$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

3 stars
2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
91 reviews
I'll be back!

My friend and I cam down to this hotel located on the beach and really enjoyed ourselves. I booked... See full review

  • Tony the Tiger
  • Apr 2, 2013
Good location for exploring Monterey

Location is fantastic, but car park charges are a little steep if you're not used to daily charges. See full review

  • Steve the Spartan
  • Jun 12, 2014
Pet-friendly family fun on Del Monte Beach
The smoke-free Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey is the only hotel located directly on Del Monte Beach. Guests appreciate oceanfront views from the lobby, fourth-floor restaurant and some of the guest rooms. Explore miles of unspoiled beachfront, grab a workout in the new fitness center or drive a few short minutes to downtown Monterey and Cannery Row attractions. At Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey, choose a guest room facing the beach and ocean, lush gardens or the courtyard heated swimming pool, a popular place in summer months.
Highlights

  • The only hotel directly on Del Monte Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and new fitness center
  • On-site restaurant with ocean views from the fourth floor
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)

Rooms
Listen to the soothing surf from ocean-view rooms at Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey. Some of the 196 nonsmoking rooms offer expansive views of Monterey Bay, while others offer a quiet retreat that overlooks the garden courtyards or outdoor pool. Bright bolster pillows, cheerful striped bedspreads and beach-inspired furnishings combine with air-conditioned comfort. Enjoy free Wi-Fi from the work desk, a coffee-maker and satellite television with in-room movies and HBO. Ask about pet-friendly rooms (fees apply) at the family-friendly Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey.
Features
The AAA 3-diamond rated Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey offers on-site parking (fees apply), just minutes from Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, 17-Mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Point Lobos State Natural Reserve. Take in ocean views from Cafe Beach Restaurant and Sandal's Lounge, home to an espresso bar, early evening hors d'oeuvres and live entertainment. Event facilities can host up to 700 people in meeting rooms with water views.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Attractions

  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Santa Cruz (40.3 mi/64.9 km)
  • San Francisco (110 mi/178 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (136 mi/218 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access
  • Business center with copy services
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of oceanfront meeting space for up to 700 guests

Policies and fees

  • There is a $17 USD parking fee per day plus an additional county tax of $1 USD per day and a $7.75 USD surcharge per day added to each room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,OCEAN VIEW, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,GARDEN VIEW,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,PET ROOM, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.6108 -121.8584
Area served
San Fransisco, Pacific Grove, Pebble Beach, San Jose, Seaside, Carmel
Nearby airports
(MRY), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Chili's
0.20 mile(s) from Chili's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Cafe Beach
Cafe Beach, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, "Window on the Bay" Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cestmoi
Marin, California, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Great hotel!

The hotel location was fantastic. I love the ocean and our room was on the second floor, overlooking the beach, and we were always able to hear the sound of the waves while in our room. which was so peaceful. The room was nice, had a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV. although the bathroom was a bit small for a wheelchair. We found out later that the wheelchair accessible rooms were on the other side of the hotel (not facing the water).The hotel lobby was beautiful. My husband and I sat and read by the fire, in front of very large windows, overlooking the beach, which we enjoyed so much. The staff was warm, helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Lobos was just beautiful and was wheelchair accessible, which was a wonderful surprise. The short circular hike was easy and we enjoyed spectacular views and wildlife.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dooda
Quinlan, TX 75474, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Mini Vacation

Wonderful experience. I hope to bring my daughters and their children here next summer. Everything was wonderful. Would not ask you to change anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The dining experience was excellent. Very beautiful view!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
southern ca
Jun 6, 2011

Great family getaway

Clean average room...but great Cafe up sale food, view to die for, felt like you were eating on a cruise ship. Awesome view, so nice to just walk out on the beach from your room, bike path to cannery row and fisherman warf right outside the parking lot...SO PERFECT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
southern ca
Jun 6, 2011

Great family getaway

Clean average room...but great Cafe up sale food, view to die for, felt like you were eating on a cruise ship. Awesome view, so nice to just walk out on the beach from your room, bike path to cannery row and fisherman warf right outside the parking lot...SO PERFECT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 18, 2011

great for a relaxing weekend trip

I would have given the 4.5 stars if I could have. We spent 2 nights there and spent a little extra to get an ocean view room. it was VERY worth it. hands down my favorite (and most memorable) part of the trip was sitting in the room looking out at the waves. you could hear the waves very clearly in the room (from google maps it looked like the hotel was much further away from the beach than it actually was), and they had shades that during the day allow you to see out but others can't see in. there was a restaurant on the 4th floor that we ate breakfast at both mornings (pretty reasonably priced, good enough food) and both mornings got a view of the ocean, one morning there was a big pack of seals jumping in and out of the water. my only complaint (which i was warned about by the other reviews) was the slatted door to the bathroom- very little privacy. but all in all i would certainly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

don't forget to ask about AAA discount

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 18, 2011

great for a relaxing weekend trip

I would have given the 4.5 stars if I could have. We spent 2 nights there and spent a little extra to get an ocean view room. it was VERY worth it. hands down my favorite (and most memorable) part of the trip was sitting in the room looking out at the waves. you could hear the waves very clearly in the room (from google maps it looked like the hotel was much further away from the beach than it actually was), and they had shades that during the day allow you to see out but others can't see in. there was a restaurant on the 4th floor that we ate breakfast at both mornings (pretty reasonably priced, good enough food) and both mornings got a view of the ocean, one morning there was a big pack of seals jumping in and out of the water. my only complaint (which i was warned about by the other reviews) was the slatted door to the bathroom- very little privacy. but all in all i would certainly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

don't forget to ask about AAA discount

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Mar 27, 2011

Relaxing

Staying on a Hotel at the beach and listening to the waves at night was incredibly relaxing. The fitness center had an array of cardio machines and a nice TV. Had lunch one day and found the flavors a little strong. Plenty of places to go a short distance away. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row probably had the best food. Although found a Japanese place on Freemont Avenue Harumi (?) that was really good and would recommend if you like sushi, Japanese cuisine.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Mar 27, 2011

Relaxing

Staying on a Hotel at the beach and listening to the waves at night was incredibly relaxing. The fitness center had an array of cardio machines and a nice TV. Had lunch one day and found the flavors a little strong. Plenty of places to go a short distance away. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Row probably had the best food. Although found a Japanese place on Freemont Avenue Harumi (?) that was really good and would recommend if you like sushi, Japanese cuisine.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Livermore, CA
Mar 8, 2011

Perfect Weekend!!!!

Our room was on the ground floor and it was 6 steps down and we were on the beach! The Hotel Lobby was just stunning! A little disapointed the hotel charges additional for your stay though. There was no complimentary breakfast or coffee in the lobby either. It was still a great trip and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to go to the Carmel Beach, Fisherman's Wharf and rented a Surrey as well as go shopping on Cannery Row.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Livermore, CA
Mar 8, 2011

Perfect Weekend!!!!

Our room was on the ground floor and it was 6 steps down and we were on the beach! The Hotel Lobby was just stunning! A little disapointed the hotel charges additional for your stay though. There was no complimentary breakfast or coffee in the lobby either. It was still a great trip and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to go to the Carmel Beach, Fisherman's Wharf and rented a Surrey as well as go shopping on Cannery Row.

Back to menu Return to top