$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

3 stars
View map of 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ilnowwhatilike
Business
Nottingham
Jul 21, 2014

It fitted the bill perfectly

My daughter was a little disappointed that the hotel wasn't nearer the sea, (it's only 2 roads away) but having experienced the crowds down there, I'm glad it is where it is. Good points- Large room with balcony and 2 chairs. Bathroom with 2 sinks, separate toilet, bath and shower. Bed was very comfortable with lovely bed linen. Fireplace Good parking at reasonable price. $14. Not so good- Breakfast a bit average. Would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We picked up takeaway food from a fish restaurant and ate it on the beach below the restaurant.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bay Area traveler M
Business
San Francisco, California
Mar 24, 2014

Great location with dated, decrepit interiors

The best thing about this hotel is its location, 3 blocks away from the ocean, aquarium, cannery row etc, a block away from the awesome Sea Harvest restaurant and a great second hand bookstore. The rooms were dark and orange, with very cheap toiletries, small yellow tub and a ridiculously hard bed. The decor was frankly depressing. The breakfast was reasonable, if bland, and helped us get a start to the day. Wine and cheese reception was ok as well, very basic cheeses but the wine wasn't bad. Again, the decor was outdated and dark in the living room area. Parking is $14 a day which I had not expected. Whole thing- trying too hard to be a boutique hotel but with dated tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea harvest restaurant down the block had great fun seafood!!! Try the combo fish and chips platter and rockfish grill

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron and Pat
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 12, 2014

Great place and convenient location

We have been staying at this hotel a couple of times a year for several years now. The staff is extraordinarily pleasant and helpful. It is a short walk to restaurants, shopping, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. This proximity to commonly visited attractions and venues coupled with the (included) hot breakfast and evening wine & cheese hour makes it a great place to stay -- which is why we keep coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby Chart House restaurant is an excellent place to dine. Great food and a fantastic view of the bay and marine life.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii no ka oi
Business
East Bay
Jun 3, 2013

Will stay again!

Stay was great! Grounds and rooms so nice. Clean and lovely surroundings. My pet was welcomed! Employees are friendly! Love the complimentary wine and cheese. The personal hand written card, chocolates and carbonated mineral water was a nice touch. I will stay again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper on Cannery Row was spectacular!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa LIs
Business
Clovis
May 31, 2013

Great Experience

The hotel was one my husband and I really enjoyed staying at in Monterey. We would stay again some day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
To special getaways
Business
MN
May 14, 2013

A hidden gem

We found the Victorian Inn to be the ideal getaway to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Located only a few blocks from Cannery Row, it is quiet, spacious, and elegant — an in-town hideaway with a civilized and complimentary wine and cheese afternoon reception. Idyllic weather, lingering walks along the scenic Monterey Bay Coastal Trail, and romantic sunset dinners on the wharf turned our Silver Anniversary into a golden celebration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget your digital camera. The scenic CA coast will make you realize you couldn't afford to take so many memorable photos if you still had a camera that used film.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr e
Business
Illinois
Apr 23, 2013

Very nice

We stayed here 2 nights. 1st night we had a deluxe King, 2nd night they up graded us to a super deluxe room.both were very nice. We had a slow draining sink,they took our parking off for the inconvenience $13.00 . Breakfast was ok,evening cheese and crackers and drinks was good.1 negative ...they need to post their parking charge on their website.$13.00 per night is not bad,But no one likes surprise charges. I'd defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to cannery row.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxed Educator
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 15, 2013

Romantic and Relaxing

I checked in to be surprised by a complimentary wine and cheese reception. It was wonderfully relaxing and fun. Then, I went to my room and sat in front of my lovely fireplace and drank some more wine. Once I arrived at the hotel, I had no reason to drive due to it's fabulously convenient location. I was only blocks away from Cannery Row, the Aquarium, and the beach which was very fortunate as the bed was so comfortable, I never wanted to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Show up at the Aquarium right at 10am. There was little to no crowds until about 11am.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Logansnonna
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 10, 2013

Over the top front desk staff

This hotel is close enough to the waterfront to walk to the aquarium, cannery row, shops, restaurants but up a bit so the traffic and noise are minimal. The front desk staff, wonderful, arranged a lovely dinner at Chart House where we were made to feel like VIPs. The room had a comfortable king bed and a fireplace, very cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A local bar called Carbone's is walking distance, nothing fancy here but the owner/bartender Sal is friendly, funny, and engaging. He introduced us to any of his regulars who happened in while we were there. Didn't try his pub food but the drinks were good, beers cold.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Banjo boy
Business
Phoenix, as
Dec 1, 2012

Superb staff

The staff here was very helpful in finding local places that are not in the travel guides. They worked hard to help out. The negative was a $13/day charge for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top