To special getaways
MN
May 14, 2013

A hidden gem

We found the Victorian Inn to be the ideal getaway to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Located only a few blocks from Cannery Row, it is quiet, spacious, and elegant — an in-town hideaway with a civilized and complimentary wine and cheese afternoon reception. Idyllic weather, lingering walks along the scenic Monterey Bay Coastal Trail, and romantic sunset dinners on the wharf turned our Silver Anniversary into a golden celebration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget your digital camera. The scenic CA coast will make you realize you couldn't afford to take so many memorable photos if you still had a camera that used film.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa LIs
Clovis
May 31, 2013

Great Experience

The hotel was one my husband and I really enjoyed staying at in Monterey. We would stay again some day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BEA,BILL AND JADE
Newark,Ca
Dec 3, 2009

VERY VERY NICE

From start to finish flawless. The location was fantastic. Close to everything ,great restrunts, cannery row,Aquarium, fishermans wharf, Lovers point. The continental breakfast was good, the fireplace was nice. The staff was excellent, looking to go back and would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 25, 2009

Perfect, charming, affordable!

A perfect hotel stay in Monterey. Enter through a lovely victorian house where you can enjoy complimentary wine and cheese every afternoon and a delicious breakfast each morning! Incredible personable staff. Large rooms (with super ceilings on the third floor) with fireplaces and all the ammenities of a large hotel without the crowds and hassles. Minutes from Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf by foot and I don't like to walk! Stores, restaurants and beauty all within walking distance. Wake up to the sounds of seals and gulls, not traffic and crowds. I love staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greensboro, NC
Jun 18, 2011

Great trip picking our daughter up

We stayed in this hotel while visiting Monterey after picking our daughter up from Stanford. The hotel was very comfortable for my wife, my parents,and our four daughters. We were there only for a short time but enjoyed Cannery row shops and restaurants which were walking distance as well as the 17 mile drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mesa, AZ
Jul 25, 2010

Great Location!

This was a fabulous hotel. Gorgeous to look at from the outside and huge rooms from the inside. We LOVED having a fireplace and used it every evening and morning. Perfect ambience. Also, the breakfast and then afternoon wine and cheese were delightful. Such a treat to stay here and within walking distance of so many great things!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the wharf for dining and shopping. Gorgeous views!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boca Raton, FL
May 23, 2011

Great Place

The hotel was great. Our room was beautiful and the location was good, but our parents were traveling with us and decided to stay at the same hotel and booked their room directly and got a much lower rate then our [...]rate, so I don't think I will be booking with [...]again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Feb 18, 2008

Convenient, Comfortable

The Best Western Victorian Inn was comfortable and nicely run. They have great staff who provided good ideas for dining and were super helpful. Rooms are clean and quiet. Breakfast and snacks were simple, on the light side. It's walking distance to Monterey Bay Aquarium and restaurants on Cannery Row, so save on parking costs. This is our third stay here. I'd really love it if it cost less, but it's on par for similar hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loose Noodle Pasta House was super, reasonable, and family-friendly for dinner. (Lighthouse Ave)

Back to menu Return to top

Change search