$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

3 stars
View map of 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EWeezy
Business
Oakland
Apr 2, 2011

"Best thing was the location"

Stayed here on an anniversary trip with my boyfriend. Arrived for the "wine and cheese" reception. Desk staff went through the motions checking us in but failed to mention any parking fees in their garage. Reception was pretty average. Noticed paint peeling on the walls and non-working grandfather clock adding to the funky atmosphere of the reception area. Took a walk down to Cannery Row and was very pleased with close location. Walking distance to all the hot spots. Tried out the hot tub and luckily after the jets got turned on it was nice and hot. Couldn't use the fire place because in the directions it says you need long matches and we didn't have those! Morning breakfast was ok, cereal, muffins, toast, fresh fruit, and some wierd egg things. Asked if we could stay parked at the hotel while we went to the aquarium at checkout, desk staff said sure until 6pm. Then they hit us with a 13$ parking charge! There was no info about that mentioned to us before. The grounds, plants, flowers were nice. So all in all pretty good, would stay again for location, but might check other options first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you ask about the 13$ parking charge!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 1, 2011

Not Pleased

We did not feel welcomed. When we entered the front desk area, the person that was behind the desk went into another section of the office without offering a greeting or any type of acknowledgment. A few minutes later another employee came out and said "last name?" without any preliminary greeting. She never smiled and was very perfunctory. When I asked if we could be moved to the top floor, she looked at the screen for about 30 seconds, then said all of the doubles were taken. We were placed in room right next to the elevator and it was loud. Also could hear the children above running across the floor. Our room had not been vacuumed and there were cracker crumbs on the floor. Made me wonder what else had not been done. The front desk person never mentioned the parking fee. [...]. We would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a short drive to Pacific Grove along Oceanview Blvd. and watch the beautiful sunset against the crashing waves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dragonrider
Business
Grayson, Ga
Mar 15, 2011

One of The Best

Arrived &the staff was wonderful. The room was delightful, very clean & the fireplace was the cherry on the cream. It was with in walking distance to Canary Row, the Aquarium & fabulous food. When we wanted something light to eat, the manager recommended a wonderful place & gave us very good directions ( with in walking distance ). Would recommend this hotel to any one. Loved it & would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a jacket, it was cool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milpitas, CA
Feb 28, 2011

Great Location

We have reserved a room [...] with a king sized bed. Upon arrival, we received two doubles [...]But, in less than five minutes, someone canceled a room and received a room with a king sized bed. The location is great - only four blocks from Cannery Row. The fireplace was a nice added touch, but we got more heat by just turning on the heater. The bed was very comfortable. The wine and cheese time, from 4pm to 7pm was nice, but extremely crowded due to the small parlor. We did not attend the free continental breakfast. Besides the wine and cheese, this is a no frills inn. Our room had a refrigerator, but no microwave, which I'm not accustomed to these days. Also, the carpet looked old and somewhat dirty in our room. Stay for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, Ca
Jan 30, 2011

Nice place

Very nice place. Have stayed there many times and always the same high quality in their service and in the rooms. Staff is great to work with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Sly McFlys and enjoy the music and walk back...about 4 blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Nov 14, 2010

clean and convienent

easy checkin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
Jul 25, 2010

Great Location!

This was a fabulous hotel. Gorgeous to look at from the outside and huge rooms from the inside. We LOVED having a fireplace and used it every evening and morning. Perfect ambience. Also, the breakfast and then afternoon wine and cheese were delightful. Such a treat to stay here and within walking distance of so many great things!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the wharf for dining and shopping. Gorgeous views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoMomma
Business
Show Low, AZ
Jul 19, 2010

Nice

Everything was nice, but advertising had me expecting more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two streets up from Cannery Row.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jul 8, 2010

Best Western Victorian

Wine and cheese were served from 4-6 every evening. The continental breakfast was nothing great. Coffee was pathetic at best. When I asked about why I was being charged for parking ($12 per night) as it did not appear when I was booking the room, I was told it was in the Amenities section. That stinks. We were given a handicapped room and I was not pleased. The television boasted of numerous channels but we could only receive about 1/4 of them. Pillows were rock hard and the room did not have air conditioning. We requested and received a fan which helped the stuffy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
53 Pilot
Business
Santa Maria California
Jul 3, 2010

Unbeatable price for location

spent two wonderful days at Monterrey Aquarium with little grand children. Great family attraction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat at Bubba Gumps, lunch easier to get seating than dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top