$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

3 stars
825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
67 reviews
An enjoyable stay

Room was very roomy, very clean and shower was great. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking... See full review

  • Clifora
  • Jun 26, 2014
Family Getaway

Our experience was wonderful at Best Western. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay... See full review

  • Stephanie travel mom
  • May 8, 2014
Nice rates near the conference center and Fisherman's Wharf

In a popular and sometimes pricey tourist destination, the smoke-free Best Western Plus Monterey Inn welcomes guests with affordable rates in a central location. Walking distance or a short drive from Fisherman's Wharf, downtown Monterey and the Monterey Conference Center, the hotel adds value with a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi in guest rooms and the lobby. In the summer, take a break at the outdoor pool and hot tub. Nearby, find family fun at historic Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. 

Highlights

  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
  • Complimentary secure underground parking
  • Walking distance to downtown Monterey attractions and the conference center

Rooms
Spacious rooms include a balcony at Best Western Plus Monterey Inn, some with views of the Pacific Ocean. Each of the 78 nonsmoking guest rooms and two suites feature a separate dressing area, a hair-dryer, cable TV, a coffee-maker and a refrigerator for convenience on a budget. Business travelers appreciate the in-room voice mail system, lighted work desk and free Wi-Fi. Thoughtful traditional decor adds simple warmth at the Best Western Plus Monterey Inn. Guests arriving in cooler weather may want to request a room with a fireplace.
Features
The AAA 3-diamond rated Best Western Plus Monterey Inn provides secure underground parking free of charge to all guests. Walking distance to family restaurants, the hotel is also just down the street from the Monterey Conference Center. Pick up a free daily newspaper in the lobby.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.3 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (101 mi/163 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (0.7 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santa Cruz (42.9 mi/69 km)
  • Hearst Castle (93.2 mi/150 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

36.5937 -121.8919
Area served
Salinas, Carmel, Marina, Watsonville
Nearby airports
(MRY), 2.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSIZED,FIREPLACE,HISPD,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OVERSIZED,HI SPEED NET,REFRIGERATOR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,SEPARATE BED ROOM, HISPD, REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Over sized rooms
Fire place
Ironing board

Dining

restaurant
Adjacent to restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the pixie
Business
california
Mar 22, 2014

wont go back!

rude, rude staff breakfast sucked wont go back ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kawasaki Man
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 30, 2010

My Worst Weekend EVER!!

Not knowing the location of the hotel, I picked it because it was available. Once I got to the hotel, the front staff was very accommodating. My plan was to stay for 2 night for the Moto GP race I attend ever year. My first night at this hotel was unnerving. I can hear people walking up and down the hallway all night long. I did not get any good sleep and on top of that, I was at the race track all day. My second night was a nightmare. In addition to the noise outside my door, at approximately 2:30am, some one trigger the fire alarm and the entire hotel had to be evacuated. Everyone was out in front of the hotel until the fire department cleared us to go back in. By then it was an hour later and the combination of lost of sleep and out all day at the track, I decided to let some of you travelers know..STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE..if you plan to have a good night sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 5, 2009

Mislabed Best Western

We booked this hote & the advertisement is for the Best Western on the beach. When we arrived and realized this one was not on the beach as advertised I had to threaten the desk clerk with false advertisement lawsuit before he would cancel my reservation without a fee and he would not call the Best Western on the beach to see if they had any rooms for us. The desk clerk even knew that this hotel advertises on the beach when they are not on the beach!!! Beware of the false advertiesment, this hotel is nowhere near the beaches. It is in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hershseany83
Business
Agoura Hills, CA, USA
Feb 20, 2012

If this is a Plus, I would be afraid of the standard ( This should be a 1.5)

First, I will say start with the good: Staff was informative but seemed to be busy. ( Other than the cleaning staff who were very kind) Room: Was clean and the cleaning staff did a good job but both my gf and I got bites on our legs from something....... The Bad: You can hear everything around you. The wall must have been made of paper cause I could hear the room next to us and the room above us. Even just normal conversation The middle of the night people being loud and running in the halls ( around 1am-2am) Overall: For this price it definitely cost too much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Khassey
Business
Sac, ca
May 22, 2013

Typical hotel

Nice staffs Good location Suite has a balcony but you have to go thru the other room just to use the restroom which is a bug minus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denstef
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 6, 2012

weekend getaway

Great location, comfortable room with plenty of parking plus room with balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denstef
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 6, 2012

weekend getaway

clean, great location, comfortable beds, quiet. plenty of parking and room had a outdoor balcony!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommyfor2
Business
Monterey county
Sep 9, 2012

Nice location

We walked the kids to Denice the Menice park in the morning and walked to the wharf for lunch. The staff was friendly and the the Continental Breakfast wasn't bad either! The only things is that when we checked in around 10pm they were out of cribs, so my baby had to sleep in bed with me. They said the other 2 were out.....they need more then 2 cribs in the whole hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minnesota Navy Mom
Business
Minnesota
Oct 31, 2012

Good Location

This hotel is within walking distance to Cannery Row and the harbor area. Also many neat restaurants, bakeries, etc. nearby. Would stay here again. No bathtub, only a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paris Bakerie is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ocean life lover
Business
Benicia, CA
Nov 12, 2012

Comfortable

Staff was friendly and helpful. the room was nice, very clean. Location was the only issue, there wasn't much within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top