$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

3 stars
825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
68 reviews
An enjoyable stay

Room was very roomy, very clean and shower was great. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking... See full review

  • Clifora
  • Jun 26, 2014
Family Getaway

Our experience was wonderful at Best Western. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay... See full review

  • Stephanie travel mom
  • May 8, 2014
Nice rates near the conference center and Fisherman's Wharf

In a popular and sometimes pricey tourist destination, the smoke-free Best Western Plus Monterey Inn welcomes guests with affordable rates in a central location. Walking distance or a short drive from Fisherman's Wharf, downtown Monterey and the Monterey Conference Center, the hotel adds value with a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi in guest rooms and the lobby. In the summer, take a break at the outdoor pool and hot tub. Nearby, find family fun at historic Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. 

Highlights

  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • Outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
  • Complimentary secure underground parking
  • Walking distance to downtown Monterey attractions and the conference center

Rooms
Spacious rooms include a balcony at Best Western Plus Monterey Inn, some with views of the Pacific Ocean. Each of the 78 nonsmoking guest rooms and two suites feature a separate dressing area, a hair-dryer, cable TV, a coffee-maker and a refrigerator for convenience on a budget. Business travelers appreciate the in-room voice mail system, lighted work desk and free Wi-Fi. Thoughtful traditional decor adds simple warmth at the Best Western Plus Monterey Inn. Guests arriving in cooler weather may want to request a room with a fireplace.
Features
The AAA 3-diamond rated Best Western Plus Monterey Inn provides secure underground parking free of charge to all guests. Walking distance to family restaurants, the hotel is also just down the street from the Monterey Conference Center. Pick up a free daily newspaper in the lobby.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.3 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (101 mi/163 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (0.7 mi/1 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santa Cruz (42.9 mi/69 km)
  • Hearst Castle (93.2 mi/150 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSIZED,FIREPLACE,HISPD,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OVERSIZED,HI SPEED NET,REFRIGERATOR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,SEPARATE BED ROOM, HISPD, REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Over sized rooms
Fire place
Ironing board

Dining

restaurant
Adjacent to restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mustang Gal
Business
Danville, CA
Sep 19, 2011

Best Western Plus, Monterey, CA

Very nice accomodations, comfortable beds & pillows, breakfast included. Staff was very courteous and prepared our room early. Parking garage on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpiritualMom
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Nice Mother-Daughter Getaway

My 12 year-old and I stayed here overnight, and we'll definitely come back -- hopefully for a longer stay. We've had plenty of disappointing online-booked hotel experiences in the past, but were pleasantly surprised this time. Comfortable, CLEAN, quiet room in spite of the hotel (and all of Monterey!) being fully booked for the holiday weekend. The pool and jacuzzi were at perfect temperature for the evening and cloudy morning weather -- just wish they could stay open later than 8 pm. Breakfast was decent and well staffed. Located within generous walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and downtown; a hike to Cannery Row and the aquarium, but possible if you want to avoid parking hassles (and fees).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

A great rainy day (or any day!) activity for kids is Oceans 18, an indoor miniature golf place inside the American Tin Cannery outlet mall -- just a block from the aquarium. Lit by black lights, cool phosphorescent painted decor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H T from SF
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Short Getaway

The staff was very friendly and accommadating. The breakfast was satisfying. If other Best Western Hotels are this nice I will be booking reservations with them more often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Crabby Jim's at Fisherman's Wharf was perfect. The food was delicious and the view from the window was very soothing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem, Oregon
Jul 24, 2011

Conveniently located

Well situated near shopping mall, tourist attractions and restaurants. Easy to walk to Cannery row and Aquarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family People
Business
Petaluma, CA
Mar 25, 2011

Basics

We stayed at the hotel for a few days to take the kids to the Aquarium. The hotel was fine, pretty clean. However, the staff left something to be desired. We were never greeted with even a glance up, from anyone at the front desk. The breakfast was manned by someone who was extremely unfriendly and unwelcoming. Probably will look for another hotel next trip. Heater in room was a joke (also no air conditioning?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno
Nov 3, 2010

Great stay

This trip was a lot of fun, Monterey is a beautiful place to visit. This hotel was great, we didn't check in until 12:30am and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room that we had was very spacious compared to others we've stayed in on the coast. Breakfast was simple yet had a good selection. Overall we enjoyed ourselves very much, we went to the aquarium which was amazing. Our family went to the one in San Francisco a year ago, and it doesn't even compare. Monterey's is a lot bigger with much more to see I would definitly recommend going. We went to the lighthouse close to canery row and than the 17 mile drive around pebble beach. And last we watched the sun set at the national park just past the drive. This trip was one of the best family vacations we have ever had and would I would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fish Hopper is a little restaurant on cannery row that has the best clam chowder.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kawasaki Man
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 30, 2010

My Worst Weekend EVER!!

Not knowing the location of the hotel, I picked it because it was available. Once I got to the hotel, the front staff was very accommodating. My plan was to stay for 2 night for the Moto GP race I attend ever year. My first night at this hotel was unnerving. I can hear people walking up and down the hallway all night long. I did not get any good sleep and on top of that, I was at the race track all day. My second night was a nightmare. In addition to the noise outside my door, at approximately 2:30am, some one trigger the fire alarm and the entire hotel had to be evacuated. Everyone was out in front of the hotel until the fire department cleared us to go back in. By then it was an hour later and the combination of lost of sleep and out all day at the track, I decided to let some of you travelers know..STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE..if you plan to have a good night sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livermore CA.
Jun 3, 2010

Great stay

A money saver, the contenental breakfast kept the cost down to enjoy other pleasures

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Location was wonderful for any kind of attraction. Visitor center offered a local paper called the Weekly that I.D. local weekly happenings. Very helpful for night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Great Service, friendly staff

Noisy early risers in room above but guy at the front desk was super friendly and went out of his way for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland East Bay, CA
Jan 26, 2010

Great location-super room for the price.

I picked this hotel because it was close to a business appointment in Downtown Monterey and the price was cheaper than comparable hotels close by. It turned out to be a great choice. The room was spacious, clean and well maintained. Continental breakfast was okay-a staff member serves at the counter. Staff was friendly and efficient.The only issue I had was that I had to cancel my first night reservation through [...] who called the hotel for me. But when I arrived I found out that I was charged for "no show" because the cancellation did not go through. However, the manager was happy to not charge me for the second night, so everything was great. The room was even ready despite arriving in the morning. I plan to recommend this hotel to others, including families with small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Siamese Bay Restaurant is a short three blocks away. Best Thai food we have had in awhile. Nice decor, moderately priced menu. Delivery available for a fee. If that is too far of a walk there is always Chinese food across the street and Dennys down the block. No need to drive to Cannery Row unless you want to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top