BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

3 stars
2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
70 reviews
great location

The room itself isn't anything fancy. The bathroom is tiny and the bed mediocre but the location is... See full review

  • amberE
  • Sep 16, 2014
just what I needed!

I had a great experience at this hotel. It's a great location to me, being directly ON the beach... See full review

  • Sacramento Sun
  • Aug 29, 2014
Pet-friendly family fun on Del Monte Beach
The smoke-free Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey is the only hotel located directly on Del Monte Beach. Guests appreciate oceanfront views from the lobby, fourth-floor restaurant and some of the guest rooms. Explore miles of unspoiled beachfront, grab a workout in the new fitness center or drive a few short minutes to downtown Monterey and Cannery Row attractions. At Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey, choose a guest room facing the beach and ocean, lush gardens or the courtyard heated swimming pool, a popular place in summer months.
Highlights

  • The only hotel directly on Del Monte Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and new fitness center
  • On-site restaurant with ocean views from the fourth floor
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)

Rooms
Listen to the soothing surf from ocean-view rooms at Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey. Some of the 196 nonsmoking rooms offer expansive views of Monterey Bay, while others offer a quiet retreat that overlooks the garden courtyards or outdoor pool. Bright bolster pillows, cheerful striped bedspreads and beach-inspired furnishings combine with air-conditioned comfort. Enjoy free Wi-Fi from the work desk, a coffee-maker and satellite television with in-room movies and HBO. Ask about pet-friendly rooms (fees apply) at the family-friendly Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey.
Features
The AAA 3-diamond rated Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey offers on-site parking (fees apply), just minutes from Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, 17-Mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Point Lobos State Natural Reserve. Take in ocean views from Cafe Beach Restaurant and Sandal's Lounge, home to an espresso bar, early evening hors d'oeuvres and live entertainment. Event facilities can host up to 700 people in meeting rooms with water views.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Attractions

  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Santa Cruz (40.3 mi/64.9 km)
  • San Francisco (110 mi/178 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (136 mi/218 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access
  • Business center with copy services
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of oceanfront meeting space for up to 700 guests

Policies and fees

  • There is a $17 USD parking fee per day plus an additional county tax of $1 USD per day and a $7.75 USD surcharge per day added to each room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6108 -121.8584
Area served
Carmel, San Fransisco, Seaside, Pacific Grove, Pebble Beach, San Jose
Nearby airports
(MRY), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,OCEAN VIEW, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,GARDEN VIEW,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,PET ROOM, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Chili's
0.20 mile(s) from Chili's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Cafe Beach
Cafe Beach, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, "Window on the Bay" Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travellers from North Cal
Business
santa clara
Jun 16, 2014

Close to beach. Nothing else.

Pros: Close to beach Cons: Rate for size/age of rooms Dirty towels at pool $18 parking. No breakfast. Check in at 4pm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tired and mad
Business
N. Cal
Jul 25, 2014

Noisy all night - hotel double billed me now!

Noisy all night -room above restaurant. hotel has now double billed me now! real good orbiz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CMDS
Business
SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Extremely Noisy Room Locaton

We thought we saved a few dollars. But, it was no real savings after adding on additional charges when we checked in for the dog, the parking, etc. We were given the worst location which was very noisy and I never slept at night due to being located directly under the lobby and entrance to the lobby so all night I heard vehicles arriving at the hotel entrance, walking in heels, rolling luggage and numerous other loud noise which woke me and I could not sleep again. Yes, the location of the hotel is great but take your earPlugs with You if you take a discount :-)) We complained but were told we booked through a third party and therefore we are given the least desirable room. Never Again :-(((

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pacific Grove is not far and Le Normandie is a wonderful restaurant, Country French, Warm, inviting and delicious food. The owners and staff are sweet , the ambiance is nice and on weekends there is a lovely Jazz Band, be sure to leave them a Tip for the great music accompanying an equally great meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yes I need to park
Business
sacramento
May 13, 2013

Parking surcharge not disclosed

There is an additional $17 per night parking charge which was NOT well-disclosed on the reservation for this property. If parking is an extra charge - at a hotel with no other option - the reservation should disclose that fee up-front and in a prominent location. We travel a lot, we use various booking sites a lot, and we travel to Monterey Country often. As I told the front desk at this property - when she refused to waive this parking fee -- we will not return to this property. And we will prefer other booking sites that disclose all fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zack Baseball Guy
Business
Alameda, CA
Nov 12, 2013

Right on the beach, but nothing else around

The title says it all. Nothing was within walking distance. The restaurant in the hotel was nice with a great view but not great service. I've had much worse service before though. The room had everything we needed but really nothing special at all and the tv was terrible. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway. I would not recommend this hotel unless all you want to do is stay at that beach. It's about a 10-15 minute drive to Cannery Row from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield
Feb 24, 2011

Location is great,rooms could be better

The hotel rooms are fairly run down. The furniture in the room was extreemly used, the T.V. remote did not work, and the carpeting looks very dirty and worn. The location was very nice and the view from the room (ocean side) was beautiful but the rooms need some work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

An easy drive (4 miles) to Cannery Row and the Monterey Aquarium or if you like to walk you could walk down the beach to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LoveCali
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 4, 2014

Very average hotel

I was initially displeased with our room. It was incredibly small and the room desperately needed a remodel. To add, there was construction around our entire half of the hotel and it took a while to find a way down to the beach. The area outside looked torn up and dirty. We were able to move to another room which was more spacious and looked slightly more updated. The beach was nice. They had a patio with some chairs that were nice to sit at and look out at the ocean. I would say it could be worth it if you are able to get an ocean view and refuse a room that is not up to par (like the room we were initially given). The food was expensive though not great. I recommend leaving the hotel for all meals - though keep in mind that most restaurants in the area will have an hour long wait at meal times. They do allow dogs while most others surrounding do not. If you have a dog, you won't have much of a better choice. It wasn't a terrible place; it just was not worth what we paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Fisherman's Grotto is excellent for dinner and First Awakenings is the place to go for breakfast. We did not care much for Restaurant 1833 and Loulou's Griddle in the Middle was not quite a restaurant as we had expected.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayDee1973
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 6, 2011

Adequate

Location was great, room was clean, parking was a little tight and it stinks to have to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Local whale watch is fun and worth the time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nandtam
Business
Michigan
Nov 6, 2011

Not a hotel for sleeping

If you are looking for a comfortable room to rest in, this is not the hotel to go to. Rooms are small and cramped and the noise level is terrible and this was on a Monday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travels With Kids
Business
Placerville, CA 95667
Jun 26, 2013

Perfect Location

The location of this Best Western is perfect! It sits right on the beach, and the beach is extremely family friendly. The outside of the resort is shabby looking and greatly in need of a facelift and some structural repairs. We ate good meals at the onsite restaurant. However, despite flyers placed around the hotel advertising coffee, lattes, espressos, sweet rolls and smoothies in the morning, this amenity is not available during the summer!? We stayed two nights, and the purpose of the trip was to take the grandchildren to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, which took up most of one day. The grandchildren, however, (ages 8 and 3) got the most delight out of running along the beach and in the surf collecting seashells and rocks! The rooms, while clean and comfortable, had a strong smell of cleaning fluids and were decorated to a minimum. The first room we were assigned we were eventually moved from because of a loud clanging, hacksawing sound coming from the bathroom fan. The second room was right by the pool, a noisy spot until the pool shuts down at 9 p.m. In the middle of the night on the second night, when we got up to use the restroom, we discovered our room was flooded, caused by a broken water pipe on the floor above us. The General Manager graciously refunded us for the second night's stay. Would we stay here again? Debatable, because while we felt it was priced way too high for the condition of the property, the location was delightful, as was every staff person with whom we had contact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco's was a great spot for multi-generational dining, as everyone could chose what they wanted, and the food was consistently good. In fact, several of us had the best grilled salmon there, seasoned and cooked to perfection!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top